Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Staff is professional, knowledgable, and always friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Rede Sol Express, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and for the comments regarding your stay at A Casa das Portas Velhas. Additionally thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. The philosophy behind Sun Express Network is to receive our guests with a quality service, providing them with a stay that will meet their needs and expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and stylish.

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Nicely decorated, cozy room, fantastic breakfast. The surroundings are a bit shabby but well, Salvador is like that. It's a 5 min walk to Pelourinho but most people would recommend taking a taxi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Rede Sol Express, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and for the comments regarding your stay at A Casa das Portas Velhas. Additionally thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. The philosophy behind Sun Express Network is to receive our guests with a quality service, providing them with a stay that will meet their needs and expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sjaramillo from bogota

Very nice hotel staff, beautiful building

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: the staff was really good, the rooms were authentic, and it was an overall good exeperience
Cons: well, the neighbourhood is sketchy, but again, nothing a called in cab cant fix
Location: the old side of town, is being renewed and a bunch of bars and restaurants are being stablished
the hotel is located in a bas side of town, coming in and coming out by taxi is recommended. We would recommend this hotel to other people who want to experience the old side of Salvador
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Xiamen, China

Nice hotel close to famous tour sight.

Posted Jun 8, 2013
Pros: The hotel is kind of 19th style, and is maitained well.
Location: There are many historic buildings there, very near. And the people from the hotel will give two maps and explain them to help you.
I am mainly for business purpose this time, but people in this hotel are very kind and helped me with the transportation and suggestions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Val from Maryland, USA

Home away from Home

Posted Dec 21, 2012
I am a very frequent traveler and have stayed at many places and this was an amazing boutique hotel, friendly welcoming staff, very clean and the decor and art work is lovely. The breakfast was wonderful and had a large variety of fruits, breads and sweets. The ladies that run the kitchen are happy to prepare anything specific that you may want and made us special little treats for the day we departed. The back patio is open air and great place to lounge and have a cocktail. They have access to good tour guides and we loved our time spent there. Just a note to those that are taller in stature, the triple room has 3 twin beds which is they are comfortable and room is well appointed but tall folks may want to opt for rooms with bigger beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from SP

Historical / Family-like staffs!

Posted Dec 20, 2012
Pros: interiors / staffs
Cons: location is quite tough to feel secured
Location: near to historical center, 5 min walking, you will be at Praca da Se!
This hotel located quite near to the historic area. but you might want to be careful about the security when it get's dark, but this is the same like everywhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from London, UK

Satisfactory guaranteed

Posted May 25, 2012
Pros: The interior & Staff
Cons: That it was not all inclusive, may-be we missed that option to keep the cost down.
Location: Looks pretty rough, with the first impression but we were not bothered or troubled during our stay.
The Staff are very friendly and helpful, especially being multilingual. The Staff are more than happy to recommend places to visit and to avoid. The food was great and freshly made. The Hotel/Villa is staffed 24/7 so you will always have their support and a free cab service is available to the near centre which is also a bonus.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Stay away from this hotel. Far away.

Posted Oct 11, 2010
We urged Expedia to remove this hotel from the list. It is located in a very unsafe area of town and we are certainly not timid travelers. We rented a car to explore the city. The hotel is in the old part of town, but not the touristy one. It is very diffocult to find and the roads there are in very bad condition. The road to the hotel was full of men loitering, many sleeping on the sidewalk. Military police was very visible in the area with roadblocks and machine guns drawn. And that was all during the day. There was just no way we would stay there, come back at night with the road condition, and the neighborhood the way it was. Stay at the more touristy, but definitely safer resorts along the coast and avoid the area of this hotel at all cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We ask sorry about the inconveniences in Salvador. In your comments you only talked about the location around the hotel, but your grades were bad to all quesions about the Hotel. So we´d like to know if you had any problema with the services in the Hotel. The Hotel is located on the old center in a protect area by Unesco, only five minutes to the Pelourinho (the principal touristic point of Salvador). We are near from important roads like Seven Avenue and Bonocô Avenue. Bonocô Av. connect the old center to the new center (Tancredo Neves Avenue and Paralela Avenue – the principal roads of the city). It can be visible in any map. We are located behind of a military area (Quartel da Mouraria), so it’s a place that we really see military police in front of the Quartel. Around the touristic places, there are a lot of polices to protect the citizen and tourists. About the condition of the roads we don’t understand. All the historic streets of Salvador are paving stones. We work to our guests, so we ask you how we can improve our services. Thank you very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Diego, California

Service was impressive

Posted Aug 25, 2010
Enjoyed my trip and this hotel was of excellent quality. The buffet breakfas was wonderfuly and so was the service. Decorum was unique and elegant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Israel

The hotel is a gem, very special and unique

Posted Mar 12, 2010
We were very pleased by the hotel, its uniqueness, friendliness of staff, size and decoration of rooms. The jacuzzi in the back patio under the stars was a great welcome, after strolling around all day. The breakfasts were extraordinary, specially for me who like mostly fruit in the mornings. Great variety and taste. There is also a fine restaurant for the evenings, a little expensive though.