Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So so hotel in Salvador old town

Posted Sep 18, 2016
This pousada is convenient for Salvador centre. However I can't really recommend it I'm afraid. I was literally the only guest staying there and I did not have a good experience. The cheapest rooms have no window so I upgraded first to a street side room. It was so noisy at night with people shouting and loud music till late, that I moved to a more expensive sea view room. The noise was even worse! There were bands playing just outside till midnight and then a loud party next door which lasted all night and morning. The rooms were over priced - the showers didn't work properly and the breakfast was inedible. The owner is nice but the staff were not very friendly and at night there is just a guard who speaks no English. I won't be staying here again, sorry to say.
4 out of 5
by fred


Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful, quaint inn with fabulous owners/staff.

Posted Nov 4, 2015
My girlfriend's and I stayed at this inn for 5 nights and felt completely at home. The owners, Gerusa and Stephane, contacted me prior to our stay to provide me with details on how to leave the necessary deposit (Western Union, which was super easy), and set up our airport transport (the driver was on time & very friendly). The inn itself is beautifully decorated, quaint, and homey. The location is perfect in that nightlife is within walking distance, but not right in the middle of it. Beaches are a short cab ride away & they are gorgeous. Gerusa was beyond helpful & went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and safe. She is an absolutely lovely woman. The staff was just as warm & they whip up a delicious breakfast every morning. All in all, I have zero complaints. I would absolutely return to the Pousada Casa Vila Bela.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellente pousada

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
Excellente pousada avec une vue superbe pour les chambres donnant sur la baie de tous les saints et une maison très belle, idéalement située pour visiter Salvador tout en restant au calme. Chambre spacieuse et confortable, très bon accueil (francopohone) des hôtes et de leur personnel avec de bons conseils sur les visites, les restos, etc... Si vraiment on veut chercher des points de détail négatifs, le seul point à noter est un débit de douche un peu faible au dernier étage de la maison...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okej hotell

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Dåligt wifi och lyhört men annars ett hemtrevligt hotell
5 out of 5
by annette from Liverpool


Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
Very good and owner very nice and very helpful
5 out of 5
by Bao from los angeles

great host in a great city

Posted May 25, 2015 on Hotels
wonderful room (recommend the ocean view ones) with wonderful host
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Wonderful staff and a charming hotel in the heart of the Pelo in old Salvador. Highly recommend this to anyone looking for an authentic experience in Bahia.
3 out of 5
by Rinoti

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by 誠六 from 大阪


Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: 何もありません
Cons: ホテルのスタッフ、部屋、食事の全ての面での改善が必要です。
Location: 唯一の救いは、世界遺産の街並みだけでした。
チェックインしたのが夜10時。 ホテルには、ポルトガル語しか話せない管理人の男が一人いるだけ。到着時にCashでしか受け付けないという宿泊料金をすぐに請求されたが、支払っても領収書もくれません。 フロントと称する机の上には、大きな字で「クレジットカートでの支払いは受けません」と、ポルトガル語、英語、フランス語で書かれた紙とブラジルの紙幣がこれ見よがしに敷かれていました。 ホテルオーナーからの歓迎のメッセージの紙切れ一枚を渡されて、通された部屋は、2階にある通りに面した、不気味な絵が掛けられたうす暗い部屋で、真夏だというのにエアコンもない。バスルームには固形石鹸のみ。 Expediaに掲載された画像とはほど遠い、古いだけで清潔感もない。窓も木造で、常時閉じてないと危険であると言われたが、閉じると部屋は真っ暗で、外の騒音が丸聞こえ。朝方4時頃まで通りで騒ぐ声とエアコンのない蒸し暑さで殆んど寝ることが出来ませんでした。 朝食は、菓子パン数種類とハムが1種類、果物をスライスしたものがそれぞれ小さな皿に盛ってテーブルに並べてあるだけ。卵料理を注文すると、卵1個分のスクランブルエッグが出て来ました。後はジュースとコーヒー、紅茶。 日頃自宅で食べる朝食よりも貧弱な内容でした。 昼前にようやく来た唯一英語が通じるオーナー夫妻に昨晩のことを説明するも、部屋がないと一蹴され、扇風機を1台貸してくれただけでした。 翌朝、9時に乗る飛行機の為、タクシーを依頼すると、早朝だからタクシーが来る保証もないと、ホテルの送迎車(約6000円)を強く薦められた。 仕方なく受け入れると、「これがブラジルだよ」とうそぶくオーナー。 午後2時頃、周辺の観光情報を教えてもらう為、フロントに行くと、もうオーナー夫妻は帰って居らず、またポルトガル語しか話せない管理人ひとりの状態。 オーナー夫婦が居なくなると、ポルトガルが語せない限り、何の情報を得ることも、コミュニケーションを交わすことも出来ません。 日中も、玄関は常時鍵で閉ざされ、門番を兼ねる管理人は、ヨレヨレのポロシャツを着て、ホテルマンというイメージにはほど遠い、何処かのアパートの管理人。 翌朝、6時40分にホテルを出発する時も、オーナーは居らず、宿泊の領収書ももらえなかった。 果物とパン位の朝食を出してもらえるかと期待したが、それもなく、無愛想な管理人が、まるで荷物を送り出すように玄関の鍵を開けて、「ありがとう」の一言もなく出してくれた。 海外旅行をする時、重要なウェイトを占めるのがホテル。 滞在中、ホテルのフロントやコンシェルジユそして、レストラン等からいろいろな情報を 得ながら、如何に快適に過ごせるかで、その旅の善し悪しが決まると言っても過言ではありません。このホテルはその基本的な機能を果しておりません。 唯一英語が話せるオーナー夫婦は殆んどホテルに居らず、何のコミュニケーションも取れない管理人一人を置くだけであれば、これは、ホテルと言うよりも、ブラジル人専用のレンタルルーム。 今まで、60ヶ国あまりの国々を旅行をし、様々なホテルに宿泊をしましたが、私が経験した中で、最低のサービス、最低の宿泊施設でした。