Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect in Every Way

Posted May 23, 2017
This hotel has everything: great location in the Altstadt, friendly and welcoming personnel, beautiful & pleasantly quirky rooms themed to the famous Salzburg Festival of opera/concerts/theater and a top-notch restaurant with very atmospheric seating on the narrow cobblestone street. Our room, #43, was themed to the opera Il Trovatore and had a small terrace from which to enjoy morning coffee and evening drinks, or just to have a little time reading a good book. The in-room refrigerator was well-stocked (initial supply of beverages is included, after that, requires payment), and in-room coffee and tea were on hand, all of good quality. Very comfortable and pleasant, so highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Great location, excellent rooms, very good restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Perfect Location

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Great location, right in the middle of Alstadt part of the city. Very friendly and helpful staff. Neat room decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
This is one of my favorite hotels of all time! I loved the lady who welcomed us and made sure we were comfortable and taken care of through out our stay. She was lovely. (Unfortunately I don't remember her name. Sorry.) We loved walking out of the hotel and being right in the center of everything. We were there during the Christmas Markets and literally we just walked down the cute little ally, crossed a small street and there was a market. I loved our unique decor, the delicious natural teas and toiletries. Salzburg in general was a lovely place to travel. The people are wonderful and the city is charming.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kind service

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The location was really heart of downtown so it was really convenient to hang around in the city. Every one in the hotel was kind also and English speaker.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barwon Heads, Victoria, Australia

Living in luxury

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Staff members, comfort, style
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Loads of concert halls, shops, restaurants within walking distance. This place was in the centre of the old town - perfect.
From the moment I arrived I felt welcomed and looked after - nothing was too much trouble and every question I had or booking I wanted made was quickly attended to. The room was gorgeous, comfortable, spacious and scrupulously clean. The shower was fabulous, kitchenette and IT facilities terrific, downstairs restaurant had the best beef steak I've ever tasted and the most superb local red wine (big call coming from an Aussie). This hotel is something completely different from anything I have ever experienced before. It was truly a lovely home away from home and made my stay in Salzburg perfect. Oh yes, and they have the Sound of Music permanently available on a video channel. Nice!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

welcoming and well designed

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely gem of a hotel with a cosy, well designed feel to the rooms. The room was spotless and bed was very comfortable. There is quite a bit of street noise in as my room was low and faced the street but manageable with earplugs. The TV had an English language channel that wasn't just the news and also played the sound of music which was brilliant to rewatch!
2 out of 5
by Anthony

Don't stay here in Summer...too hot too sleep

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Don't stay here in summer. We couldn't sleep as our room was far too hot and with open windows the noise from the restaurant and laneway below kept us awake. Stay here in the cooler months but definitely wouldn't recommend a summer stay.
5 out of 5
by Jeremy from New York

A jewel in the Alt Stadt

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Ulrike and her staff are wonderfully welcoming and attentive. Loved the location. The rooms are tastefully and whimsically updated with lovely furnishings that are anything but stuffy. The only downside to being in the Old Town during the summer is that people love to dine outside on the narrow cobblestone streets, which can be noisy.