Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Retreat to serenity & peacefulness

Posted Jul 9, 2017
A great retreat from the hustle and bustle of life. The serenity of the lake, the beauty of the property and to live in a piece of the big screen history is not only fun but very relaxing. An easy walk to all the city center of Salzburg offers, but the peacefulness of feeling like you are in the country. And even though there is no restaurant on the property, right next door are two unassuming, but fantastic dining choices. For those wanting to escape the high tech, the craziness of everyday life -- you'll enjoy the nostalgia of the intimate cafe and real life keys to your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Calm setting , easy check in and good breakfast would recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ontario canada

beautiful location

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: fabulous elegant place.
Cons: AC on the 3rd floor of the riff raff section where we were. it would not be comfortable in very hot weather. but the rest of our experience made up fo
Location: hiking into Salzburg is fabulous.
gtrat place to stay. stunningly beautiful rural setting. great place to get exercise walking into town over a mountain with a castle on top.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Beautiful grounds and wonderful staff Very helpful, lovely location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AUS

Dream come true

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location Grounds Facilities
Location: Restaurants super close Main town was a 30 minute walk or 15 minute taxi.
I chose this hotel as I am a huge fan of the movie 'Sound of Music' and knew that this hotel was one of the locations. When I arrived I found the staff to be very helpful, the room was clean and comfortable (I had a single room with ensuite) and the surrounding area was just beautiful. This hotel is not in town but I found it easy to walk to and from. I also really enjoyed walking around the location of the hotel. The breakfast is served in a beautiful room in the palace. Overall Inreally enjoyed my time in the hotel and will be coming back again.
5 out of 5
by Delfina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breathtaking view and Lovely Historical Mansion

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Part of the "The Sound of Music" scenery, a 3 days stay for our anniversary. The view from hotel and the like is breathtaking. The standard room we stayed is roomy and cozy, dedicate heather for room and toilet the only thing is a bit of "simple" feeling compares to the design and decor of main building and lobby etc. There is a lovely Austrian cafe/restaurant right besides the hotel too. At the end, given that the special location of the hotel, driving your car there would be a better option. (Then you can park your car and enjoy the view)
5 out of 5
by david

Stay at a castle with all of the perks!

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was amazing! Breakfast in The Ballroom is fantastic...the food was out of this world and the service was impeccable. It was raining during our stay and they had plenty of nice umbrellas for us to borrow and use all day. We also used the bicycles that they have there for the guests to use for free and had a lovely ride around the lake. We spent one evening exploring the palace part of the grounds. Your room key gets you into the palace any time, day or night, so we had a fun time roaming around in the evening and seeing the beautiful architecture, library, furniture, paintings etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: The breakfast buffet is delicious. We loved that the hotel offered bikes. The location is prefect- an easy walk to town or a short bike ride.
Cons: The bed isn't terribly comfortable.
We had a great visit and would stay there again without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

very special, truly romantic, right by the lake

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Everything! Access to the Schloss 24/7 and... The Breakfast at the Schloss ~ you don't have that all the time
Cons: Staff and Location: Please stay as friendly and unique as you are!
Location: Walking distance (up the hill) to Burg and Oldtown. We were surprised about the opening hours of the little shops and cafe's - too early in the winter
The really friendly staff made us feel like we are the owners of this beautiful and historic place! If you like the Salzburger Festspiele and "Sound of Music" - this is the place to stay!!! Bring (walking) boots and a warm coat when you go in the winter time - You never know :o)