Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016
- Great location - Excellent service from friendly staff - Decent breakfast - Clean & tidy hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evansville, Indiana, USA

Gateway nights to our European Adventure!

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Clean, clean, clean & extremely comfortable beds. Friendly staff.
Location: Location was excellent - near Mirabell Palace & Gardens/historic sites, ATM, shops & restaurants, local bus stop if needed.
We (4 sisters) from Midwest, USA spent first 2 nights of our European Adventure in Salzburg. As we were a late check-in due to multiple flight delays Cityhotel provided us with excellent information on how to access our room; arrival was terrific w/no complications. We had a quad room with larger than expected beds & working windows that opened (for a lovely breeze) to the streets below & beautiful flowers tumbling from window boxes! Very walkable for dinner (second evening) to Augustiner Bräustübl At the foot of the Mönchsberg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and great staff.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Good breakfast for a good price. Location close to major attractions. Staff very attentive.
Cons: While my travel companions thought the decor was cute & quaint, I would update it. It is an old hotel but I think the update would enhance it.
Location: Mozart houses, U of Salzburg, bridges to other side of the river, Mirabelle, shopping and good restaurants, and more are all within walking distance.
Not air-conditioned so street noise an issue if room on the front side of the hotel. Room fan & open windows made for adequate cooling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Excellent location

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Very close to main things and nice restaurants when we arrive it was raining and the lady at the front desk gave us umbrellas to go out into the city. Thank you very much
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.S.

Staff is wonderful...great location and amenities

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The wonderful staff, location, and breakfast
Location: Very close to Old Town...5 minute walk across the river
The young ladies who manage the hotel are wonderful...Jennifer, Julie, and their colleagues are just terrific...gracious and so helpful...they even helped us find a camera store to replace our broken camera! The location is ideal...the room was very nice and the breakfast and service were outstanding!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location

Posted Jun 30, 2016
The hotel overall was quite good, especially for the location, it's close to everything. Nonetheless, it was quite noisy at night as there are a few bars around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tiny room!!

Posted Jun 17, 2016
We stayed for two nights at the hotel. The location of the hotel is perfect. You can easily reach everything by walking. We ended up getting a really tiny room at the corner. When we saw the building plan for the emergency exit map, our room was unusually smaller than other rooms. I am not kidding when I say it was insanely small (at least we had the view of the street in front of the hotel). We could not even leave our luggage bag open when we wanted to get ready. There was literally no place to put everything. The beds were big and comfy. The overall room was old, but clean. Other than the space issue, we enjoyed our stay here. The breakfast at the hotel was average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2016 by Vivienne, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your time at our's even though our rooms are small, but that's because of our location in the historical old town - our houses are just so small;-). The bigger rooms you saw on the emergency signs are our family rooms for up to 4/5 persons.... Some of them for 3 persons. Anyways, we are always working on our rooms (not on the size ;-) ), renovate a lot and try to stay not only traditional, but also up-to-date. Feedback is always very helpful and good for us, so thank you very much! We would be happy to welcome you again once at our's - you can be sure, you will find something new and updated when you come again. So have a good rest of your trip and a nice summer! Warmest regards, Vivienne
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.C.

Salzburg gem

Posted Jun 9, 2016
Pros: Location was ideal for our needs. We never got the car out of the garage once we got there until we left.
Great two days. Good breakfasts. Clean rooms. Our prearranged tours started within walking distance as well as our meals and pubs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely quaint b&b walking distance to everything

Posted Apr 14, 2016
First of all, the staff were very friendly and helpful upon check in. Although small, the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. We were able to leave our luggage after checking out as we still wanted to explore the area. I will definitely recommend this hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best thing about this hotel is location

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Quality is par below 3 star hotel. Staff are nice and friendly, location is best. Price of the hotel is very high for that quality and maintenance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2016 by Vivienne, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, thank you for visiting our hotel. May I kindly ask you what exactly was not fine for you and in which room you stayed? We are always working on the quality of our rooms and the hotel in general, therefore it would be a big help if you would assist us with further information. Otherwise we are happy to hear you liked our staff and our location. Looking forward to hearing back from you, as we take all feedback from our guests very serious. Warmest regards, Vivienne