Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK,NY

Wonderful Hotel.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Been to many hotels in Salvador. Stella Maris is in the top 1% in all services,location,hotel staff,pool,beach,etc.
4 out of 5
by Ediane from Porto Alegre

Great views

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel could do with some investment, but everything seemed to be in good working order. Bed was comfortable, shower strong and views lovely.
4 out of 5
by Sergio from New York

Nice but needs updgrading

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel itself was nice, great beach access, excellent customer service, the pool area was nice. Only just needs a little upgrading.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minich

3 stars hotel with problems

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: 3 stars minus
Cons: All personal can't work good, especially reception
Location: Quiet district, good beach, nothing to do nearby
Breakfest was absolutely same all 2 weeks. Almost all personal, even on reception, don't speak any languages (english, german, ets). Rooms with windows to swimmingpool are extremely noisy. There is very far from city center. But hotel is close to the see, in good district, food shop & airport are nearby.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Columbus, OH

Nice respite

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
Just needed two night rest while touring Brazil. As solo female traveller felt very secure here.Spacious room. English spoken by desk staff. Only criticism is of slow wifi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2015 by Gleyce, Hotel Management
Dear Elizabeth, We really appreciate that you gave your time to add your comments. The opinion of our guests is very important to us, always being analyzed and passed on to the respective sectors aiming to an improvement in our work. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We hope to have you again in our hotel in your return to Salvador. Best Regards, Network Sun Express
3 out of 5
by Stuart from Akron Ohio

Still need Air!

Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
Common areas were real nice, especially the pool area, but the rooms were pretty much beat up and out of date. The Air Conditioning was shut off, sure it is winter in Brazil, but the temperature was still in the 80's (F). There was a nice fitness area, too bad none of the Tread Mills or the Exercise bikes worked. I had to walk the hallways and steps to get my exercise in every day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2015 by Gleyce, Hotel Management
Dear Stuart, We really appreciate that you gave your time to add your comments. The opinion of our guests is very important to us, always being analyzed and passed on to the respective sectors aiming to an improvement in our work and please, accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We hope to exceed yours expectations on a next stay. Best Regards, Network Sun Express.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Pool is nice
They charged me for 2 triple rooms, but the 2 rooms they gave me were not triple rooms. We needed adjacent rooms, and they had no adjacent triple rooms, but they still charged me for triple rooms. It took more than an hour to check-in, because the rooms were not cleaned at 2 o clock.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2015 by Gleyce, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for helping us with your comment. We consider importance each presented opinion and these are passed on to every responsible sector always seeking a renewal of our services. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We hope to have you again in our hotel. Respectfully, Network Sun Express
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Off season

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels
Reception could not figure out how to reconcile my Hotels.com booking. Check-in took 45 minutes. Hotel is in middle of nowhere, with nothing to do. So unless the weather is good, or the hotel is crowded and has a vibe, it's dull. I mean really dull.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2015 by Gleyce, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First we would like to thank you for helping us with your comment. The opinion of our guests is very important to us, always being analyzed and passed on to the respective sectors aiming to an improvement in our work. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We hope to exceed yours expectations on a next stay. Sincerely, Network Sol Express.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Nice Hotel in common areas but rooms really need an update!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2015 by Gleyce, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your comment with us and for choosing the Gran Hotel Stella Maris. Your opinion will be passed to the sectors responsible in the search to improve our services and structure. We hope to have you again in our hotel in your return to Salvador. Respectfully, Network Sun Express.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels