Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A fantastic find

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
The am Dom is in an incredible location - quieter than the Gesteiderstrasse - and near the Dom Church complex and the short walk up to the funicular to the fortress. There are many restaurants in the area and the staff of the hotel is more than willing to offer suggestions. The room I had was small (long and narrow) with two single beds arranged heat to head along one long wall. However, for one person there was plenty of space to move around. With two persons it would be more crowded, but you're not in Salzburg to stay in your room!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walk the City from this Gem Hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful, the hotel is very nice and my room was cozy with every convenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA - USA

Perfection!

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Its old world charm.
This hotel's location, along with its medieval structure with modern updates make it one of the best hotels we have visited. Our room was on the street side, very spacious and quiet. We found the staff to be warm and professional. Don't miss the morning breakfast, you will not be disappointed. We will be recommending this to all our friends who pan to visit Salzburg.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location!

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Enjoyed the location in the heart of the Old City.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland

Small Modern Hotel in the Old Town

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The rooms were very modern and a good size and the young ladies at the front desk were very helpful.
Cons: The breakfast buffet was very limited compared to other hotels we stayed in during our trip and was not included in the price of the room.
Location: Salzburg is an pretty little town but there's really not a lot to do or see here. About 1-2 hours away, there are a number of beautiful lakes.
This small hotel is located in the heart of the Old Town Since the entire area is a pedestrian zone and closed to traffic, you are allowed to drive to the hotel only to drop off your luggage. And even for this limited access, the hotel is extremely difficult to find and requires calling for the code to open the metal barriers. In addition, since parking is not permitted in the area, the only option is to park in an underground garage that is a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel and that costs 22 euros a day. Salzburg is a pretty little town that's overrun with tourists during the day. The principal sites can be easily seen in a day. There's really no reason to spend the night here at all but if you're planning to do so, we would recommend finding a hotel outside of the Old Town, especially if you're driving to Salzburg. Otherwise, it's probably worth a day trip if you're staying in Vienna, but not more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hinsdale, IL

Great find in Salzburg

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Hotel was in a great location in the city center on a quiet street. The staff were very nice and helpful. Clean and spacious rooms. Only complaint would be the frosted doors on the toilet room along with a gap between the dot and the wall (lacks privacy). Otherwise, absolutely no complaints about this hotel. I would recommend it for couples.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Position
Cons: Staff attitude!
Location: In the heart of Salzburg Old Town, 20 minutes walk from the train station.
We stayed at Hotel Am Dom for two nights, based on its Trip Advisor rating and for the most part I would say this hotel would rate a 4 or 5 rating from me usually. The facilities were fine, the room clean and adequate, the position fantastic. There was an experience on the day we checked out that brought this hotel down in our opinion, and it was quite disturbing. The incident went as follows... On the day we were checking out, we raced out in the morning and picked up a couple of souvenirs that we wanted before we checked out. We then went back to the hotel, and walked in and asked the receptionist (who was vacuuming) how long it would take for a taxi to get there (wondering whether to order a taxi before we went up and got our bags, or just get one after we came down to check out). Some guy that looked like a cleaner walked out of a back room and started yelling at us 'THE TAXIS ARE ONLY 50 meters UP THE ROAD, WHATS WRONG WITH YOUR LEGS, WHY CANT YOU WALK UP THERE'. Like really giving it to us. Mind you we both had 20+ kg bags, and backpacks to carry, AND we had no clue there were taxis 50m up the road. So I'm saying to this guy, fine we'll walk up with our suitcases, no problem, and he's still yelling 'WHAT's WRONG WITH YOUR LEGS...WALK TO THE TAXI' kind of incoherently. So we go get our bags, bring them down, check out...all the while this guy is still ranting at us.. Apparently this guy we thought was the cleaner is THE MANAGER! Way to treat paying customers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Near Perfect.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Everything about this hotel is nice. Location, rooms, staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast was fresh and plentiful. If you prefer hotels other then the big chains, this is one to choose.
5 out of 5
by Susan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels