Ratings based on 617 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tiny room; good otherwise

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: The location, overall cleanliness and quality of the room, easy access to sights.
Cons: The staff have that bit of Austrian directness and bluntness that is really best kept out the services or hospitality industries.
The room was barely bigger than the bed, though it was clean and had everything I needed. The shower was big enough to fit a person, but it was so tiny there was not enough room to bend down. This was an overall trend in the room, which I would summarize as: "slightly uncomfortable if taller than 6' feet". The room, bathroom and hotel are well kept and in a very convenient location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

birthday celebration at xmas market

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: It was excellent and it was clean, warm with excellent staff and the food was great.
Cons: Coffee and Tea in the rooms.
Location: excellent location within walking distance from the shops and markets and other site seeing locations.
very enjoyable stay in the beautiful historic city with wonderful buildings and excellent Christmas market. Hotel was lovely, staff were excellent and all the people seemed nice and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Simone Ariane - Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Sir - thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Regarding your remarks of providing tea/coffee in the rooms, we shall pass these on to the Management. We would like to take this opportunity to wish you a Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year. Kindest greetings from Salzburg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Charming hotel in the heart of Salzburg

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms in main hotel are a bit dated. Would like toiletries in the bathroom.
The hotel Wolf-Deitrich is an historic boutique hotel in the heart of Salzburg's tourist district. It is actually in two parts: The original historic hotel on one side of the street and a modern annex just across the street. I was first in the annex, which has stylish modern rooms. But I requested a switch to the main hotel since I preferred having a front desk, especially when coming back at night. (I was solo on this trip). Which side you might prefer depends on your taste. The hotel breakfast was plentiful, the afternoon coffee and tea break was a nice treat and the front desk staff was very accommodating. My room was clean and tastefully done. It overlooked a lovely garden and it was nice to have a large screen TV. I loved the fluffy down bed covers. One thing missing was the toiletries that most hotels have. I didn't check out the spa, which does get great reviews online. And I wasn't aware it had a pool until after I left. All and all, a charming place with a great location and a cozy and warm feeling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by Simone Ariane - Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Madam. Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again in the not too distant future. All the best and have a great festive Season. Kindest greetings from Salzburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable hotel close to everything.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Proximity to things we like to see and close to shopping.
Cons: A little warmer welcome at the reception specially to guests who are arriving after a long trip.
We stayed in a big room at the Residenz, with big, comfortable bed. It looks like the facilities are newly renovated. Looks very clean. Nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by Simone Ariane - Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for your remarks. We are pleased that you liked your room. And we shall take note of your comment regarding the staff at Reception. All the best and kindest regards from Salzburg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire, England

A very good place to stay

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Salzburg is a beautiful city
Cons: Couldn't fault it.
Location: Salzburg revolves round Mozart, perfect for music lovers
The Hotel is in a good location. Staff are very polite and friendly. Hotel is very clean with good facilities. Would stay there again, no problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - Reception staff disappointing

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: A very nice setting close to good shopping/bars/dining and the old town. A short train ride from beautiful mountain walks.
A very nice hotel, lovely room and clean too. My travel companion and I both found the majority of the reception staff we encountered to be quite dismissive and unwelcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Small room

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Room size
This hotel was near shopping and restaurants. The room itself was very small. The staff at check in was very helpful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Room was totally different from the photos on its website. Old furnitures, very simple, no bath amenities, no place in the bathroom to put things, cracking floor, view of an ugly roof top, safe was locked when we came, they were out of key cards so they gave us only one. Definitely not a 4 star hotel, Maximus I would give it is low tier 3 star. The good things were location, super-friendly and helpful staff at reception and breakfast, and a nice free DVD library at the lobby. My recommendation - stay away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: a little pricey
I booked a single room, was very basic, clean and all that I needed for my short stay in Salzburg. It was centrally located and walking distance to everything. Great breakfast that was included and had wonderful steam room and sauna facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clayton, CA

Pretty hotel but needs updating

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Location and breakfast
Cons: Air conditioning, furniture/decor updated, shower door/curtain added.
Location: Near old town, shopping, the river, the gardens
The location of the hotel is great - walking distance to the old town, gardens, etc. The outside of the building and lobby is charming. The room we had (balcony room) was furnished with older pieces, and had NO air conditioning. Morning breakfast was nicely done.