Ratings based on 495 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, MN

Beautiful, historical hotel on the river.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
The hotel staff was amazing. They went over and above to make sure our stay was absolutely perfect. The room was gorgeous, and the hotel was perfectly situated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Old world & very traditional

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Hotel very busy during Salzburg music festival which put a strain on staffing particularly at breakfast time. The hotel seemed to have many regular wealthy & elderly guests who tended to be a priority. Public rooms & tables were often reserved for particular guests & parties. Good location & easy access to old Salzburg. Very clean hotel & spa facilities. The staff were professional & responded to queries. The hotel is very "old world" & formal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2016 by Armie-Angélique Lassiwe, Hotel Management
Dear SD, Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg and for sharing your feedback with us which is always very much appreciated. As you already mentioned the summer music festival takes place from July to August in Salzburg. Our highest attention is to find a way to provide an excellent service for all our guests. Therefore, I am really sorry that you had the impression that other guests were being prioritized. We absolutely agree that the old flair and charm is truly unique and therefore enables a true Salzburg experience. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and facilities of the hotel. The hotel constantly strives to meet your needs and expectations and we are therefore happy that we were able to achieve this. Even more I am very sorry that your experience did not meet your full expectations. Please kindly allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you might have had experienced regarding our breakfast service. I can ensure you that I will follow up with my team very carefully on your remarks to prevent any future occurrence. We are really looking forward to welcome you again at Hotel Sacher Salzburg to convince you of our highest service and quality. Yours sincerely Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, first class hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Awesome location - easy to get to everything. Old world charm delivers first class experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2016 by Armie-Angélique Lassiwe, Hotel Management
Dear Tony, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. My team and I want to say thank you for the lovely feedback via Expedia! It is indeed heart-warming to receive positive comments such as yours. We absolutely agree that the old flair and charm is truly unique and therefore enables a true Salzburg experience. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and facilities of the hotel. The hotel constantly strives to meet your needs and expectations and we are therefore happy that we were able to achieve this. We are indeed in a lucky position, to offer our guests a special location next to the Salzach river, sun terraces all day long and a short walking distance to the old town, as well to the wonderful Mirabell gardens. We are very grateful that our guests can benefit from all this which ultimately contributes to a memorable stay with us. My team and I would be delighted to welcome you back in the future. Warmest regards, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service as expected from Sacher

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Excellent, convenient location., Great staff . Elegant well- kept historical hotel. A little cramped hotel with mostly small rooms, so expect this. Great food/restaurants in the hotel. Recommendations regarding tours or restaurants outside not great and ended up in a disappointing sound of music tour and a subpar dining experience. Otherwise the breakfast in- hotel was right on and the service was great. Everyone was so helpful, professional and eager to help. We even had the bags packed in the car ready for us to go when we returned from the tour! So efficient and thoughtful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2016 by Armie-Angélique Lassiwe, Hotel Management
Dear Mayrate, Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your visit at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. We absolutely agree that the old flair and charm is truly unique and therefore enables a true Salzburg experience. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and facilities of the hotel. The hotel constantly strives to meet your needs and expectations and we are therefore happy that we were able to achieve this. We are indeed in a lucky position, to offer our guests a special location next to the Salzach river, sun terraces all day long and a short walking distance to the old town, as well to the wonderful Mirabell gardens. We are very grateful that our guest can benefit from all this which ultimately contributes to a memorable stay with us. On the other hand we are very sorry that you were not fully satisfied with our recommendations. Kindly allow us to apologize for any inconvenience you have had experienced especially with the disappointing sound of music tour. We feel very sorry that the room size did not fully meet your expectations. Rest assured that we do our outmost every day to offer a first-class service to all our guests and we would love to keep your comment in mind for our further renovations. Therefore we would like to thank you for your input. This helps my team and me to improve our room standards on a daily basis. I am delighted to read your positive comments about your breakfast experience and that you enjoyed your time with us. It is a joy and very motivating for the entire Sacher Team to receive such a kind feedback. I will make sure this is shared with the entire team. It was an honour to welcome you at our hotel and my team and I are all looking forward to many returns. Best regards, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury with super friendly staff

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Perfect location for a weekend break! Friendly staff and clean room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Angélique, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, First and foremost we would like to thank you for having taken the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted to read your valuable feedback about the quality of our service. Indeed we are striving to give our guest a “break” from their daily life as you correctly said, and we try to achieve a “home away from home” feeling. We also appreciate your feedback about the room cleanliness. Should there be anything we can ever assist with, perhaps planning your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact me and my team. It was an honour to welcome you. Best regards, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 神戸市 日本

ロケーションとフロントスタッフの対応が良い

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: 到着した日に足首の軽い捻挫をしてしまいましたが、夕方の清掃(ベッドメーキングが二回あります)時に担当の方に氷をお願いしてころ直ぐに持ってきてくれました。翌朝にフロントで、その後どうですかと聞かれて、最初は何のことかと思ったのですが、氷の件が申し送られていたようです。連携したサービスに関心しました。
Cons: 特に無し。
Location: 空港からバスで旧市街にある停留所のHanusch-Platzに着き、橋を渡ればホテルに直ぐ着きます。ホテルから歩いて二分のMarionettentheaterの人形劇は圧巻でした。サウンドオブミュージックを見ましたが、大人が見ても楽しめます。観光客向けか、ドイツ語ではなく英語で上演されます。
Salzach川に面し、旧市街まで橋を渡って直ぐの絶好のロケーションです。フロントでコンサートのチケットの手配をお願いしたら、直前に依頼したにもかかわらず、良い席を確保してくれました。Expediaのキャンセル不可の格安の部屋を予約しましたが、Festung Hohensalzburgが窓から見える部屋で、大変良かったです。
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Armie-Angélique Lassiwe, Hotel Management
Dear Kyoji, Thank you very much for having chosen the Hotel Sacher Salzburg for your stay in Austria and for taking the time to give us feedback. We truly appreciate every feedback in order to constantly define areas for improvement. I am delighted to read your valuable feedback about your impressions. We are extremely honoured to read that you liked our services and hotel. We are aware that with a long history, many changes needed to be introduced, but are happy to read that our guests still get the chance to experience the old time charm with a modern twist. We are very happy that we managed to exceed your expectations and that you clearly had a fabulous vacation whilst in Salzburg. We are indeed in a lucky position, to offer our guests a special location next to the Salzach river, sun terraces all day long and a short walking distance to the old town, as well to the wonderful Mirabell gardens. We are very grateful that our guest can benefit from all this and ultimately contribute to a memorable stay with us. I personally want to thank you for your kind words about my team! Such honest impressions are very motivating for the whole Sacher Team! Dear Kyoji we furthermore hope that you recover quickly from your sprain and would be delighted to welcome you back to the Sacher Salzburg in the near future. Warm regards, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exquisite Old World hotel with exceptional service

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: We loved the Old World charm and decor, warm and friendly staff, and convenient location.
Cons: Absolutely nothing!
Location: The location is fantastic - less than 5 minute walk to cross the bridge to Old Town; 2 minute walk to Mirabell Gardens.
I visited Salzburg with my two young daughters and we were enchanted with the Hotel Sacher. The staff greeted us warmly and offered us an upgrade to a deluxe suite, which was huge, even for American standards. The room was beautifully decorated with antiques, but offered modern luxury with a bed and bathroom to rival the Four Seasons. We had a gorgeous view of Old Salzburg, chocolate welcome gifts, and staff that was so helpful and friendly. And the A/C worked well (it was 90 in Salzburg)!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Angélique, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. Also a big thanks to you for the positive review about our hotel rooms and that we were able to make you feel like home. We are delighted to read that you liked the interior design and the modern amenities in our rooms. It brings us great joy to read such positive words directly from our guests. We are indeed in a lucky position, to offer our guests a special location next to the river, sun terraces all day long and a short walking distance to the old town. We are very grateful that our guest can benefit from all this and ultimately contribute to a memorable stay with us. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Sacher Salzburg soon. Warmest regards, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Clemente, CA

Beautiful Hotel with a perfect location.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
This Hotel is within walking distance of all tourist attractions. Beautiful town and outstanding food. We loved Salzburg.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Angélique, Hotel Management
Dear G, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted to read your positive comments about the Sacher Salzburg and that you enjoyed your time with us. I am pleased to read your valuable feedback about our beloved city Salzburg. We are indeed in a lucky position, to offer our guests a special location next to the river, sun terraces all day long and a short walking distance to the old town. We are very grateful that our guest can benefit from all this and ultimately contribute to a memorable stay with us. It was an honour to welcome you at our hotel and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back again. Best regards, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Located on river near Old City Centre

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Superb location for visiting Salzburg. Very attentive staff who helped with tours anddinner reservations. Wonderful stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Angélique, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, First and foremost we would like to express our gratitude for your kind words. We are indeed in a lucky position, to offer our guests a special location next to the river, sun terraces all day long and a short walking distance to the old town. We are very grateful that our guest can benefit from all this and ultimately contribute to a memorable stay with us. Additionally, I will pass on our wonderful feedback to our Front Office Team. I am really delighted that we very able to make your stay a delightful one. Dear Anonymous, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the very near future. Yours sincerely, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

丁寧な対応でとても良かったです

Posted Jul 4, 2016
スタッフの対応が丁寧でとても良かったです。 お部屋は小さめでしたが、ウエルカムフルーツと小さなザッハトルテが用意してあり嬉しかったです。 Wifiも部屋ではしっかり入りましたが、朝食時にテラスに出たらつながりませんでした。
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2016 by Armie-Angélique Lassiwe, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. I am happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg. It brings us great joy to read from our guests that they have enjoyed their visit. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Sacher Salzburg again soon. Warmest regards, Armie-Angélique Lassiwe General Manager