Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peak District

Wonderful cliff top views

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Clean, lots of hot water on hillside
Cons: Restricted, uninspiring menu.
Location: Steep walk down to the big sandy bay and beach café. Attractive cottages
Attentive staff. Gave us a birthday card and cared for our dog. Bus to Whitby or Loftus every half hour stoppingat all villagesinbetwee
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Harrogate, North Yorkshire

The Excellent, the Good and the Average

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Great location with stunning views to sea and the hillside village of Runswick just below is beautiful, even in winter.
The Excellent were the staff, room décor and comfort, and food. The Good were the general facilities but overall, the hotel in places is looking tired. The Average were room facilities eg, no toilet brush, shower head not functioning properly. mirror set too high at dressing table and no light here either. We would go back there because of the staff, food and fantastic location and despite some of the negative comments above, we enjoyed our one night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Beautiful hotel.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Loved every min ! Lovely hotel ! Clean ! Very friendly welcoming staff. A free upgrade ....bonus ! Beautiful surrounding area ....will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

An overnight stop in a tour of the area

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: A beautiful bay with the hotel on the cliff top. Not far from Whitby to the south and Saltburn to the north. Lovely views both in all directions.
We received a warm welcome and friendly contact from all the staff we came into contact with. The room was clean and all equipment in the room was in good condition. There was limited space in the room. The bathroom was well appointed and spacious and the bath, shower, basin and toilet were all in good condition and looked relatively new. There was limited towel rail space and nowhere to put wash bags except on the floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Boutique hotel looking out over bay

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: decor, view, balcony
Cons: nothing!
Location: outstanding location, easy to find. Superb beach, very dog-friendly, easy access to the N Yorks Moors for hiking, steam railway if wet.
Hotel recently redecorated to high standard with boutique-style rooms with balcony overlooking bay. Great staff, easy check-in and out. Fab duvet, nice breakfast and superb shower. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Addlestone

Panoramic View

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: It has to be in the best location for a superb view of the bay. Food was great and reasonably priced and all staff really helpful.
Cons: Rooms are a bit tired, the bathroom in our room was tiny, although the view did make up for it.
Stayed for one night during a mini UK tour and what a little gem. Big thanks to Shane the manager who made our stay very pleasant and who could not do enough for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Runswick Bay

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: king size bed in our room
Great location and really friendly staff only improvement could be a king size bed otherwise excellent hotel and lovely break
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Third hotel in a row - cost significantly more than previous two, but no better in terms of accommodation or service.
5 out of 5
by Jasmin from Birmingham

Beautiful hotel, great service and staff

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely quiet village, perfect place for a relaxed weekend away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location & Lovely Staff

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Staff, Location, Views and Food
Cons: Nothing
We had a few issues due to a leak in the room on arrival which was totally out of the staffs control however the staff dealt with this issue immediately and moved us to another room. They then went on to buy us dinner and a lovely bottle of wine because of the inconvenience all of which was unexpected but very much appreciated. The hotel has a lovely location with excellent views, the rooms are spacious, the food is to an excellent standard and all the staff at the hotel go above and beyond to ensure that you have a wonderful stay. We shall be going back soon