Ratings based on 670 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Great location in historic old town

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Room, views, location, breakfast, staff.
Cons: Parking was a little complicated and not well-explained when we called. No air conditioning, so choose timing wisely.
Location: Fortress, cathedrals, shopping, Mirabelle, restaurants.
Quaint, well-run, beautiful historic hotel in old town. Walk to the fortress, the cathedral square, restaurants and shopping. We rented the junior suite with a (shared) balcony and incredible skylight view of the fortress. It was lovely and seemed recently updated. The terrace is perfect for breakfast in good weather and the breakfast was very good with lots of variety. Really enjoyed our time there. NOTE: you must make a separate parking reservation directly with the hotel!! Also, there is no air conditioning, so be advised if the weather is hot. This is pretty normal for the area, so just something to be aware of. Junior suite is great for a couple plus on or two younger children.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wilts, UK

A handy and friendly city-centre hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Well situated for both city exploration and for getting to the lake district. Excellent breakfasts. Very friendly and helpful "Helena" at reception.
Cons: Parking a bit steep at 15 Euro/night, but we were lucky to have it! In-room tea/coffee most desirable, especially given none but espresso at the bar.
Location: We'd seen the city and castle before but it was good to refresh. Wish we could have spent more than a day exploring the lakes; well worthwhile.
This hotel had everything we needed for a short stay in Salzburg. Everything, that is, except air conditioning, which we gathered they are simply not allowed to install. The weather was hot and muggy, and unfortunately the small fan in our room scarcely made a difference. The room was rather cramped, too, with nowhere to set down our luggage. All the more reason to get out and explore, which we did! NB to others: you need a pass code or "zapper" to get past the bollards both coming into and going out of the hotel area. Be sure to go equipped when taking the car out!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walkable to sights and transit

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Stayed three nights very convenient Nice decor A bit hard to find by car - need some signs posted
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
very cute hotel wonderful stay staff were wonderful and very helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from saarijärvi

Viihtyisä hotelli Salzburgin vanhassa kaupungissa

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Erittäin miellyttävä pieni kaupunkihotelli hyvällä paikalla vanhassakaupungissa . Hotellissa on rauhallinen , kotoinen tunnelma ja vanhaa arvokkuutta
Cons: Internet yhteydet eivät toimineet
Location: Linnat , luostarit ja lukuisat kirkot löytyvät läheltä , joen takaa ja vähän kauempaa lisää Lenkkeilykin onnistuu erittäin hyvin.
Ensimmäisen yön vietimme pienessä huoneistossa päärakennusta vastapäätä olevassa hotellin toisessa rakennuksessa . Asunto oli siisti mutta hyvin vaatimaton ja parisängyn jouset olivat jo aikansa eläneet. Vaihdoimme seuraavana aamuna päärakennukseen , jonka huone olikin esitteitä vastaava ja erinomainen. Henkilökunta oli todella ystävällistä ja palvelualtista , aamiaishuone siisti ja viihtyisä ja tarjoilu monipuolinen ja maukas.Tulisin erittäin mielelläni uudelleen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, great value and service!

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Location, and history building.
Definitely enjoyed our stay. Minutes away from town center and tourist sites. Cozy and family-style settings make you feel at home.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in excellent location

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Excellent location in the old town. Lots of good restaurants and bars in locality Within walking distance of all the significant sites in Salzburg
We were disappointed that having bookers 2 rooms as one party, paying the same amount that the two rooms were of such differing standard and size. One was spacious with large bathroom fridge and a fan. The other considerably smaller with one of the windows overlooking the neighbouring building requiring the curtains to be closed at all times to ensure privacy ( net curtains would have helped) and no other facilities other than a small TV Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of hot and cold foods. Staff were friendly and efficient
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bulwick UK

Great staff and great location

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Staff and location.
Cons: Very little, a great place
Location: About 10 minutes walk from the cathedral square and 15 from the mirabell gardens.
Outstanding hotel in the old city area of Salzburg. Very close to the major sites and great restaurants nearby. All staff spoke excellent english and were very helpful. Breakfast was exceptional. Price was very reasonable and when we arrived they upgraded us to a suite. We will stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Posted Sep 5, 2016
In a great location,close to the castle and shops and restaurants
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NANTES

Mon séjour à Salzbourg à l'hôtel ALTSTADHOTEL

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: ABSOLUMENT RIEN
Cons: Cette adresse est à bannir de votre site ; tout n'est que mensonge décrit sur votre site.
Location: Heureusement que j'ai pu profiter durant 2 jours de cette merveilleuse ville où il y a tellement de chose à faire !!
1 Accès à l'hôtel par ses propres moyens; le parking public est à 300 m de l'hôtel. Pas de personnel pour vous aider à monter vos bagages. 2 Accueil désagréable ; personne ne parle le Français. 3 La chambre réservée sur le site marchand EXPEDIA ne correspondait pas à la réalité; 4 La chambre ne dispose pas de climatisation; sympa quand il fait 28 degré; on ne peut ouvrir la fenêtre car trop de bruit dans les rues ou poivrots et consorts déambulent !!!! 5 le Petit déjeuner est indigne d'un 4 étoiles ; rien de frais tout est mauvais !! 6 En finale les prestations de cet Hôtel sont indignes d'un 4 étoiles. Rien ne justifie de ce niveau. Ce n'est même pas du niveau d'un 2 étoiles français. 7 Le prix de cette chambre est absolument indigne; je ne comprends même pas que votre site puisse faire valoir cette adresse; ne correspond absolument pas à la réalité constatée.