Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle USA

Great location; good for the price.

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Add fans to the room. Also close off the outside courtyard in front of the entrance at midnight. People do not need to have conversations at 2:00 Am
Location: Tons of stuff around historic Salzburg to do.
I stayed during a hot summer week. Not the best place to stay during the summer especially if the weather is hot. Pros: Free Wi-Fi , great location. The price as appropriate for what I paid. Room was clean. Cons: Rooms had no fans; were very hot during a warm summer week. It's also difficult to sleep at night when you hear people talking in the middle of the night in the courtyard entering the hotel (along with all the nightclubs/restaurants in the vicinity). Smokers (from the courtyard) having their smoke wift up into the rooms. Overall, I thought the place was OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, excellent location

Posted Sep 23, 2014
The hotel was nice and clean, excellent location, 5 min walk to city center and also to Mirabell platz ( where tours start), good breakfast and very nice and helpfull staff. As many people erote before it is too noisy at night, you cam hear everything from the bars and people passing by, even with the windows closed! So no good night sleep! Other than that it was great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

OK Dorm room

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Easy walking location to points of interest in Salzburg and a number of restaurant options nearby.
Cons: See above.
Location: City sights (get the Salzburg Card if you want to see it all.)
Spent 4 nights here. Staff quite helpful. Room was bare bones--clean, hard bed, thin pillows, two hard chairs. Smoking from lobby drifted up to room on third floor-- and room was a non-smoking room. Noisy night foot traffic from club on street below. Also noisy mornings (6am trash collection.)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX USA

Great location. Noisy. Little sleep.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Location is great. You're close to everything there is to see in Salzburg.
Cons: Cleaning of rooms and shared bath could be improved. Make the hotel a non-smoking facility.
Location: Location is great. Within walking distance to most Salzburg attractions.
The hotel does a high volume clientele through the summer. The hotel is in a great location on a pedestrian walkway with shops and restaurants right outside the door. The walls are thin and you hear a lot of the outdoor noises and indoor movement late at night of people dining and partying outside as well as in the very early morning hours of trucks making deliveries and garbage trucks picking up trash. I think because the turnover of the rooms is quick, the cleaning of them is very mediocre. I could tell the room was not swept or mopped in days, maybe weeks as there was an accumulation of hair, dust, lint collecting along the wall and the floorboards. This was also evident in the shared bathroom. Walls and floors were marked up from luggage and dirty handprints on the white walls. It doesn't take too much to remove them, but again, it looks like an accumulation from the summer hotel traffic. Not sure I'd recommend the hotel. I'd tell others to shop around first.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for solo travel

Posted Sep 27, 2013
I really loved the location of the hotel and the authentic, historical feel. It's perfect for someone traveling solo and the price range was pretty decent...not luxurious by any means-- but definitely clean and comfortable. Only downfall was the staff wasn't very engaging or helpful...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice hotel with reasonable price

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: Breakfast
It's not fancy at all, but clean and nice location, also nice breakfast. Very pleased to stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and breakfast!

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Very pleasant place! Would have liked to stay longer,??
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from CT

The hotel is in an excellent location.

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Great location.
Cons: The room quality could have been better.
Location: It was right off the main street with plenty of shopping and eating choices right outside the hotel.
The night staff was great. The day guy didn't seem to really want to be there. The bed was poor. The so called mattress was not comfortable and the bed frame made lots of noise any time the bed moved even slightly. All in all, I would stay at the hotel again based on its location, price and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Oregon

We really liked staying here!

Posted Oct 5, 2012
This is a dormitory being used as a hotel in the off-season. That said, it's a REALLY nice dorm and the location is fantastic! Perfect even! Our room was large, quiet, had nice linins and a very nice bathroom. There was no sense of any smoking in the room, but there was definitely a permeating amount of current smoke in the lobby and higher floors that you could almost feel in the room. That was my only negative. Staff spoke English, were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was extremely basic but fine, and the coffee was excellent! Excellent value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean cozy place to be close to everything!

Posted Sep 11, 2012
it's a great place seriously, close to the train station and all the sites. Very clean and comfy . the only thing is if you want a luxury hotel this is not the place but if you are looking for a good cozy place, close to everything this is a place. The staff are supper nice and friendly, and everything for me was supper although it had one star, my first one star experience was great !!! They said U only can get the internet access from the lobby and even had a great signal in my room.....ohh also the neighborhood is very nice