Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Traditional hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2017
We stayed for two nights. Although the hotel is outside the city, the local transportation was frequent and close by. The hotel staff were hospitable and gave recommendations. The room was spatios with balcony. The shower facility needs updating. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty. We recommend this hotel on your next trip to Salzburg
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Food was excellent. Location good on outside of city. Beds were hard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlisle, PA

Exceptional stay!

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Staff was wonderful! Room was spacious and comfortable. Exuding charm.
Cons: Availability of fans for the warmer nights would be nice.
Location: Just outside of Salzburg and all Salzburg has to offer. But I also encourage a visit to Hallstadt (an hour away).
We wanted to stay at a local gasthaus, not an international hotel. Doktorwirt was perfect. The room was large and spacious, even for three adults. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom clean. Backyard courtyard was relaxing. Lots of charm in this family-owned location. We'll strongly recommend this to our friends traveling to Salzburg!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
The breakfast served at this hotel was very nice. And the pool and outdoor areas were great! Unfortunately we were a bit unhappy with the bed, as it was quite hard and the pillows were very soft and thin! The room was well cleaned every day and all staff were friendly and helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place. Wonderful staff.

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: The staff. The garden.
Cons: When we first arrived, we had to wait a very long time for someone to come help us, even after ringing the little bell.
Location: Hiking. Touring Salzburg.
The Doktorwirt is in a nice neighborhood outside of Salzburg proper, siting at the base of a beautiful mountain. You can easily access hiking as well as the Salzburg bus system (a 3 minute walk from a bus station). The owners are amazingly friendly and helpful. We were even offered a free ride to a local attraction! Very nice. On Expedia the sauna is listed as a hotel amenity, but in truth it is an extra charge per person, so I was disappointed in that as that was one of the reasons I chose the hotel (I was looking for places with saunas and breakfast included), but that's more of a problem with Expedia. The breakfast is very nice. The rooms are small but ample. The beds are very firm. And if you stay, I would request a room facing their lovely garden (which, by the way has a gorgeous mountain view in the back), otherwise the views are just of the street.
5 out of 5
by david from San Francisco

Charming B&B near Salzberg

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
We onl viewsy stayed one night, and wished that we had more time to relax and enjoy this charming B&B/spa near Salzberg. The road approaching the hotel is very ordinary, but the hotel sits on a large lot with an outdoor patio , and lawn, in addition to the outdor and indoor pool, with views of the mountains near Salzberg.
5 out of 5
by Hongmei from San Francisco

Nice resort near Salzberg

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
We loved our brief stay in the Doctorvirt. The grounds are open with a beautiful view of the foothills. The spa and indoor pool looked appealing but we did not have time to use them. Our hosts spoke excellent English. The historic center of Salzberg is a few kilometers by bus or car.
5 out of 5
by Lorraine from Montana, USA

well pleased

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
This was a wonderful place to stay. It is just outside of the city, so it is quiet. The decor was beautiful and clean. The staff was friendly. The pool and breakast was nice. I would definetly stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Mark from Hull

Totally outstanding

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
This Hotel was excellent in every department. From location to cleanliness, food to friendliness i cannot fault this wonderful Austrian gem. Direct location for trails up into the mountains, 15min direct bus ride into the old town of Salzburg and a building which delights in it's nooks and crannies and all round wood panelling. Food was all local and fresh and excellently cooked...i had one of the set menu's .... The staff were all very helpful as well. I had set off with no intention of going to Austria but my original travel plans were disrupted by the refugee crisis. It's strange how things turn out...probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in..i'm already trying to work out some time off to go back for a longer stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel staff wasn't always around. But the hotel is lovely, and the breakfast was delicious!