Ratings based on 1,112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Clean hotel between the train station & downtown

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Both places are an easy walk from the hotel. It is clean. Everyone was nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

convenient location, pleasant place, very nice

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: see above
Location: plenty of things to do nearby - art music history shopping gardens etc etc. Salzburg very civilized little city
very nice beer garden and restaurant part of the hotel. It was exactly what we wanted: convenient, clean, peasant but not ostentatious, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mclean VA, USA

Very close to everything by walking

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The staff were so polite, helpful and warm. They responded with all solutions to our questions or concerns. We were so happy to stay there and definitely would return
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and very good on-site restaurant

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Close to airport bus line and old city bus routes. Walking distance to most museums, shopping and attractions like castle tram. Room was quiet.
Cons: Only negative is some quiet rooms in the back have a view of the Salzburg rail yard. In the AM the Lobby may be crowded with a tour group
Location: Great location is walking distance to Train station and Motzart Museum. Make sure to get a city pass for the day(s) you plan to visit museums.
We enjoyed this quiet hotel 1/2 mile across the river from the old city. Half the time we just walked to the old city. Breakfast buffet was a good value. This hotel/restaurant has the only salad bar in Salzburg. Service in both the hotel and the restaurant was excellent. On a nice day try breakfast outside in the small beer garden,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Monika, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for this wonderful review and for choosing the IMLAUER & Bräu for your stay in Salzburg. It is good to see that you enjoyed your time both in Salzburg and in our hotel. The location of the hotel is indeed very comfortable and makes it easy to explore the city. Thank you for enjoying our breakfast buffet and our beautiful beer garden outside the Braurestaurant. I am sorry that you did not like the view from your room. As all rooms are equipped with sound proofed windows, there is no noise from outside, whether the rooms looks on to the railway or on to the street. Thank you for staying at the IMLAUER & Bräu. It would be great to welcome you again in the future. With kind regards, Monika Seibold, Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Hotel rooms have modern updates and are very clean

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Hotel is very clean and 5 minutes from train station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Monika, Hotel Management
Dear Ben, Thank you for your great satisfaction with your stay at the IMLAUER & Bräu and for your excellent review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your time in Salzburg and appreciated the convenient location of the hotel very much. Thank you for extra mentioning your satisfaction with the cleanliness in the hotel. It has been nice to have you as our guest and we would be delighted to welcome you again in the future. With kind regards, Monika Seibold, Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

Nice hotel to close everywhere

Posted Jun 14, 2016
We stayed at Hotel Imlauer for 2 nights. It's very conveniently located close to the central station, Mirabellplatz & old town. Everything can be done by foot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2016 by Monika, Hotel Management
Dear Janet, Thank you very much for your excellent review. I am very delighted that you have been our guest and had such a pleasant stay at the IMLAUER & Bräu. I am glad that the location of the hotel worked out for you so well and you are right: almost everything can be easily reached on foot. Thank you for staying with us. I would be delighted to see you again in the future. With kind regards, Monika Seibold, Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

A Great Hotel For Vacation

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: The hotel has great view of mountains, streets and railways scenery. I love it so much in the evening where you can see the beautiful street.
Cons: I was totally satisfied with the hotel but it could be better if the hotel has informed us that umbrella is available when rain comes.
Location: The location is about 15 min walk to the old town and the town is simply fulled of history and culture. Remember to bring your camera along!
A walking distance from train station to the hotel. A room with nice view facing train railways, mountains and streets. A hotel that offers great breakfast. A hotel that is walking distance to tourist attraction venues. We stayed there for 3 days 2 nights and we had wonderful days and purely short of time as we have to leave for Hallstatt. The first day, we walked to the old town of Salzburg and then 2nd day, we had followed the Sound of Music Tour which was astonishing and it took us 4 hours. We came back and wanted to take another tour for Lakes and Mountains Tour but the day was not good, it was raining and we had to cancel our tour but we still enjoyed so much of our time spent in this great town of Mozart.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Monika, Hotel Management
Dear Louis, We are so delighted about your wonderful review on your stay in Salzburg. Thank you for sharing your experiences. I am glad the location worked out so wonderful for you as it is in near walking distance to the beautiful Mirabell palace gardens, where most of the bus tours start. Thank you for the many kind words about our hotel. I am sorry you did not know that we have umbrellas to rent. I am very happy that you stayed at the IMLAUER & Bräu and it would be great to welcome you again, whenever you have the chance to come back to Salzburg. With kind regards, Monika Seibold, Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Doha Qatar

Nice Hotel But

Posted May 31, 2016
Few rooms like 108 are horrible. These should be sold at half price for guests who don't mind accepting these closed type rooms and save some money. Rooms like 58 are Awesome. I would love to stay again in this room with Mountain view
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2016 by Monika, Hotel Management
Dear Zatish, Thank you for visiting the IMLAUER & Bräu and for writing a review on your stay. I am sorry to hear that you did not like the room on the first floor. It is a very nice room but it has a view to a small courtyard. It offers the same equipment, all modern necessities and all amenities as all the other rooms. Please let us know with your next reservation that you prefer a room to the front side. Thank you very much for your feedback. We would be happy to welcome you again in the future. With kind regards, Monika Seibold, Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Close to centre of town

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Nice, clean, friendly hotel. Staff were helpful & friendly. Restaurant served good food & staff friendly. Limited choice of alcohol in restaurant
Location: Very close to Mirabel palace, couple min walk. Tours very close also. old town just 5 min walk. Lots of restaurants & cafes nearby
Great city, fell in love with it. Lots to see and do. Loved the cafe atmosphere. Great walks and tours to do. Waiters could be a little snooty but were fine. One downside is the amount of beggars in the street, although the do not annoy you. Will definitely be going back and perhaps hire a car to get around
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by Monika, Hotel Management
Dear Ellie, Thank you so much for this excellent review. It is very good to hear that you had e pleasant stay at the IMLAUER & Bräu and liked the location of the hotel so near the sightseeing spots of the old town. Thank you for your kind words about the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. I am very sorry to hear that some of them were snooty. That is a behavior we do not agree with and we will remind our staff of it. I am also delighted that you visited our Braurestaurant and found the food very delicious. It is a typical Austrian restaurant with traditional Austrian food and a great selection of beer. I will however pass your feedback of the lack of alcohol choices to my colleagues from the restaurant. It is very nice to hear that you would like to come and visit us again. Hiring a car is a good idea as there are so many beautiful sights around the city, but you can also very easily reach them by public busses. Thank you for visiting the IMLAUER & Bräu. It would be great to welcome you again in the future. With kind regards, Monika Seibold, Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but tight

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: Very clean.
Cons: The room was too small for the 2 single beds they squeezed into it.
Location: Right next to the old town and the canal. Short walk to see the sights.
Very clean room - hotel staff was great. Room was way too small - No matter where I putmy luggage it was in the way. Great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by Monika, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your good and kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the IMLAUER & Bräu. Thank you for mentioning your satisfaction with the cleanliness of the hotel and with our staff. I am sorry that the room was too small for your comfort. We have different room sizes and room categories and our staff will be very happy to help you find the perfect room for you. Just contact them with your next reservation. Thank you for your appreciation of the convenient location of the hotel. We would be very delighted to welcome you again in our hotel. With kind regards, Monika Seibold, Hotel Manager