Ratings based on 1,300 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Room was totally different from the photos on its website. Old furnitures, very simple, no bath amenities, no place in the bathroom to put things, cracking floor, view of an ugly roof top, safe was locked when we came, they were out of key cards so they gave us only one. Definitely not a 4 star hotel, Maximus I would give it is low tier 3 star. The good things were location, super-friendly and helpful staff at reception and breakfast, and a nice free DVD library at the lobby. My recommendation - stay away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: a little pricey
I booked a single room, was very basic, clean and all that I needed for my short stay in Salzburg. It was centrally located and walking distance to everything. Great breakfast that was included and had wonderful steam room and sauna facilities
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location excellent

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clayton, CA

Pretty hotel but needs updating

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Location and breakfast
Cons: Air conditioning, furniture/decor updated, shower door/curtain added.
Location: Near old town, shopping, the river, the gardens
The location of the hotel is great - walking distance to the old town, gardens, etc. The outside of the building and lobby is charming. The room we had (balcony room) was furnished with older pieces, and had NO air conditioning. Morning breakfast was nicely done.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Wotif
Not what we had expected for a four star superior room which averaged out at just under 200 euros a night. We were very disappointed in our room as although roomy it was very old fashioned, no air conditioning despite the weather being extremely hot and the TV was not really functional. The staff were very nice and the breakfast was delicious and the restaurant staff very nice. We were mean't to stay a week but decided to look elsewhere and found the Crown Plaza Hotel was cheaper and in a totally different category which is what we had expected from the Wolf- Deitrich Hotel. Would certainly not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Outdated hotel in a good location

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Location, parking, breakfast.
Cons: The rooms in the old building with new toilets, shower stalls that fit a regular adult and at least a window fan or air conditioner.
Location: It is at walking distance of most attractions (Salzburg is a small town). There are also a lot of shopping and restaurants nearby.
I stayed in a single room in the older, original building of the hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room however was a disappointment, especially the bathroom. The shower stall was so small I could barely fit in and I kept bumping against the lever and shutting down the shower even though I am not a big guy (5'6"-168 cm/150lbs-68kg). The toilet was an old model I first saw in Moscow back in 1975, very disgusting and smelly as the feces instead of going in the water just sit on a plateau, to make things worse it is coupled with one of those flushing systems ostensibly design to save water but which end up wasting more as it requires several flushes to accomplish the task. Finally, no air conditioner which may not be an issue most of the time but it will make the room very uncomfortable in any stretch of warm weather in summer. Parking is not an issue as a large public garage is a block from the hotel and they will give you a discount for it. Location is great although it is not, as it name suggests, in the Old Town which is across the river. Yet it is still at a waking distance from it and just at the periphery of the old expansion of the city to the south of the river. Breakfast was very good and there are also many eating places nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
hotel was ok
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
We actually where very disappointed when we saw the suite, it was cheesy with no class. It was totally different from the picture that we saw on line when booking it. We would never book it if knew what we are getting. We where pretty upset!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Ebookers
Cons: Aircondition Room for luggage.
I was staying in the second floor. I was suprised the fact that there were no air condition in the room. It was really hot day and night, keeping window open didn't much help and also you could hear all the noises from the street. Size of the room was good, but the fact that it was filled up with heavy furnitures that you could barely move, didn't give too much comfort.