Ratings based on 442 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Total deception

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
It was a deception, nothing works well in the hotel, great location, breathtaking views, the towers were like dishcloths, the facility is in terrible conditions, they need to close and re-do everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Room with incredible view

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Absolutely wonderful from check in to checkout. The staff was incredible. Eliseangela at the Front Desk is an absolute Jewel. But the entire staff left me in awe. I love Salvador and until I get lucky and can grab me one of those beachfront Apartments, this will be my home away from home. This was my second stay at The Pestana and I'm already counting down to my return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Great value

Posted Sep 13, 2015
The hotel was old, but it was clean and in good condition. The breakfast was good. I liked the pool band the staff people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Good staff, clean rooms, nice food. The hotel is well located and moving around is very easy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Didnt Want It To End

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Excellent in every way. No hassle, no fuss. Just a great place
Cons: I really can't think of anything.
Location: PERFECT!!!!!!!
Due to a very busy last couple of years, I've been unable to really get a way. So It was important to have a really good experience on this short getaway. By far, this was the greatest no hassle experience to date. From check in to check out, ALL was simply superb. The Views and the crashing of the waves just outside my window was just too much. If I could drop everything this very minute and be on the next plane back to Salvador and the Pestana, I would not hesitate. Trust Me, this hotel, this city is not to be missed. So if you are toying with weather or not to go to Salvador or to stay at the Pestana, stop hestitating and just do it.
2 out of 5
by Rosangela from Very bad all

0000000000000

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
Very bad
4 out of 5
by Tim from UK

Tired but good hotel

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
A little tired but fully functioning. Reception very slow - check-in took 20 mins, check-out similar. Bar slow too. Very good choice for breakfast. Excellent pool and there is a small beach close-by. Room very comfortable and large and virtually all rooms have a sea-view and thin balcony. Shower was good for me but other rooms did say that temperature was difficult to control (i.e. too cold). Air-con easy to control. Access to room was by 4 reasonably quick lifts. Historic Town a long way away (20 min taxi)
4 out of 5
by Jonas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right by the Ocean

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: There wasn't really anything to dislike about the hotel at all. I was left alone and when I had questions the staff were easily accessible.
Cons: The treadmills need to be improved and in English. It would also help if all of them work. I understand that most people just want the pool instead.
Location: Having a friend from there is definitely a huge advantage. There are restaurants at the first intersection going away from the hotel but a taxi helps.
Luckily for me I already had a friend from Salvador, Brazil. Whenever they were busy, it was easy to stay entertained in this really nice hotel by the Atlantic Ocean. The AC was more than adequate in keeping me cool. The WiFi could have been a bit faster but it still go the job done. The best part of the hotel by far is its pool area which is right on the ocean. I sat in a lawn chair, had a few snacks and just watched the ocean for an hour two. The staff is friendly and I had no issues communicating with them in English. The view of the city and ocean from the room makes it worth the money.
3 out of 5
by Michel from London

Great view, good location but not a 5* star hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
We were lucky to be on one of the top floor of the hotel and we therefore had a great view from our room. The location was also very convenient. The room itself was nice but the bathroom was not impressive at all and there was a water leak in the entrance. What struck us is that the service was nowhere near a 5* hotel. Most staff were nice but too many didn't give a good service and the worst was obviously the 3 times we had to wait between 30 and 45 minutes at the reception to get served.