Ratings based on 603 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Beautifully appointed room. Excellent location.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Great hotel, great location, value for money. Very happy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Armie-Angélique Lassiwe , Hotel Management
Dear Roy, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. I am pleased to hear you have enjoyed the location of our hotel, We are indeed in a lucky position, to offer our guests a special location next to the river and a short walking distance to the old town. We are very grateful that our guest can benefit from all this, which ultimately contributes to a memorable stay with us. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel constantly strives to meet your needs and expectations. We are therefore very happy that you have spent an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again hopefully soon. Sincerely, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AL

Perfect location and the best staff ever

Posted Mar 1, 2017
I booked this hotel with my girlfriend for two days and we enjoyed our time there and their spa was lovely, I highly recommend it. Their coffee shop and bar are also amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by Armie-Angélique Lassiwe, Hotel Management
Dear Naz, My team and I want to say thank you for your kind feedback! I am pleased to read your valuable feedback about the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. The hotel constantly strives to meet your needs and expectations and we are therefore happy that you and your girlfriend have spent an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you very much for highlighting your positive experience at the fitness club, the Café Sacher and the Sacher Bar. Furthermore I feel honoured about your comment “best staff ever” and I will make sure it is shared with the entire team. Dear Naz, we are all looking forward to many returns in the future. Best regards, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager
5 out of 5
by Jun Kyung

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by erin

True Austrian charm

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Sacher was the quintessential Salzburg hotel with Austrian hospitality and classic traditional design. The location couldn't have been more perfect right on the river and a short walk to the city center and the history behind the building and it's ties to the original Sacher Torte just added to it's charm. The staff couldn't have been more accomodating, even helping us to find a bandage when we returned from skiing with a minor cut. I will be sure to recommend Hotel Sacher to anyone visiting Salzburg in the future and hope to return myself one day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Erin, Thank you very much for having taken the time to review your stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. I am delighted to read your valuable feedback about the character and charm of the hotel. We absolutely agree that the historic flair is truly unique and therefore enables a true Sacher experience. We are very happy to hear that you could benefit from this experience. Furthermore I am delighted about your lovely comment about our staff and service and I will make sure it is shared with the entire team. Dear Erin, I hope that your cut healed properly and that you are fit for many future skiing adventures. I am very much looking forward for many returns to the Hotel Sacher Salzburg! Warm regards, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Beautiful hotel in great location

Posted Feb 13, 2017
This hotel is a classic. Located right along the river with beautiful views. The hotel rooms are big and comfortable. Many have been updated. The staff is incredibly accommodating. Highly recommend the hotel both for comfort and location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Armie-Angélique Lassiwe, Hotel Management
Dear Ella G, My team and I want to say thank you for the lovely feedback! I am pleased to read your valuable feedback about the staff at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. The hotel constantly strives to meet your needs and expectations and we are therefore happy that you would recommend our hotel for comfort and location. We are indeed in a lucky position, to offer our guests a special location next to the river and a short walking distance to the old town. We are very grateful that our guest can benefit from all this, which ultimately contributes to a memorable stay with us. It was an honour to welcome you in our hotel and we are all looking forward to many returns in the future. Best regards, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel,close,to historic neighborhood of Salz

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Everything. For those travelers concerned about cleanliness of hotels, no worries. SPOTLESS !
Location: Exit hotel, walk across the bridge and you are in the old quarter. Enjoy. Very close to train for journey to the next city - less than 10 euros.
The hotel,was,classic luxury European hotel in a historic city. The check-in experience gave a hint of what to expect in respect to the high quality service of the staff. The check-in clerk was very friendly and inquired of our interests in the city. After receiving a map, she marked where to walk and where the hotel was in relation to the historic section. She also made sure to explain restaurant options as well before escorting us to our room. Shortly thereafter the bags arrived. Room decor was very classic and comfortable. We ate dinner at the club - wife you are tired from journey we (which we were) we enjoyed the famous burger, beers, then went into the cafe for the equally famous Satcher torte (among other things). Of course the bed was turned down. Bed comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. The next morning, we ate breakfast in the main dining room. The buffet was great, but service over the top attentive. The staff allowed us a half hour late checkout, and the concierge watched our bag while we continued to tour. When we were checking out I offhand mentioned that we wanted to leave the hotel at 315pm for our 4pm train. When we arrived to pick up our bags, the taxi was already there - they called ahead. Just a wonderful experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Armie-Angélique Lassiwe, Hotel Management
Dear New York area t, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. I am happy to hear you have enjoyed the location of our hotel, We are indeed in a lucky position, to offer our guests a special location next to the river and a short walking distance to the old town. We are very grateful that our guest can benefit from all this, which ultimately contributes to a memorable stay with us. Furthermore I am honoured to read your lovely words about the service and the staff at our hotel. I am delighted that you have showcased our true Sacher excellence and I will make sure your wonderful feedback is shared with the entire team. It was an honour to welcome you in our hotel and we are all looking forward to many returns in the future. Best regards, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager
4 out of 5
by Basil

A splendid hotel in the centre of town

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely imposing hotel in the centre of Salzburg. Rooms are cosy, comfortable, quiet and all full of amenities. A short walk from the old town, the Funicular railroad up to the Fortress and from the Mirabell Palace. Our only complaint was that they recommend the bar and restaurant yet on the evening we arrived both were out of action because of a Ball that was being held in the hotel yet we were not informed of this when we checked in nor when we booked. Hence 4 and not 5 out of 5. Otherwise we would have said 5/5. Don't miss trying the traditional deserts including the famous Sacher Torte in the Hotel's café. Don't forget that Austria still allows smoking in bars including the hotel's bars - might prove just too smoky for some.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Basil, First of all we would like to thank you for having taken the time to write such a lovely review about the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel constantly strives to meet your needs and expectations. We are therefore very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we are honored about your comment concerning the comfort of our rooms. Furthermore I am delighted to hear that you could benefit from our location next to the River Salzach, which not only offers you a lovely view but also a short walking distance into the old town of Salzburg. Please kindly allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced in regards to the ball we hosted at the hotel on the evening of your arrival. Your feedback is very important to us and therefore I will make sure that for future occasions like these, our staff will inform our guests better. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again hopefully soon. Warm regards, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Jan 20, 2017
After arriving I had a couple of little issues. The staff and management were great and dealt with them straight away. Excellent service!! Would defo stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Armie-Angélique Lassiwe, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you very much for having taken the time to review your stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. I am pleased to read that an inconvenience upon your arrival has been treated quickly and professionally and that you therefore could enjoy your stay at the hotel. Furthermore I am delighted that you could enjoy the location of our hotel. It is right that we are in the lucky position to offer our guests a short walking distance into the old town of Salzburg as well as a marvelous view. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again hopefully soon. Warm regards, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Insultingly bad

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
Very hard to believe that such an expensive and well regarded hotel could be so completely inept in all areas of service. You can't get a taxi called, you can't get your luggage taken in (or out), you can't get a car ordered and unless you want to have it in the hotel, you will struggle to get a dinner reservation made. Special requests made at time of booking were ignored, the hotel does not seem to have a concierge. Emails are ignored, phone calls are not returned. During the holidays when we were there, the hotel's contracted drivers were refusing to transfer hotel guests. The only thing that went well was the new year's gala dinner, which to be fair was actually very special The room was compact, clean and nicely appointed. The bathroom was very nice but it was impossible to go to the toilet without falling out the door. Ceilings are very low and carpets have been pulled up to be replaced with cheap hard-wearing rugs. Other rooms seemed to still have the old carpets though so maybe they are half way through replacing them. Be warned that "city view" apparently does not mean views of salzburg city. It means views of the dirty buildings in the street behind the hotel. As all the rooms I can see on hotels.com have "city views", there seems no way to book Hotel Sacher Salzburg on hotels.com and be able to see a view worth seeing. This is the third worst hotel experience we have ever had, and the 3rd most expensive room we have ever stayed in. Says it all, really.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, First of all I want to thank you very much for having taken the time to review your stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. Your feedback is extremely important for us in order to improve and maintain our high standards. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel constantly strives to meet your needs and expectations. I am therefore very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations at all. To start with the positive aspects, I am happy that you have enjoyed your evening at our New Year’s Eve Gala Dinner and your room. Please kindly allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay in regards to the taxi situation. It is right that during the time of your stay, it was sometimes extremely difficult to order taxis, waiting time was up to 1.5 hours. However please note that this was the case in the whole town and our staff were really trying their best. Furthermore I want to apologize for your experience in regards to the personnel of the hotel. Our concierge is happy to assist you in organising your stay in Salzburg perfectly, including table reservations outside the hotel. I am sorry that in your case, they did not treat you as you wished to be. Dear Anonymous, I really hope that you will give us another chance to showcase our true Sacher excellence. When making a future reservation request, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will personally take care of your well being. Sincerely, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager
4 out of 5
by Matthias

old warm charming hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
very good experience to stay at this old fashioned type Sacher Salzburg
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Matthias, Thank you very much for having taken the time to review your stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. I am delighted to read your valuable feedback about the ambiance of the hotel. We absolutely agree that the old flair is truly unique and therefore enables a true Sacher experience. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed this experience. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg soon. Warmest regards, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager