Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Great location, excellent rooms, very good restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Perfect Location

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Great location, right in the middle of Alstadt part of the city. Very friendly and helpful staff. Neat room decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
This is one of my favorite hotels of all time! I loved the lady who welcomed us and made sure we were comfortable and taken care of through out our stay. She was lovely. (Unfortunately I don't remember her name. Sorry.) We loved walking out of the hotel and being right in the center of everything. We were there during the Christmas Markets and literally we just walked down the cute little ally, crossed a small street and there was a market. I loved our unique decor, the delicious natural teas and toiletries. Salzburg in general was a lovely place to travel. The people are wonderful and the city is charming.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kind service

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The location was really heart of downtown so it was really convenient to hang around in the city. Every one in the hotel was kind also and English speaker.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barwon Heads, Victoria, Australia

Living in luxury

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Staff members, comfort, style
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Loads of concert halls, shops, restaurants within walking distance. This place was in the centre of the old town - perfect.
From the moment I arrived I felt welcomed and looked after - nothing was too much trouble and every question I had or booking I wanted made was quickly attended to. The room was gorgeous, comfortable, spacious and scrupulously clean. The shower was fabulous, kitchenette and IT facilities terrific, downstairs restaurant had the best beef steak I've ever tasted and the most superb local red wine (big call coming from an Aussie). This hotel is something completely different from anything I have ever experienced before. It was truly a lovely home away from home and made my stay in Salzburg perfect. Oh yes, and they have the Sound of Music permanently available on a video channel. Nice!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

welcoming and well designed

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely gem of a hotel with a cosy, well designed feel to the rooms. The room was spotless and bed was very comfortable. There is quite a bit of street noise in as my room was low and faced the street but manageable with earplugs. The TV had an English language channel that wasn't just the news and also played the sound of music which was brilliant to rewatch!
2 out of 5
by Anthony

Don't stay here in Summer...too hot too sleep

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Don't stay here in summer. We couldn't sleep as our room was far too hot and with open windows the noise from the restaurant and laneway below kept us awake. Stay here in the cooler months but definitely wouldn't recommend a summer stay.
5 out of 5
by Jeremy from New York

A jewel in the Alt Stadt

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Ulrike and her staff are wonderfully welcoming and attentive. Loved the location. The rooms are tastefully and whimsically updated with lovely furnishings that are anything but stuffy. The only downside to being in the Old Town during the summer is that people love to dine outside on the narrow cobblestone streets, which can be noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waco, Tx

Modern rooms in a charming ancient building

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Modern yet charming.
Location: The hotel is in the center of all the action in old Salzburg. The location couldn't be better.
Goldgasse is medieval alley-like street in Old Town that has been occupied by merchants for centuries. Nettled on this street, Hotel Goldgasse is a very modern hotel in an ancient building. Rooms are super clean, beds are comfy, bathrooms are very up-to-date, showers are fabulous, and the location in the center of Old Town makes sight-seeing in Salzburg easy. It has a small lift (take it to the reception area on the second level) and the hotel staff are excellent and speak English with ease. Our only complaint was the lack of air conditioning. We visited in mid-July and the days were quite warm, so the room was warm even with windows open. The nights, however, were cool and despite a bit of outside noise through the open windows, we slept very comfortably. This is a great boutique hotel with a small number of charming rooms. We recommend it.