Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My stay at Saffron

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed my stay, received everything I wanted but was upset by the early check in charge. I was billed despite phoning ahead and receiving confirmation that it was okay to check in early.
4 out of 5
by Steven from Johannesburg

Great place

Posted Jun 10, 2015 on Hotels
We had a great couple of days at Saffron House. The owner was helpful but not obtrusive. The bathroom was great and the room was a good size. The location is good, near the beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and enjoyable

Posted May 22, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed for one night during off-season. Arrived late and was warmly welcomed to my upgraded room in the second building. The room and the bathroom was very spacious and I enjoyed it a lot. In the morning I received great breakfast choices: from cereals through toast to omelet made on my request. I would definitely recommend the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duban, Kwa Zulu Natal

Neat and clean but lacks character

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: An excellent breakfast was provided: cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad or meats and/or full English breakfast with array of extras, either served on
Cons: The room was neat and clean but characterless. The TV was placed in an awkward position which made it difficult to view. A mini bar was provided but
Location: Limited unless the weather is good and you can get to nearby beaches.
Arrival at the Saffron House was a bit like a comedy of errors as the owner got my friend and I muddled up. Every question that was put to Ian was answered with 'It's in the book in the room!' He is not exactly a people person. The room was neat and clean but characterless. The TV was placed in an awkward position which made it difficult to view. A mini bar was provided but no safe for valuables which in South Africa is a requirement. No complimentary shampoo/toilet soap etc was provided. A kettle, two coffee mugs and minimal supply of tea, coffee and sugar and milk was provided daily. There was free WiFi however.
4 out of 5
by Lauren from London

Perfect place for quick stopover

Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels
Great stay on our stopover from Durban airport to leave early morning for safari. Ian the owner picked us up from the airport and was very accommodating in recommending an easy place for dinner. Lovely quiet room by the pool, and as we were leaving before breakfast the next morning Ian graciously packed a breakfast to go for us. Small complaint was our door handle stuck the first time we closed the door and wouldn't open the door, but I am sure this is fixed by now as he was going to replace it as soon as we checked out. Only other comment is the bathroom mat was very tired, a fresh white one would really make a difference! Other than that, all good and would defo stay again.
4 out of 5
by David from Chipping Sodbury

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels
The B&B was tastefully decorated with a country french decor, the grounds kept neatly groomed, the staff very accommodating and friendly, our room was clean and very romantic with a lush comfy bed. Great location, nice staff but could use more parkin.
4 out of 5
by Derek from 4 Ways

ok for the fit and healthy

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
Cant imagine why previous review was not OK Accommodation was fine except there are 18/20 steps up to the foyer and no handrails. elderly or disabled should not book here and this should be mentioned in sales brochure. the shower is not confined and presents a slipping hazard when wet
3 out of 5
by Derek from johannesburg

dangerous living

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
the room is some 25 steps up from the carpark, there are no bannisters so should one fall its a long way down, we are an elderly couple using walking sticks and moved after the first night thereby losing a lot of money, it behoves the hotel to warn potential visitors.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely last minute booking

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels
I booked the Saffron B&B from my mobile at the airport in South Africa. I was promptly greeted by the owner, Ian, when I arrived at check-in and shown to my room. I was upgraded to a charming room in the second house (behind the main house) overlooking the pool. My room had A/C, dual vanity, dual shower head, and a soaking tub. The only draw back to staying in the second house was the weak to non existent WiFi connection. There was WiFi in the main house which housed the sitting area and dining area.