Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Slept like a baby

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel. Needs some updating but that's clearly in the planning. Breakfast was awesome, and hotel staff couldn't have been nicer and more accomodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you so much for a great review. I'm thrilled to read about our great service. In approximately three years we will do our big renovation. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and I wish you welcome back. Best regards, Jonathan Kviborg Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Saltsjobaden is a historic hotel, in a quiet leisure village east of Stockholm. Easy access to electric train and subway. Used for vacation during to tourist visit to Stockholm. Pleasant stay, welcoming staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you so much for your review. Many people like our historical building and I'm glad to hear it from you aswell. I always enjoy reading about good rating of our staff. Thank you and you're welcome back at any time! Best regards, Jonathan Kviborg Front Desk Manager
3 out of 5
by Jose Antonio from London, UK

Nice stay which could have been even better.

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Grandiose period hotel that could do with some investment to bring it back to its former best. The swimming pool would have cost my family of four 1000 SKR (Gbp 100) per day which is unreasonable given the cost of the rooms. The pool should be included in the room price (although it's right for the spa treatments to be chargeable). Breakfast is great. Pool table was fun for teaching my son to play.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Jose Antonio, Thank you for your feedback. We have recently changed owner and will be making a huge renovation. We charge 250 SEK for each person to use the whole Spa. This is for the entire stay. Thank you once again for your comments and I will pass this forward. Best regards, Jonathan Kviborg Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Romantic hotel close to Stockholm

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Really relaxing hotel in a nice area, yet close to Stockholm. Very friendly service. Cosy rooms. Perfect for relaxation in a romantic environment!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Beautiful location and views.

Posted Jun 19, 2016
The hotel was lovely although we did have to change room as the windows were locked because of renovations but the staff were very helpful. Food excellent. Convenient bus stop and fantastic views. Very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2016 by Jonathan, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Best regards, Jonathan Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by Christopher from Laguna Hills

Old hotel near the water.

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was built in the 1890s. Several areas were in need of minor repair but the hotel had a nice old fashioned ambiance. The lobby was a bit musty. The spa and pool facilities were nice. The restaurant had a fair dinner and a great breakfast buffet. The room was spacious with a nice sitting area in front of the windows with a view of the water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend break

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful location 30 mins outside of Stockholm but the rooms need upgrading - No tea making facilities, no mini bar, old towels, black out blinds missing in the room, 5 channels on the TV - plus 850 sek extra for a family of 4 to use the spa area. Great breakfast though, comfy bed and beautiful 'Ralph Lauren' style, Billiards room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed here as it was close by to where my friends live. Although pleasant, I felt it was a little run down, especially for the high prices. I have stayed in Stockholm 7 other times and have always found breakfasts to be outstanding.....this hotels included breakfast was very standard to be honest. I would probably stay here again in future but only because of its close proximity to where my friends live and nothing more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

if you hv car,it is good

Posted Jan 31, 2012 on Hotels
the surrounding environment is nice, but it is a bit far from town, we drive to there so its ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

The Grand Saltsjobaden is no longer grand

Posted Dec 7, 2011 on Hotels
We regretted staying here. The first room we we given was cold . the radiator was broken. The next room was slightly warmer but still uncomfortably cold . The restaurant was unable to serve a la carte. The Bar was closed as a staff member went home with the keys of the bar. We were cold and hungry as were other guests . I am told that this is a good hotel which is well staffed during the summer. Maybe the owners should consider closing the hotel for the winter months. This hotel does not deserve 4 stars . 2 stars are sufficient