Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonds, WA, USA

Stay a few days

Posted Oct 25, 2017
This hotel was once a convent and is situated on a hilltop in Saluzzo next to an historic church containing rare medieval artwork and a Palace. There is a good restaurant in the hotel. Breakfast is excellent. The room was quiet and comfortable. Staff are welcoming and hospitable. After arrival, walk down the cobbled streets to the old town and find many good restaurants near the Cathedral.
3 out of 5
by Christoph

A lot of potentia

Posted Sep 22, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful Hotel, but bad interior design. Hardly any area in the spacious rooms where you can put things down (important when you stay for a week). Ample hanging space in the ardrobe but hardly any shelves there either. The lighting in the room and the bathroom was a catastrophe. Very dark. No proper lighting by the wash basin or by the desk. Breakfast starts at 8 am which is a little late for my taste (much more so since there a no tea and coffee facilities in the room), and breakfast doesn't offer much variety. No eggs except for cold boiled eggs for instance. They take a long time to bring out coffee and tea in the morning and there is a certain reluctance to refill breakfast items which have run out on the buffet. It was mid-September and the the nights were cold yet there was no heating on (I know that Italian law does not require an inn-keeper to put the heating on in September, but it was still cold!), so getting out of bed in the morning and into the bathroom was a bit of a challenge. The room was very beautiful with wonderful linen (yet the design kept it all in GREY). The hotel has immense potential but I never had a feeling that it was run really professionally. If you stay there, give the restaurant a miss!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden Gem in Italy

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The lady at the front desk made sure we were looked after very well, the room was very special. Also the Restaurant had amazing food, definitely try it!
4 out of 5
by evelyn from Singapore

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
It doesn't have aircon in hot summer! But the reception girl kindly offered us a fan! Thank you so much! This is a very interesting "hotel" to stay and explore the town at night. Unspoilt beauty and nice to know that we are privileged to live in a historical building. I was initially bothered that there was no aircon but my husband told me it might turn out to be the best hotel stay in my italy trip... Which turned out to be true. Come stay here before the hordes of tourists come along.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, and finally someone who get the room modern (some 1400's hotels have the room's furniture from 14th century !! ) and confortable. I have to say it is expensive but one of the best and unique hotels I have ever been to ! Bravi!
5 out of 5
by Rachel from Toronto

Great stay!

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. Saluzzo is a great little medival town to check out. Walking distance to lots of restaurants and bars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by David K from Derbyshire Dales

Wonderful setting

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels
This stunning hotel is even more beautiful than we thought it was going to be. Excellent service as well. The meal in the restaurant was superb . A truly memorable visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by massimo, Hotel Management
thank so much for your opinion about the san giovanni resort.
4 out of 5
by Philip from Sydney

Good quality, slightly quirky hotel.

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay. The hotel was a little quirky, in a good way, being set in an old convent. Part of the civic museum, including a beautiful old church, with medieval murals, was very much attached to the hotel. Having a drink in the cloister after a day's sightseeing was most relaxing. The restaurant's food was good quality, although some of the menu's English translations were incomprehensible, and merely collections of unrelated words. This did not detract from the food, though. The town square is quite buzzy, and untouristy.
4 out of 5
by Mickmanchester

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by massimo, Hotel Management
A sincere thank you for your great comments about our hotel.