Ratings based on 513 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Always love the view and the size of the rooms
Cons: Could be more information about the amenities and anything special going on
Location: Great location , once you are off the hill and into the plaza thats where its ALL happening . Rio Vermelho is the most happing neighborhood here/
Good, mostly cooperative, attentive staff, awesome breakfast buffet, good location, a just bit interesting to get to without a car. Nice great good Nice great good Nice great good Nice great good Nice great goodNice great good Nice great good, Nice great good, Nice great good, Nice great good, Nice great good, Nice great good. Nice great good. Nice great good, Nice great good, Nice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice great goodNice grea
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Three day trip to Salvador Bahia

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Just about everything needs to be improved, from the cleanliness, general structural condition, the food. The beds.
Location: The location in Rio Vermelho is ok, but there are few decent restaurants etc nearby
We arrived from Rio to be offered a smelly, damp dark room with a bit of a sea view. Luckily I speak Portuguese so had the room changed on the spot. Still not great and no view either. Very bland limited choice breakfast, and terrible lunch. The meat could be used to maje shoes. Certainly not a 4 star, more like a 2 star. Not representative of good Brazilian hotels. Would avoid, avoid, avoid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Trip to Salvador/BA/BR

Posted Feb 17, 2017
I have just returned from a wonderful trip to my home town, Salvador/Bahia and I'm overwhelmed with joy with the excelente time I spent there and big part of that satisfaction is due to this hotel!!! What a view!!! You are welcomed with this Espetacular view of the ocean and city that embraces you an invites you to see the town and its people!!! Cleaness, courtesy, relaxation and prime treatments to the guests is distinctly expressed at Golden Tulip Salvador!!! Thanks!!! YES, I RECOMMEND!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Good and everyone was super friendly
Cons: price
Location: Good
Good and everyone was super friendly Good and everyone was super friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Nice location close beautiful city and beach view awosome staff , walking distance to bars and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Fine hotel, gorgeous view, excellent staff

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: See above comments.
Cons: The long time taken to prepare and serve dinners could be improved.
Location: The desk staff recommend excellent tours. Via taxi, one can reach all the local attractions.
Excellent helpful desk staff some of whom are fluent in English. Lovely aesthetic hotel with a gorgeous view of the ocean. Fine restaurant. Reasonable swimming pool, and reasonable access to the city and beaches (via taxis).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The view is everything.

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: The best location to be in the great area called Rio Vermelho.
Cons: Enlish language news outlets like CNN. More English speaking staff, better internet service.
Location: Rio Vermelho is revitalized. It bright, family and tourist friendly. Lots of restaurants and many places to hear live music.
My unusually long stay (26 days) at the Golden Tulip was very pleasant. I occupied two different rooms, the first with no view and the second with a spectacular view. The VIEW made some of the other missing amenities worth it. The rooms were very clean and well kept. What was lacking? Very spotty & slow internet; no Emglish-speaking tv channels, i.e. CNN; movies; limited English-speaking staff; poor shuttle service to transport clients up and down the very high elevated hotel. Although, breakfast offered some variety, the Room Service Menu was very limited, as was the Dinner Memu at the hotel restaurant. Overall, The view alone would make me consider staying there again.
4 out of 5
by Carlos

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Was Good experience!! Everyone I asked anything was capable to assist me !! I do recommend!!
4 out of 5
by Nivia from Atlanta, Geórgia U.S

Girls trip to Yemanja and Carnaval

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
It was a girls trip and they had very good service, my only bad experience was on yemanja day hotel restaurant was not ready for crowd and took 1:40 mins to serve food