Ratings based on 587 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little could go a long way.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Nothing!
Location: Location off the main street, difficult to walk. Nothing nearby
Hotel room dusty. Paid extra for ocean view & this room was also dusty One staff person speaks English Very limited items in refrigerator: 3 small bottles of water & 1 soda Frozen fruit at breakfast - also very limited choices Room service horrible - cold food, no one spoke English; 1 hr. wait (even for French fries that arrived cold and uncovered!)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

A nice motel but needs some love

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location was nice one the ocean, however we were advised not to swim at the beaches next to the hotel (no fault of the hotel).
Cons: Clean the rooms properly. I have stayed at some appalling hotels in my life but none have mold growing all over the ceiling.
Location: Short walk to Barra and a few shops for essentials over the road
The hotel is situated on the ocean in a nice location. As english speaking guests, we really struggled here when having to talk to hotel staff. Our room had mold growing all over the ceiling of the bathroom which made the room stink. When we talked to the one english speaking staff member, he didn't seem interested in knowing about it and wouldn't give us another room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

No beach....just rocks.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: The Superior Suite room was spacious/nice.
Cons: Service/Staff.
Location: Hotel is not on a beach at all, only a pool. Nothing within walking distance (beach, store, restaurant, etc.).Taxi ride to Praia da Barra.
Bucket of Ice for the room is not free, hotel charges R$15.00 (~$4.70 USD)...also slow to arrive. One out of the 3 day stay, room was never cleaned/serviced...had to formally complain to get room cleaned the 3rd day. Hotel is not on a beach at all....only a swimming pool. The small beach next to hotel is controlled / used by a Favela/Slum....dangerous, do not go. Nothing within walking distance (beach, store, restaurant, etc.)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Seemed nice at first but ...

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Orbitz
The staff did have some English speakers which was nice but they honestly didn't seem to care very much about their guests. The first room I was put in had a broken window latch, the safe did not work, the TV came in fuzzy, and the shower was infested with these little spec sized bugs that bounce around. After the ceiling started leaking in the bathroom (flooding the whole bathroom) I changed rooms. The second room that we were put in still had the little bugs in the bathroom and the dresser drawers were broken. Everything else worked though. Housekeeping repeatedly forgot to clean my room. The location seemed mostly safe for Brazil although one time as I was coming back to the hotel from sightseeing in the middle of the day, 4 guys and a dog were beating up someone in the taxi stand outside. That was unsettling. The staff was rude and unpleasant. The housekeepers acted like it was a huge chore to bring me tissues after they had forgotten to stock my room with them, the hotel bar was never staffed, and no one seemed to know anything about the local area. The front desk never once asked how my stay was and then tried to charge me for international phone calls that I did not make. Oh and the hot tub didn't work. It was the same temperature as the pool. I will never stay at this hotel ever again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by howardpos

Quiet location

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Ebookers
They gave me a room upgrade which was fairly large with two beds. The breakfast at the hotel was fairly comprehensive and enjoyable. Close to local restaurants which were good & reasonable, the only fault with the hotel was the cleanliness of the room. The staff were friendly and efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel with ocean view

Posted Mar 26, 2016
I have stayed at Vila Gale before. Very good service, great breakfast and helpful staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Snobbish staff

Posted Mar 14, 2016
While i found some of the staff are actually very nice, reception clerks and some other staff members were condescending and generally unpleasant to deal with. I certainly will not go back to the vila gale. Also, the hotel is located on a deserted stretch of street so don't expect to take a walk around the hotel at night.
4 out of 5
by Jose from Highland

Better that others

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel for good price
4 out of 5
by Jose from Chicago

Salvador-BA

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel over all is a good value, the breakfast and lunch is an amazing option if you don't want to explore the city for food. The hotel staff could use a little improvement on their service abilities and the hotel could have been a little cleaner. Over all it's a good hotel for the price, I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston

Friendly staff, great service,.

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: very good breakfast, great oceanview.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Not much to do near by, the famous oldtown is a quick cab ride away. If you want to swim in the ocean you need to go to Barra beach.
We had a great time at Vila Gale . The hotel staff was courteous, helped us anytime we needed. My 10 year old got sick while there, and they went above and beyond to meet our needs.