Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Room with incredible view

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Absolutely wonderful from check in to checkout. The staff was incredible. Eliseangela at the Front Desk is an absolute Jewel. But the entire staff left me in awe. I love Salvador and until I get lucky and can grab me one of those beachfront Apartments, this will be my home away from home. This was my second stay at The Pestana and I'm already counting down to my return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Great value

Posted Sep 13, 2015
The hotel was old, but it was clean and in good condition. The breakfast was good. I liked the pool band the staff people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Good staff, clean rooms, nice food. The hotel is well located and moving around is very easy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Didnt Want It To End

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Excellent in every way. No hassle, no fuss. Just a great place
Cons: I really can't think of anything.
Location: PERFECT!!!!!!!
Due to a very busy last couple of years, I've been unable to really get a way. So It was important to have a really good experience on this short getaway. By far, this was the greatest no hassle experience to date. From check in to check out, ALL was simply superb. The Views and the crashing of the waves just outside my window was just too much. If I could drop everything this very minute and be on the next plane back to Salvador and the Pestana, I would not hesitate. Trust Me, this hotel, this city is not to be missed. So if you are toying with weather or not to go to Salvador or to stay at the Pestana, stop hestitating and just do it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right by the Ocean

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: There wasn't really anything to dislike about the hotel at all. I was left alone and when I had questions the staff were easily accessible.
Cons: The treadmills need to be improved and in English. It would also help if all of them work. I understand that most people just want the pool instead.
Location: Having a friend from there is definitely a huge advantage. There are restaurants at the first intersection going away from the hotel but a taxi helps.
Luckily for me I already had a friend from Salvador, Brazil. Whenever they were busy, it was easy to stay entertained in this really nice hotel by the Atlantic Ocean. The AC was more than adequate in keeping me cool. The WiFi could have been a bit faster but it still go the job done. The best part of the hotel by far is its pool area which is right on the ocean. I sat in a lawn chair, had a few snacks and just watched the ocean for an hour two. The staff is friendly and I had no issues communicating with them in English. The view of the city and ocean from the room makes it worth the money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only positive thing is the view.

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Very bad smell. Linen are horrible. Rooms are not clean enough. Towels very very old. Flood when you shower. Nothing nothing nothing is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from uk

Spectacular location

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The food, especially during the day
Be aware that the food is not great, but this is made up for by the views, location etc. it's not really a business hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BR

A nightmare at the beach.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: ALL. Close or demolish the hotel. You will be doing humanity a favor.
If you see the photos of the Pestana Bahia you would think that this is an excellent beach hotel. It was my first experience with the Portuguese Pestana group. It will be my last. Overall the hotel is dilapidated to say the least. The service basically believes they are doing you the greatest favor of their live. It only took us 45 minutes to check in and to receive the key to the "Castle Room". The rooms are probably from the 80's and still on the 80's. The bathroom door is falling apart, the air condition blows humid air which i can attest will produce a horrible cold as the one I have while writing my review. We had the audacity to have lunch at the buffet. Save yourself that experience. Fried and disgusting food to say the least. At breakfast better be fast since the lady that runs it is nice enough to slam the door at your nose to indicate that the time you had for it is over. We went to the bar. If you can call that a bar. There were probably 6 bottles of different liquors all of them half way so you could not had more than 2 drinks since we were a large group. Also, it was beautiful to see roaches waking and dancing at the Samba rhythm only missing their Carmen Mirandas' hat to be completely fashion. The management is so poor that they were unable to lease the bar to somebody in order to take advantage of the FIFA delegation staying there plus all the other innocent victims at the hotel.
3 out of 5
by emtyty from New York

Awesome view but in dire need of upkeep

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: The view
Cons: Upkeep
Nice view from any room but a short car ride to beaches and sort of remote. The hotel itself is outdated and in need of renovation / upkeep. Staff are not the most responsive
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 26, 2013