Ratings based on 678 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Nice hotel and close to train station

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly, hotel was nicely decorated and breakfast was good.
Cons: Air-conditioning for attic rooms which became too hot at night.
Location: Close to train station
The hotel is beautifully decorated and clean. There is a nice and spacious lobby area with a bar. The breakfast selection was great which included hot and continental breakfast. It's close to the train station, so it is on the opposite side of town from the old town. Be prepared to walk around 20-25 minutes to get to the old town. The walk is lovely though, along the river. If your feet are tired, you can always catch a bus from the train station nearby into the main part of the city. We had the attic room which unfortunately became so hot at night as we had warm temperature when we were there. There is a celing fan which is quiet enough on low speed. It was too noisy to leave the window open at night. We booked a double bed but got twin beds which were put together.
5 out of 5
by Cheryl

Clean, friendly, great value. Highly recommend it

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
We were given a friendly welcome. The staff at reception were always ready to assist us with our enquiries regarding sightseeing. Our suite was spacious, clean and well equipped. We enjoyed a tasty breakfast with a variety of food to choose from.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017
Dear Cheryl! Thank you for sharing a wonderful feedback from your recent experience at our hotel. Your positive praises abour our breakfast and our staff are very much appreciated! In addition, we are pleased that you were satisfied with your suite.We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Best regards from Salzburg, Katharina Hufnagl Quality management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt, DE

Nice hotel within walking distance

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Overall a great hotel. They offer free parking but the lot is small so you may have to use a nearby parking garage that is pretty cheap. Train and bus station is 2-3 minutes walk away and is very convenient. The room is basic but elegant. Other reviews have commented that there are two curtains to cover three windows which is true, but every window has a rolladen which is more than sufficient to block light from coming through. The room has a interactive tablet you can use as a concierge or just to play games. The breakfast that was included in our room rate was delicious and well worth it. The only real downside to the hotel is we could hear traffic and even people yelling on the street at night. Overall the noise didn't keep us awake for long and we had a great time there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Katharina Hufnagl Quality management, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Joe. F.! We really appreciate that you took the time to share your impressions about your stay with us. We are very happy, you have enjoyed your stay with us. Concerning the room I have already noted down that you would like to have a room facing the garden side, which are located more quietly, next time. We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Salzburg! Best regards
5 out of 5
by Tamsin

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Had an excellent weekend at the hotel, reception staff were incredibly helpful. The room was big and well equipped. Breakfast was varied and there was always staff around to help. Location is perfect for exploring the city, everywhere was walkable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great room, great breakfast

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Cons: More parking.
The hotel seemed geared toward tourists. Our room was great - very large by European standards, and it was very cozy, clean, comfy, and quiet, with some nice and unexpected touches like a towel warmer in the bathroom, a mini-fridge, an iPad, wonderfully comfy bed, etc. The breakfast was terrific with tons of choices for all kinds of tastes. The staff was very helpful with directions, advice, recommendations about things to do, etc. The only downside in my opinion was the location - it was about a 20 minute walk to the Alt Stadt, and you had to pass a few seedy places in between the hotel and wherever you might be going for business or tourism. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

great location near the train station

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Ebookers
huge breakfast options and great location. recommended
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

perfect

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farnborough

Christmas markets

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Hotel was nice and comfy, very child friendly (our 2 year old threw plate on floor at breakfast and this was dealt with in a very kind way) Arrived early and was able to check in. After spending the day visiting Christmas markets in and around Salzburg in the rain was nice to be able to control heating in room to dry coats and buggy off the only disappoint was having to pay for expresso pods in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Location, Price, Comfort

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Location, room, breakfast.
Cons: Nil
Location: Close to train station, need some walking to the tourist sites.
Very close to the main station, but requires some walking (around 10-15 mins) to the sights. Chose the rooms which are in the main building. Reasonable room size and comfortable bed. Kettles and coffee machine provided. No free refills of the capsules though. Breakfast spread was ok. Hotel staff generally friendly. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hobary Tasmania

Comfortable hotel Clare she to the train station

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Wotif
Rooms look very tired but are clean and the bed was very comfortable. Substantial breakfast of excellent quality and a huge variety.