Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, but ....

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Overall, the hotel was very good. Friendly staff, clean well appointed rooms, and a lovely exterior. However, we were very surprised that the buffet breakfast cost 18 Euros per person. We were not told ahead of time there was a charge and only found out when we checked out. Kind of sneaky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel, 20 minute walk from the centre.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Excellent food and service.
Cons: We enjoyed the room service menu and thought that it could be offered in the small dining room in the evenings as a option for guests.
Location: A 20 minute walk out of Salzburg centre, but a pleasant walk by the river immediately across the road from the hotel. Buses and taxis easily available
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Arcotel Castellani. The staff were professional and friendly. The room was a good size, clean and pleasant. Although cleaned daily, optional change of towels and linen helps save bees by reducing environmental impact.The food was excellent. Excellent choice at breakfast, very attentive staff, offering soy lattes or cappuccinos a desired. We also ate in the Restaurant Salieri and although a limited menu, the food was very good indeed, presented beautifully. We also ordered room service one evening and the food again was exceptionally good and reasonably priced. The club sandwich was excellent, as were the veggie and beef burgers. It was a pleasure staying in such a good hotel, where quality obviously matters and the staff appear to enjoy their jobs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Desirée , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the the great review! I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at ARCOTEL Castellani Salzburg. I have passed your positive feedback on to our team here about the great service you received. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Kind regards Desirée Lukesch Ass. Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by Kushal

A very good Choice!!!

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the the great review! I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at ARCOTEL Castellani Salzburg. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Kind regards Sabrina Retzlaff Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by John

Clean and Comfortable hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was fine and bed comfortable. The hotel is located a bit out of the center and it is about a 20 min walk to the city center. Overall happy with the hotel and the staff were helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. I'm pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon at ARCOTEL Castellani Salzburg. Kind regards Sabrina Retzlaff Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by graham

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely place you could walk into town bus service over the road Only thing missing kettle in the room otherwise fab place to stay xxx
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us here in Salzburg. We look forward to seeing you back again in the near future! Kind Regards, Sabrina Retzlaff Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by Anne

Recommended!

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
It was a great stay and enjoyed it immensely. The only thing i could fault would be that my daughter and I got quite ill from food poisoning unfortunately after eating Street food at the Xmas markets and after midnight tried several times to call the reception for an doctor however no one answered. Fortunately I was able to ring out myself for an ambulance as the number was conveniently located on the phone list.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to main attractions. Terrible breakfast.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Location, onsite parking (charged) and rooms were a good size.
Cons: Fire the french barman - he is the worst & terribly rude. Bar area is not nice - an afterthought of poor design. Breakfast need drastic improvement.
We booked several rooms at the hotel and despite sending in all details prior, they were unprepared for our group upon arrival. The rooms are clean and beds comfortable. However - the bar is cold and unwelcoming. Simply nasty and the barman was atrocious! He was so rude, it was a struggle to actually get served. Then when we complained - he kept blaming it on someone else and would not leave us alone to enjoy our drinks. The breakfast is a joke, the coffee was stale and mass produced - for €18 per person I would have expected a better quality. It is a shame - the location is good and the hotel could be a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Nice hotel a brisk walk out of the main city.

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Location & clean
Cons: Offer Salzburg cards and explain them at reception.
Location: Commute to city on bus.
Good bus routes & nice breakfast buffet. Definitely would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Great hotel in walking distance of the Old Town.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Good hotel and excellent location for walking into the Alt Stadt. Perfect time of year to visit - with the Christmas market in full swing. Breakfast was great - worth the extra cost - and the staff were very helpful to cater for a vegan breakfast. A kettle in the room would have been nice - but think that is perhaps our English norm, not the Austrian!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario canada

Quiet convenient

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pleasant stay by 4 older adults. We felt comfortable and welcome. Found 18Euros expensive for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2016 by Sabrina Retzlaff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review! I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Arcotel Castellani. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Kind Regards Sabrina Retzlaff Front Office Manager