Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay with all the comfort in a historical hotel.

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
It is probably the most interesting and comfortable hotel I ever stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Interesting and attractive historic hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: I was worried about parking but we pulled up and the valet was over-the-top helpful and welcoming. I liked the historical chart in the internet room.
Cons: The only thing that was difficult was the noise from the busy street during the night.
Location: The location couldn't have been more central -right in the middle of Old Town.
We stayed one night here as part of our visit to the area. We ate at the hotel's casual restaurant and the food and service were excellent. The whole place was charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfort in a great location

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Spacious rooms and bathrooms, great service, very helpful, comfortable beds and clean,
Cons: Nothing. There were some roadworks outside but access was still easy.
Location: Reception staff gave us a map and a walking tour guide. Hotel was just a little up from Mozart's House on the same street. Gorgeous area.
So friendly, the most comfortable beds and located in the heart of the old town
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: Ideal location....parking is a constraint.
Hotel is 600 years old but look great for its age.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Perfect for exploring Old Town Salzberg

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Quaint, old world friendly charm. Just the right place to relax.
Cons: Make available in room coffee / tea making facilities.
Location: Based in the heart of Old Town Salzberg in the same road as Mozart's birth place. A very short walk to all of the historical builidng and museums.
A very charming hotel located on the main pedestrian shopping street in Old Town Salzberg. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food at breakfast and in the restaurant was very good. The room was of good size with air conditioning and an extremely comfortable large double bed. All in all the perfect location to base our explorations of Salzberg.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

THE choice to stay in Salzburg

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
No better place than the Goldener Hirsch to stay while you are in old Salzburg. PERFECT location in a historic setting
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great location Amazing Staff

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great historic hotel in an amazing location. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful with recommending thing to do, where to eat, and anything else one may need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

super nice hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: great location, great hotel decoration and good space
Cons: not ideal when driving have to unload luggage from back of hotel and carry about 30 yards through the hotel and small elevator
great ancient hotel with great staff. walk right outside to a shopping street in city center
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, New York

Lovely Old-Fashioned Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The location and the old-time charm. The breakfast also had a wide variety.
Cons: The internet connection was not stable sometimes.
Location: The hotel is in the heart of oldtown Salzburg and within walking distance to the bus stops. It is also on a pedestrian street and very quiet at night
The hotel is in a renovated historical building and full of old-time charm: the tiny elevator feels like a trunk (by the way, it does not reach the very top floor and we walked up), the zigzagging stairs make the building almost a maze, the distress looking furniture and old style wood door/lock all brings people back centuries. All these made our nine-year daughter very excited. Our room (exclusive room) was spacious even the sofa bed opened for our daughter. There was A LOT storage space. The staff there were professional and enthusiastic as well. Everything was smooth and the entire stay was very pleasant.