Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Gabriel S.

Just fine

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on HotelClub
Things to improve: Not enough umbrellas at the beach. Food was sometimes cold and not labelled. Soccer field was far fro the and had no artificial light, so soccer games were organized too early. Besides, the field was of natural grass but not in good conditions, so injuries could happen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jamaica

Overall disappointing experience!

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Hotel grounds are beautiful and well kept and definitely provides a relaxing atmosphere to get away and unwind. Room was clean and comfortable but ordinary....no luxury here! Only water and soda in the 'mini bar' which was not restocked. No coffee/tea provisions in room. Was disappointed that free wifi was not provided in rooms as part of package and was thrown a curve ball finding out on arrival that only 220V outlets were present with no converters available! They were kind enough to charge small gadgets for us at the sole 110V outlet at the front desk. Staff was very warm friendly engaging and helpful but the language barrier made communication tricky, would have expected most staff or at least key personnel like your tour guide or driver to have some basic proficiency in English but enjoyed trying to learn the native language. Evening entertainment was good but again the experience was limited as it was mostly in Portugese....great learning the culture. The food was terrible! Same exact buffet menu everyday for one week....I was over it by day 3! The taste and quality was also inconsistent and for the most part not good. It seemed difficult to get into specialty restaurants but the ones I was lucky to secure was not much better than the buffet menu. The liquor was quite disappointing as while plentiful it was of the cheapest variety! I eventually stuck with beer as I figured it was the hardest to cheapen! Compared with Iberostar Jamaica, overall definitely lower quality!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo

Good to stay

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Food and nature
Cons: Some of Staff is not so polite.
Location: Mangue seco, Praia do Forte
Good Food and facilities, Good Nature, Enjoy a lot, my family is satisfied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chile

Nice hotel near de beach. Excellent facilities.

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: The good thing is that it have both swiming pool and the beach. The food is quite good, but we found flies near the food.
Cons: The flies in the food área (casino). Transportation from and to the aeroport.
Location: No many thing to do near by.
Good experience. Nice hotel facilities and drinks. The food is nice but in the special restaurant, the food is nothing especial.
4 out of 5
by Angela from Ohio

Wonderful week at Iberostar

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful weather and accommodations. This all inclusive resort left little to be desired. Beach and pool were both well maintained. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. There were many activities available within the resort and good shopping at the local village. There were some issues with our room. We ordered a king bedroom two months in advance of our visit. We learned that wasn't available upon arrival. Later we learned our room had a broken air conditioner, non-functioning shower and lock for the balcony door. We received a new room after threatening to write a poor review on Hotel.com. This room change made all the difference. All things considered, it was a wonderful vacation. I'd recommend the hotel to all, especially if you know Portuguese. I will consider other Iberostar resorts in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely resort on a palm-tree lined beach

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Lovely location, beautiful beach and pool and just the layout of the resort is working really well, even when it is full.
Cons: More staff should at least pseak basic English especially in the restaurant areas.
The overall experience was shadowed by what seemed to be very rigid behaviour on behalf of the staff at check in. It tinted our stay right from the beginning and gave it a bitter taste. However, once our problem was resolved by meeting somewhere half way we did enjoy a few lovely days in the resort which seemed very well layed out as you never had the feeling of being squished around the pool like sardines. The beach is absolutely stunning and a good place to have beginners surf lessons as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Montevideo

Excellent choice for family holidays

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Pools, food, baby room.
Cons: Just to write something, theme restaurants.
Location: It´s far from the city (Salvador), it´s pretty close to Praia do forte, a small town white a turtle reservation really nice for kids.
When we arrived, I don´t know why, they sent us to the Iberostar Praia do forte which is even better. The staff is very nice and helpful. The pools and green areas are amazing. They offer a huge food variety with very good quality. All the alcohol beverage are made with n° 1 brands. The hole experience was really great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel next to beach.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Very relaxing. Food lovely.
Location: Quite remote although a shuttle bus was available to nearby Praia do forte. Any other sight seeing involved over an hours travel.
Very friendly hotel. Staff took their time to talk to us knowing that we were the only English staying in the hotel. Good food and drink. Restuarants lovely. Nice poolside areas.
5 out of 5
by Mrs Mary from London UK

Fantastic Stay!

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent location, delicious food, superb service, immaculate rooms, and a variety of amenities and entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Luis from santiago, chile

the hotel was more than i expectc

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: ubication and personal
Cons: ?????????????
Location: not much things to do near the hotel, except the town, praia do forte, very nice.
the people that work at the hotel, was very friendly . all of my stay, with my family, was excellent..