Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Seng Kooi

Clean room with good service

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
We planned our Christmas holiday in Austria, and this is our first city started with. The hotel was good, room is clean and hotel stuffs are very friendly, helpful and serve with a smile. Heater working great, so don't worry about it even outside is very cold. Still, there're 2 factors need to consider if you want to choose this hotel. Location: It's quite far away from the attraction. 15-20 mins walk dist. from Train Station; 20-25 mins walk dist. from old town. If want to go old town by bus, you can get bus #2 at Sterneckstraße to Mirabellplatz then change other line to Hanusch-Platz. Or, you can get bus #4 at Grillparzerstraße, Schallmooser Hauptstraße, it will direct go to Hanusch-Platz. BTW, bus #2 can reach airport and train station too. Restaurants: Look at the google map then you will know there're only several choice for you to choose near the hotel. For our case is even worst, because most of the restaurant are closed during this holiday season, so it takes us some times to search for the food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest Seng Kooi, Thank you for your good review about your experience with our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are very happy you had a nice Christmas holiday in Austria and you liked our hotel. Especially your words about our friendly, helpful and smiling staff is a great pride in for our lovely team. Furthermore we are happy about your informations for other clients. The hotel is located in district "Schallmoos" in Salzburg. It is located in the north of the city-centre next by mountain "Kapuzinerberg". If you are travelling at Christmas holidays (24th, 25th, 26th December) please feel free to contact us in advance for any restaurant-recommendations and table-reservations. Furthermore we are offering a Christmas menue in our restaurant In(n)ovation, every year. It would be a pleasure to be your host at your next Salzburg trip, again. Best wishes, C. Richter Quality Manager
5 out of 5
by Olivia

Loved every minute!

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
We loved our visit to Salzburg and especially loved our hotel. The receptionist was great and she gave us a great idea for a day trip to a small gorgeous traditional Austrian town called Mattsee. It was a short bus trip away to a lovely village which had a beautiful setting and lake. The only criticism I had was the lack of sockets in the room but we made it work. Would definitely come back again. If you're booking this hotel request room 501 :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Olivia, Thank you so much for your amazing 5* review about your experience with our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are more than pleased you loved our hotel! More than you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Salzburg and Mattsee. Your valuable words about our great receptionist will be shared with the whole team. We do hope to welcome you back soon and send you sunny regards from the city of Mozart, C. Richter Quality Manager
5 out of 5
by Julie

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was AWESOME and the location was convient to the train station and old Salzburg
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest Julie, Thank you so much for your awesome review about our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are more than pleased to know you fully enjoyed your stay with us. Your valuable words about our team is just fantastic and we are proud to have made you a great time in this beautiful city. We will share your lovely feedback with our team-members and would be much more happy to welcome you back soon. Best wishes from snowy Salzburg, C. Richter Quality Manager
5 out of 5
by Grace

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest Grace, Thank you for your amazing 5* review about your experience with our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are more than pleased you fully enjoyed your time with us and we will share your rating with our engaged team. See you soon and best wishes for your new year 2017. C. Richter Quality Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, England

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Staff members
Location: Location is within 15 minutes walking distance from the city center, but because of the cold weather, it felt farther
Very nice, welcoming staff members who helped us with Salzburg card purchase, and even sent us our glove back that was accidentally left in our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest Minji, Thank you for your good 4* review about your experience with our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are very happy you enjoyed your time with our cordial guest-service through our engaged team. It is wonderful to know our staff have made you feel comfortable even after your departure. We wish you a Happy New Year 2017 and would be very pleased to welcome you back again. Best wishes from Salzburg C. Richter Quality Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland.ohio.usa

Ok

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Nice hotel. Nice check in. Nice check out.overall very good hotel.good location. 13 euro for parking hotel guest not nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest vito, Thank you for your good 4* review about your individual experience with our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Especially your praise about our nice guest-service through our team is a great pride in. We are happy to share your nice words with our staff-members. Have a wonderful Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. Best wishes from Salzburg C. Richter Quality Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget hotel close to old town

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful
Cons: There aren't any net curtains only blackout blinds
Location: 15 min walk to the centre of Salzburg old town
The room and hotel are fairly basic but it is a 15 min walk to the centre of Salzburg old town. The real problem with this hotel is that it is on a busy main road and the double glazing does nothing to keep the noise out. My wife and I both slept badly both nights and as all rooms face the road you cant be moved to one facing rearwards. You feel very much like a goldfish in a bowl, as there the road facing 'wall' is floor-to-ceiling full room-width windows
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest Paul, Thank you for your review about your stay in our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We feel very sorry your experience was not fully to your satisfaction. Please take our sincere apologize for any inconvenience. All rooms of our city-hotel are equipped with black-out-curtains and fabric-curtains. It is right, all windows are sound-proofed. The hotel offers different room-types, facing on street- and back-side. For more privacy we recommend to book a Superior Room. This room-type offers a private balcony, mini-bar included, luxury cosmetic-article and is faced on the back of the hotel. Please feel free to contact the reservation of Expedia to find your room belonging on your needs. They are happy to assist you with your booking anytime. Furthermore we are pleased to know you enjoyed our very friendly and helpful guest-service through our team. We are happy to share your feedback with our staff. Have a wonderful Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. It would be a pleasure to be your host again. Warm regards from Salzburg, C. Richter Quality Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
A little far from the hauptbahnhof when walking with bulky luggage. There was lingering smell of cigarette smoke along the ground level corridors which really irritated us. But we loved Salzburg!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your 4* review about your experience with our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are pleased you liked our hotel with its service-quality and you enjoyed your stay. The hotel is fully a non-smoking hotel. Smoking is allowed outside the hotel. If you are arriving by train, you can use the public bus (Obus) no. 2 to reach our hotel (take exit "Bayerhammerstrasse"). We love Salzburg, too and we do hope to welcome you back again. Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! Warm regards, C. Richter Quality Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austria salzburg

Nice relaxing hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2016
This hotel is well situated the staff are excellent good hotel recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest Rob, Thank you so much for your fantastic "nice relaxing hotel" review and your photos from our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We appreciate your feedback and are very pleased you fully enjoyed your time with us. See you soon and have a wonderful Christmas. Warm regards, C. Richter Quality Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your candid review. Please take our sincere apologize that your recent stay did not meet all expectations. It would be a pleasure to learn more about your stay to offer you a better guest-experience. We do hope to welcome you back again. Warm regards, C. Richter Quality Manager