Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Amazing staff a d lovely hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017
The hotel is very rich in its history. Lovely cosy rooms and clean in a good location to explore the historic town. The staff are very helpful and efficient and doing so.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very clean and broken ac

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
The ac was not working throughout the hotel or inside the rooms. My room had ants. My room was very dark I had to use a flashlight to plug my cell phone in! The restaurant on site took 1.5 hours to bring me a sandwich!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, unique, historic, converted f

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Its location, just above the old city. Its architecture. Its staff.
Cons: Its air conditioning
Location: The old city of Salvador - fabulous.
onverted from r`om old convent. The historic nature has its drawbacks. The main problem is the ancient air conditioning system.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Amazing location and decor

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: restaurants are in the same street, but this street is more quiet than others. Really one of the best spots in the historic district.
The hotel has an excellent location. Public space and room are spacious and open. Receptionists speak various languages (closes at 23 hrs). Service was good. Decor of hotel is amazing. I would certainly stay again and recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old City Convent

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay, for all recovering catholics, it brings back lots of memories of church. There is a yummy Vegan Feminist run restaurant down the street called Rango Vegan, Poro restaurant, cute and gourmet. Walking in the neighborhood was the best part, be ready for cobble stone streets and a big hill. And hanging out in the evenings in the beautiful and comfortable corridors of the hotel was a good way to end the day with a drink.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Historic Salvador

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
The service was outstanding. They were really great in helping us make reservations for dinner, excursions, tours, and taxis. It really made managing the city with limited Portuguese so much easier. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is an historic convent, so the hotel design is reflected in that architecture. Our only suggestion would be an updating of the rugs/carpets in the room. We don't want modern design, but some of those things seemed a bit worn and ready for replacement. Despite that the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. If we go back to Salvador we'd stay here again and highly recommend it to others.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

more like a 2 star hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
first night was in a cramped, old room. Moved to a bigger room next day but the hotel is not care for, it is almost abandoned, very disappointing and sad because the hotel was a very nice hotel about 5 years ago. The bath towels had holes!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
Very beautiful Hotel! Need to update their furniture by the pool! Despite the lack of view / small window, the room was great and had a restful night! Good shower and bed!
5 out of 5
by James from Denver

Perfect place

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
We loved it - incredible service, value and location. Great restaurant on site - chef Tereza is local celebrity - great bar and other amenities. Location is perfect - such a peaceful place by all of Salvadors best sites. Cafelier across street was favorite cafe in al of Salvador.
5 out of 5
by alban

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels