Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading UK

In need of Modernization

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Hotel Staff were able to help with directions and booking a restaurant
Cons: Better bed and in need of modernization
Location: It was by a industrial estate and 20 minutes from the city centre
Hotel Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is about 20 minutes from the city centre. However, the bus stops outside and you can buy a 24hr ticket for 3.70 euros. Room was in need of decorating and the bed was uncomfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not going back, for sure.

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
We had one night of stay here. The receptionist had a hard time communicating key facts with me in English which is very unusual. Room was "very" small, and lacked many amenities that are standard (coffee, tea, water, ...). The only way to ask for anything was to go all the way down to the reception desk, needless to say very inconvenient. And last but not least, the receptionists both made sure to mention that I had paid much less than the room's rate since I booked on hotel.com, as if it justified their lack of patience in answering my normal questions like "where can I get some hot water?", or "can you explain how parking in front of the hotel works?", neither one a hypothetical question by the way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic stay.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
The room was so comfortable and homely and made us feel very at ease. The staff were fantastic- friendly, efficient and made us very welcome and so would definitely stay here again. Great location too, bus ride away from town centre.
4 out of 5
by Stefan

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
Wir hatten eine spontane Übernachtung gemeinsam mit unserem Hund gebucht. Das Hotel ist etwas abgelegen, da wir aber mit unserem Auto unterwegs waren, war das für uns kein Problem. Das Zimmer ist doch schon etwas in die Jahre gekommen. Probleme mit der Matratze oder der Dusche (wie in anderen Rezensionen erwähnt) konnte ich aber nicht feststellen. Der Concierge war super freundlich und hilfsbereit. Für einen kurzen, günstigen Trip weiterzuempfehlen.
4 out of 5
by Robert from California

Nice accommodation

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Myself and two of my friends stayed here. The hotel was nice, but just a little removed from the city center. Taxi's were easy though as they were waiting just outside. The staff was very nice when you approached them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by Arena City Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, thank you for your feedback! It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay! This is very important to us. Best regards from Salzburg
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
When we arrived, after we have got confirmation, the reception lady told us there are no rooms available, and offered us a smoking room instead. Eventually, after escalation to her manager, she somehow did find a room for us. The hotel is far away from the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
We came as a first stop for a father-son euro trip and although we had high hopes for the hotel, the fact that there was no air conditioning in the rooms in the 30 degree weather ruined everything.
3 out of 5
by Cathy from Texas

first time Salzburg visit

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
easy access to bus for downtown. Good choice for keeping budget down.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spacious suite

Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
Located away from the city centre but easily reachable by no.1 bus which leaves frequenty from a stop opposite the hotel to the train station and city centre.We stayed in a suite which was lovely,spacious and clean.Hotel was quiet,offered tea and coffee facilities on every floor.Reception staff were helpful and polite.Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by Robson from Southampton

Salzburg Stay July 2015

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for 2 nights, literally only sleeping and showering at the hotel. It was a hot weekend and there was no air conditioning so the hotel was hard to sleep in, and the shower was one of the worst I've ever seen. Rooms and the hotel where quite outdated and we didn't use the hotels bar or restaurant. But beds were comfortable and clean.