Ratings based on 1,232 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel near the train station

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: I liked the friendliness of the hotel and also the hotel was very clean. It was nice to have the fridge and kettle in the room.
Cons: If I had to be very picky the beds were very very hard. The reason we didn't have breakfast was the price. We felt 15 euros per person was a lot.
Location: The hotel is 2 mins from the bus and train station, old town 20 min walk away. Nice walk into old town along river.
We spent a week in the Hotel sum Hirschen in December 2016. The hotel was very friendly and clean. We had a nice room and although the hotel and our room was on a main road the 4x glazing shut out practically all noise, except the odd siren. The hotel is near the main train and bus station, about a 2 min walk and you can get a regular bus to and from the airport from the bus station. This dose mean that the walk into the old town is about 15 - 20 mins. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but a very nice touch was a kettle and tea and coffee in the room and also a fridge. We also noticed they also had air conditioning which would be welcome in the summer due to the road outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

nice hotel by the train station

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Great location by the train station and a bus stop.
Cons: Good internet service, but you have to go through the hotel log-in screen each time you use the service.
Perfect for our 3-day Salzburg trip. Friendly, English-speaking hotel staff and room was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stratford upon Avon

Perfect city break hotel.

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Excellent value, clean rooms and friendly staff.
Cons: Extra pillows
Location: Bus stop around corner where you can get buses to city centre, cablecar, fortress, zoo, local brewery museum (all with free access with Salzburg card)
Brilliant hotel, especially for the price you pay. Rooms are clean and a good size. City centre is only a short walk or bus journey away (buses are very frequent and bus stops are near) We have stayed in Salzburg many times and this hotel is always our first choice as it gives excellent value for money. If you stay here make sure you get a Salzburg card as this will give you free access into lots of attractions and also free bus journeys within Salzburg, you can buy these at reception (cash only)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario, canada

Nice hotel close to the train station and old town

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Very clean, well maintained older hotel, centrally located with a short walk from the train station. The hotel was convenient for us as we were going to the Christmas market and it was centrally located. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One to stay at

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Really helpful staff. Everywhere very clean. Would be happy to go back anytime.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean!

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay except for some noise from the room above us. The hotel is very convenient for the train station and 15 mins walk from the old town. Our room was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Good location near bus and train. Easy access to tours. Good inhouse restaurant. Clean and Green self wash close by..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great value. Better than I expected!

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: For the price we paid this hotel was excellent. Very comfy bed. Fairly spacious room. 10 mins walk into the town centre.
Cons: The breakfast was 30 euros for two. It was fairly decent though. Some hothings and cold options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel with great location

Posted Nov 15, 2016
We had a superior double room for 2 nights and it was very appreciated that we were allowed early check in. check-in was fussfree and the staff was very nice to take the initiative to provide us with some maps and how to walk to the old town (about 15min walk). The hotel is about 7min walk from the main train station. Our room faces the main road but was not noisy at all. Both the room and bathroom was very spacious even when we had a number of large luggages and a wheelchair. There's also a private car park within the hotel compounds for those driving. very enjoyable stay overall.