Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

NICE PLACE BUT WIFI IS BRUTAL

Posted May 13, 2017
Service is nice, room is clean, price is fair but if you need wifi your in trouble. Little to no wifi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay

Posted May 9, 2017
Had a nice stay. Rooms clean, great staff, good food, nice pool and great prices. Negative: Everyone I was with couldn't get wifi in their rooms. The wifi barely worked outside their rooms aswell. Free wifi means no wifi
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, some bad services.

Posted May 5, 2017
The building, rooms, lobby, pool, etc., are all very good. Some services were bad, in what seemed like management related problems. Check-in and check-out were VERY slow. The hotel had 2 restaurants. An Italian restaurant, that was closed, and a buffet. The buffet charged 50BRL/person, that is not outrageous, but definitely not cheap. (Outside the hotel you could have lobster for lunch, for 2 people, for 80/90BRL). But, included in the buffet, you had right to 1 (one) (small) glass of soda or water. I (and the people staying with me) found that between risible and outrageous. REALLY? The waiter having to sell you the extra water or soda might cost more than the soda or water!! That looks like a ridiculous business decision. If the 50BRL don't cover your costs, why don't you just increase the price a little and allow people to drink as much water or soda as they need/want? On top of that, the water and soda came from a dispenser machine, that was readily accessible to people in the restaurant, with no sign regarding what the policy was, so permanently there were staff people approaching the customers that were serving themselves, to tell them that they couldn't serve themselves more than a glass. So, the hotel seemed full, the pool, the parking slots, but their restaurant was almost empty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK,NY

Wonderful Hotel.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Been to many hotels in Salvador. Stella Maris is in the top 1% in all services,location,hotel staff,pool,beach,etc.
4 out of 5
by Ediane from Porto Alegre

Great views

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel could do with some investment, but everything seemed to be in good working order. Bed was comfortable, shower strong and views lovely.
4 out of 5
by Sergio from New York

Nice but needs updgrading

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel itself was nice, great beach access, excellent customer service, the pool area was nice. Only just needs a little upgrading.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minich

3 stars hotel with problems

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: 3 stars minus
Cons: All personal can't work good, especially reception
Location: Quiet district, good beach, nothing to do nearby
Breakfest was absolutely same all 2 weeks. Almost all personal, even on reception, don't speak any languages (english, german, ets). Rooms with windows to swimmingpool are extremely noisy. There is very far from city center. But hotel is close to the see, in good district, food shop & airport are nearby.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Columbus, OH

Nice respite

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
Just needed two night rest while touring Brazil. As solo female traveller felt very secure here.Spacious room. English spoken by desk staff. Only criticism is of slow wifi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2015 by Gleyce, Hotel Management
Dear Elizabeth, We really appreciate that you gave your time to add your comments. The opinion of our guests is very important to us, always being analyzed and passed on to the respective sectors aiming to an improvement in our work. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We hope to have you again in our hotel in your return to Salvador. Best Regards, Network Sun Express
3 out of 5
by Stuart from Akron Ohio

Still need Air!

Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
Common areas were real nice, especially the pool area, but the rooms were pretty much beat up and out of date. The Air Conditioning was shut off, sure it is winter in Brazil, but the temperature was still in the 80's (F). There was a nice fitness area, too bad none of the Tread Mills or the Exercise bikes worked. I had to walk the hallways and steps to get my exercise in every day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2015 by Gleyce, Hotel Management
Dear Stuart, We really appreciate that you gave your time to add your comments. The opinion of our guests is very important to us, always being analyzed and passed on to the respective sectors aiming to an improvement in our work and please, accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We hope to exceed yours expectations on a next stay. Best Regards, Network Sun Express.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Pool is nice
They charged me for 2 triple rooms, but the 2 rooms they gave me were not triple rooms. We needed adjacent rooms, and they had no adjacent triple rooms, but they still charged me for triple rooms. It took more than an hour to check-in, because the rooms were not cleaned at 2 o clock.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2015 by Gleyce, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for helping us with your comment. We consider importance each presented opinion and these are passed on to every responsible sector always seeking a renewal of our services. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We hope to have you again in our hotel. Respectfully, Network Sun Express