Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Walking Distance from City Center

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Closeness to city center and town sight-seeing.
The hotel was a 15-minute walk from the city center although not on the most scenic street. You can also take a bus downtown which stops right outside the hotel. The room was clean, bright with a window facing the street and furnished with basic modern furnishings. Bathroom was spacious and clean as well. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful with tis on getting around the town although not very knowledgeable on how to work the TV or phone. Hotel very close to the train station (about 15-minute cab ride)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from London

Clean room with an excellent view

Posted May 23, 2017
Neat and clean room Not too far from city centre Very friendly staff at the reception All basic amenities were available
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extra charge which not specific by expedia

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: None I can think of. Self take water from lobby maybe but I only found out on the day I left.
Cons: Everything especially the service of staff here, I don't think we should pay for bad service.
Location: The location is a bit far from center and do have supermarket and convenient shop nearby so it better to find a hotel near the city or hbf.
The price here is over average but service and facilities not. And they will charge you a fees without let you know upfront, about 3 EURO per night. Besides, I had bad experience. I had moved from holiday inn munich city center to here and I left my stuff at there. They not able help me communicate well with the them even they under the same cooperation. Delay me for a day and no reponse at all. I only able to get my stuff with help of my friend still stay on holiday inn munich city center.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous guest, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please take our sincere apologize for any inconvenience you faced during your stay in our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We already shared your feedback with our team to improve our service-quality. Thanks for letting us know. You will find any extra-charges at each hotel-site under point "Charges". The additional charge of Salzburgs tourism tax/city tax is applicable with EUR 1.50 per person and night for every visitor at Expedia. The hotel is located in the north of the city-centre. Main Station is in a distance of 1.1km and the Oldtown 1.5km, walkable in 15-20 minutes. Furthermore Salzburg has a great public transportation system called Obus which brings you in a few minutes to your favorite sights. It would be wonderful to be your host again. Best wishes from the city of Mozart, C. Richter Quality Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2017
Lovely clean place....friendly staff great room service
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely 4* review about your stay in our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are very pleased you loved our clean and lovely place with friendly staff and great room service. Your motivating feedback will be shared with our team and it would be wonderful to welcome you back again. Best wishes from the city of Mozart, C. Richter Quality Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Perfect place to stay in Salzburg

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Center of city, on a Main Street, bus stops both ways, excellent staff, beautiful view from the room. Will definitely come back. Breakfast somewhat expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest Adolfo, Thank you so much for your amazing 5* review about your time in our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are more than pleased you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. Especially you loved our excellent guest-service and your view from your room. We will share your motivating review with our team and are happy to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, C. Richter Quality Manager
3 out of 5
by Seng Kooi

Clean room with good service

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
We planned our Christmas holiday in Austria, and this is our first city started with. The hotel was good, room is clean and hotel stuffs are very friendly, helpful and serve with a smile. Heater working great, so don't worry about it even outside is very cold. Still, there're 2 factors need to consider if you want to choose this hotel. Location: It's quite far away from the attraction. 15-20 mins walk dist. from Train Station; 20-25 mins walk dist. from old town. If want to go old town by bus, you can get bus #2 at Sterneckstraße to Mirabellplatz then change other line to Hanusch-Platz. Or, you can get bus #4 at Grillparzerstraße, Schallmooser Hauptstraße, it will direct go to Hanusch-Platz. BTW, bus #2 can reach airport and train station too. Restaurants: Look at the google map then you will know there're only several choice for you to choose near the hotel. For our case is even worst, because most of the restaurant are closed during this holiday season, so it takes us some times to search for the food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest Seng Kooi, Thank you for your good review about your experience with our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are very happy you had a nice Christmas holiday in Austria and you liked our hotel. Especially your words about our friendly, helpful and smiling staff is a great pride in for our lovely team. Furthermore we are happy about your informations for other clients. The hotel is located in district "Schallmoos" in Salzburg. It is located in the north of the city-centre next by mountain "Kapuzinerberg". If you are travelling at Christmas holidays (24th, 25th, 26th December) please feel free to contact us in advance for any restaurant-recommendations and table-reservations. Furthermore we are offering a Christmas menue in our restaurant In(n)ovation, every year. It would be a pleasure to be your host at your next Salzburg trip, again. Best wishes, C. Richter Quality Manager
5 out of 5
by Olivia

Loved every minute!

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
We loved our visit to Salzburg and especially loved our hotel. The receptionist was great and she gave us a great idea for a day trip to a small gorgeous traditional Austrian town called Mattsee. It was a short bus trip away to a lovely village which had a beautiful setting and lake. The only criticism I had was the lack of sockets in the room but we made it work. Would definitely come back again. If you're booking this hotel request room 501 :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Olivia, Thank you so much for your amazing 5* review about your experience with our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are more than pleased you loved our hotel! More than you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Salzburg and Mattsee. Your valuable words about our great receptionist will be shared with the whole team. We do hope to welcome you back soon and send you sunny regards from the city of Mozart, C. Richter Quality Manager
5 out of 5
by Julie

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was AWESOME and the location was convient to the train station and old Salzburg
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest Julie, Thank you so much for your awesome review about our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are more than pleased to know you fully enjoyed your stay with us. Your valuable words about our team is just fantastic and we are proud to have made you a great time in this beautiful city. We will share your lovely feedback with our team-members and would be much more happy to welcome you back soon. Best wishes from snowy Salzburg, C. Richter Quality Manager
5 out of 5
by Grace

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest Grace, Thank you for your amazing 5* review about your experience with our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are more than pleased you fully enjoyed your time with us and we will share your rating with our engaged team. See you soon and best wishes for your new year 2017. C. Richter Quality Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, England

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Staff members
Location: Location is within 15 minutes walking distance from the city center, but because of the cold weather, it felt farther
Very nice, welcoming staff members who helped us with Salzburg card purchase, and even sent us our glove back that was accidentally left in our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest Minji, Thank you for your good 4* review about your experience with our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are very happy you enjoyed your time with our cordial guest-service through our engaged team. It is wonderful to know our staff have made you feel comfortable even after your departure. We wish you a Happy New Year 2017 and would be very pleased to welcome you back again. Best wishes from Salzburg C. Richter Quality Manager