Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fukuoka

街の中心に近いところにありながら、森の中の静かな場所にある古城ホテル

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: スタッフの対応がフレンドリー。アットホームな暖かさがある。
Cons: オートロックになればもっといい。
Location: 森の中で朝夕散歩できる。
まずホテルに到着したらウエルカム・シャンパンでお出迎え。スタッフのにこやかな笑顔に癒やされます。朝起きたら鳥のさえずりが心地よい。朝食も充実し、夕食も豪華でおいしい。ホテルのロビーや部屋は個性ある家具が並び、泊まって良かったと思えるホテルでした。
5 out of 5
by Sharon from kentucky

getaway

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was amazing. They treated you wonderfully. It was also in great location amazing views.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

A magical stay in Salzburg

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: Virtually everything
Location: It is necessary to use the lift located about a ten minute walk away to get into the heart of the city. The hotel gave us a pass for this.
This is by far the best European hotel we've stayed in. Service was personal, genuine, pleasant and certainly excellent in this beautifully maintained Schloss overlooking the city. We were upgraded to a suite on the top floor since this was a fairly slow couple of weeks in Salzburg. Staying on the terrace to read or have a bowl of soup or just a glass of water was pleasant and comfortable in the sunshine. Breakfast was a joy with plenty of choice and a view over the city. We had the tasting menu one night. It was inventive and delicious served with care. We felt the food to be of a Michelin star standard. Yes, this is expensive, but it truly is value for money if you are lucky for something special.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Austrian High

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. The staff was very attentive, friendly, and gracious. The 9 course progressive dinner was absolutely delightful and the experimental wine pairings were a bonus. A pleasant stroll to the MOMA and a lift ride through the mountain down to the old town. Perfect all around.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtel agréable

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Très bon hôtel au-dessus de Salzbourg avec une vue splendide , des aménagements de luxe , un confort excellent et un personnel très aimable . A y retourner sans hésiter
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Verdiente 5 Sterne S

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Hat ein Hotel 5 Sterne, sollte man sich Perfektion erwarten können. Im Schloss Mönchstein Hotel ist dies der Fall. Vom ausgesprochen freundlichen, sehr gut ausgebildetem Personal bis zum geräumigen Zimmer, der absoluten Nachtruhe und hervorragenden Schlafqualität, dem Charakter des Gebäudes und des Hotels insgesamt, überall fühlt man sich wohl und in perfekter Gastfreundschaft beherbergt. Ein Genußaufenthalt rundum.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Wonderful stay. The front desk people were exceptionally nice and helpful
5 out of 5
by Peter from Graz

Ein Highlight

Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Hotels
Perfekte Lage in Salzburg, wunderschöner Ausblick und dennoch ist alles in der Stadt fußläufig erreichbar. Sehr nettes Service. Tolles Schlossambiente mit moderner Ausstattung.
5 out of 5
by Sofia from Anonymous

Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels
It was wonderful although the was far, they make easy by giving you pass for the lift to take down, right in the heart of the city
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairhope, AL

Absolutely perfect.

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Service, our room, the breakfast.
Cons: Can't really think of anything.
Location: Close to Salzburg old town; look in any guide book for info about this beautiful tourist destination.
We booked this hotel for a January stay, anticipating the snow. The hotel is, as you can guess from the pictures, up on the mountain overlooking Salzburg. The views are fantastic. I was concerned at first because we like to walk so much, and I thought we would either need to negotiate lots of stairs late at night, walk along the winding road, or get a cab, but there's a convenient elevator in the nearby modern art museum that gets one up and down to street level easily. We hiked one morning to the fortress, not too far away on the mountain. Service was excellent - the staff took our bags to the room while we enjoyed a complimentary beverage in the cozy bar. We ate at the restaurant the first night, and both the food and service were excellent. The breakfast includes a buffet and a la carte items, all served in the restaurant with a beautiful view. Our room overlooked the city, and had one of the newly refurbished bathrooms, which was very nice - heated floors, heated towel bar, overhead rain shower, nice bathrobes/slippers as well. We had a nice fruit bowl in the room that was kept stocked with the grapes we kept eating. This is a lovely hotel, and certainly worth a splurge for the special experience.