Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South yorkshire

Nice stay. on a hill.

Posted Feb 5, 2017
This is on a hill. quite steep down to the town and also a steep climb back up. could be slippy in colder frosty weather on the cobbles. bare in mind this is a pub so could be noise. we were asked if we wanted a quieter room which we opted for and was nice and comfortable. good refreshment selection and also with the toiletries. A lovely breakfast too. enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Overpriced

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Ok Inn, but overpriced with an average breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin, USA

Lovely, clean, and perfect location

Posted Sep 24, 2016
This was one of my favorite B&B's I've been to! The location is absolutely perfect - it's perched right at the top of the hill overlooking the tiny town of Staithes and the sea. You just walk right down the cobblestone street and in three minutes you're in the heart of the village. The room was MASSIVE and very bright and airy. The bathroom was also very clean and bright. There's parking right in the back of the hotel too. The breakfast was very good; the woman serving us was delightful. I can't wait to return one day!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel cleanliness and staff great. Meals excellent and good prices.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

fantastic

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
was very good great location
4 out of 5
by Christopher

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was perfect for our stay.We were in a family room , 4 and a dog ,it was very comfy , near the beach and Cleveland Way. The staff were very obliging and friendly , we would certainly come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Captain Cook Inn, Staithes

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: We had a friendly reception and were very impressed by the cleanliness and comfort of the room, which looked recently refurbished.
Location: Staithes is on an interesting part of the Yorkshire Coast, with good sailing facilities, attractive countryside and good beaches for family holidays.
We chose the hotel as it was convenient to visit relatives in Skelton, Guisborough and Whitby, so we spent very little time in Staithes. Most of our time was spent with our son and his wife and daughter on the beach at Sandsend, which is a small unspoiled seaside resort perfect for young families.
5 out of 5
by Glenn from Mansfield

Great getaway

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Had a wonderful time staff were so friendly and the room was perfect just stayed for one night as a getaway was great value for money will be returning at some point even though it's 2 hours away
5 out of 5
by Mollie

Usual lovely stay at the Captain Cook Inn.

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
I've been for three years now while visiting a friend in Whitby. I've seen the Hotel go through its renovation. It was always pleasant to stay there even when the renovation was going on. It is now a lovely hotel in a very good situation. Staff are very friendly and efficient. Breakfast is excellent. The walks around the area are stunning.