Ratings based on 1,223 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very happy with our stay

Posted Feb 19, 2017
This is a nice hotel - a short walk from the train station (number 2 trolley bus from airport). It is an easy walk into main town or take one of several trolley buses. Room was neat and well cleaned staff friendly and helpful breakfast was good and restaurant food was very good - all in all a pleasant stay thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Amazing hotel very close to the city centre. Clean. Sympathetic and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Spacious room, good location

Posted Jan 10, 2017
A nice hotel with spacious rooms and friendly staff, within a short walk to the Hauptbahnof, great shopping, tourist attractions and restaurants. Good value for money for the location. Also the in house restaurant serves a very tasty dinner (advise to book in advance). My main criticism is that the bed was so uncomfortable and the pillows so horrible and flat that my husband and I endured three of the worst nights sleeps we've ever had and we left the hotel in desperate need of a chiropractor. Also their breakfast is obscenely overpriced compared to other hotels we've stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Oslo

Pleasant old-fashioned hotel with modern amenities

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: Maybe slippers in all the room as wooden floors and no heating cables in the bathroom floors (standard European).
Location: see above
This was a very nice hotel not far from the railroad station and on an easy route either walking (20 min) or by bus to central Salzburg and across the river to historic Salzburg. The sauna complex upstairs was a nice bonus. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great hotel , clean

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Fab hotel , close to the old town . Staff are very helpful , if you need a bathrobe do ask at reception as none provided in the room , they ask for a refundable deposit for . Spa facility good no swimming pool though . We did not have breakfast at the hotel . Beds were ok , bit squeaky .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, near the main central station

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The staff were always helpful. ..room clean and spacious...near bus stops and central train station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel near the train station

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: I liked the friendliness of the hotel and also the hotel was very clean. It was nice to have the fridge and kettle in the room.
Cons: If I had to be very picky the beds were very very hard. The reason we didn't have breakfast was the price. We felt 15 euros per person was a lot.
Location: The hotel is 2 mins from the bus and train station, old town 20 min walk away. Nice walk into old town along river.
We spent a week in the Hotel sum Hirschen in December 2016. The hotel was very friendly and clean. We had a nice room and although the hotel and our room was on a main road the 4x glazing shut out practically all noise, except the odd siren. The hotel is near the main train and bus station, about a 2 min walk and you can get a regular bus to and from the airport from the bus station. This dose mean that the walk into the old town is about 15 - 20 mins. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but a very nice touch was a kettle and tea and coffee in the room and also a fridge. We also noticed they also had air conditioning which would be welcome in the summer due to the road outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

nice hotel by the train station

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Great location by the train station and a bus stop.
Cons: Good internet service, but you have to go through the hotel log-in screen each time you use the service.
Perfect for our 3-day Salzburg trip. Friendly, English-speaking hotel staff and room was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stratford upon Avon

Perfect city break hotel.

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Excellent value, clean rooms and friendly staff.
Cons: Extra pillows
Location: Bus stop around corner where you can get buses to city centre, cablecar, fortress, zoo, local brewery museum (all with free access with Salzburg card)
Brilliant hotel, especially for the price you pay. Rooms are clean and a good size. City centre is only a short walk or bus journey away (buses are very frequent and bus stops are near) We have stayed in Salzburg many times and this hotel is always our first choice as it gives excellent value for money. If you stay here make sure you get a Salzburg card as this will give you free access into lots of attractions and also free bus journeys within Salzburg, you can buy these at reception (cash only)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario, canada

Nice hotel close to the train station and old town

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Very clean, well maintained older hotel, centrally located with a short walk from the train station. The hotel was convenient for us as we were going to the Christmas market and it was centrally located. Would stay here again.