Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

No beach....just rocks.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: The Superior Suite room was spacious/nice.
Cons: Service/Staff.
Location: Hotel is not on a beach at all, only a pool. Nothing within walking distance (beach, store, restaurant, etc.).Taxi ride to Praia da Barra.
Bucket of Ice for the room is not free, hotel charges R$15.00 (~$4.70 USD)...also slow to arrive. One out of the 3 day stay, room was never cleaned/serviced...had to formally complain to get room cleaned the 3rd day. Hotel is not on a beach at all....only a swimming pool. The small beach next to hotel is controlled / used by a Favela/Slum....dangerous, do not go. Nothing within walking distance (beach, store, restaurant, etc.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel with ocean view

Posted Mar 26, 2016
I have stayed at Vila Gale before. Very good service, great breakfast and helpful staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Snobbish staff

Posted Mar 14, 2016
While i found some of the staff are actually very nice, reception clerks and some other staff members were condescending and generally unpleasant to deal with. I certainly will not go back to the vila gale. Also, the hotel is located on a deserted stretch of street so don't expect to take a walk around the hotel at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston

Friendly staff, great service,.

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: very good breakfast, great oceanview.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Not much to do near by, the famous oldtown is a quick cab ride away. If you want to swim in the ocean you need to go to Barra beach.
We had a great time at Vila Gale . The hotel staff was courteous, helped us anytime we needed. My 10 year old got sick while there, and they went above and beyond to meet our needs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro

A former 5 star hotel now ba rely 3 star

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Hotel poorly managed and in need of repair and injection of qualified staff. On Sea front but nearest beach ia 2 km away. Used for company meetings and cheap deals for locals at weekend. One mediocre restaurant, a small gym and a Spa that never answered the phone to book a session. Totally disappointing conside ring the good name that Vila Gale has in general.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great sceneric hotel, but room for improvement

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Hotel Vila Gale is in a great spot overlooking the ocean, there are beautiful scenic spots everywhere you go. The hotel offers good value, the rooms are reasonably priced and the various services are all priced very fairly. However there are plenty of areas that could be improved, they have expensive and high end TV sets in every room but the distribution is low grade, it's a shame since they would have spent a lot on getting good TV but all you get is low res SD inputs. The pool overlooks the ocean but in a spot where you don't get any sun for most parts, it gets quite chilly to just lounge around. The wifi also cost extra to be in the rooms and the coverage could be a lot better. Overall, worth the money but they could do a lot better with what they have got, the ocean view really is quite breathtaking
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

World Cup

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Stayed for WC match. Location is not to bad (short cab to tourist area) service was just ok, food was ok, internet was brutally slow, pool is in the shade all day, gym is a joke and the bathroom smelt mouldy. Would not go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

3 star hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Service
Cons: outdated rooms
I was staying at the hotel for FIFA2014, the hotel is in a good location, the staff is friendly and accommodating although English is not their strong suit. All in all fantastic service, great breakfast service but the rooms are outdated and need improvements although very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pleasant hotel, nicely placed.

Posted Jun 25, 2012
Pros: place, staff, location
Cons: air-conditioning system in the room
Location: strategically located in the best area.
The hotel is strategically placed in the best part of the city. The only thing with the room was the air-conditioning system, annoying as hell (loud sound and uncomfortable circulation of the cold air around the room).
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nane from downtown san diego, ca

Villa gale- a disapointment 5 years later!

Posted Jun 10, 2012
Pros: The views and the breakfast were great
Cons: The hotel maintance and upkeep is lacking
Location: ok location
I have stayed at Villa Gale about 5 years ago and I loved it. This time it's very disapointing. The main lobby was under renovation, which we were not aware of it. The was no signs to get to the check-in desk and things were disorganized and customer service was not their priority at all. Our room had an amazing view of the Christy of Barra and of the ocean. The window was leaking so they placed a towel on the ground. Also the tub/shower leaked all over the bathroom when we showered. It used to ge a great hotel but the are losing focus on the minor details such as the upkeep of the rooms. Don't plan on going back there...will miss the great views for sure...:(