Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely hotel in St Gilgen

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We stayed in a comfortable, upstairs room at Hotel Schernthaner, with a partial view of the lake! Room was clean and tidy. Breakfast was good with quite a variety of food to choose from. Close to lots of restaurants. Would certainly recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfort plus.

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Internet strong in rooms. Elevator. Large room.
Cons: I don't like Mozart chocolates.
Location: Lake ferry to St Wolfgang and take the little train to the top of the Schafberg. Take the chairlift to the top of the Zwolferhorn. Swim in lake.
A warm welcome, to a large comfortable room with balcony, seating area, table and chairs, with en suite. Lovely walk to the lake and around the town. Generous continental breakfast. Excellent Internet access. Delightful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Very nice hotel in an Awesome Location!

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Homely atmosphere with excellent upkeep of the facilities in the hotel. Rooms are very cosy with a personal touch which is very evident in little items across the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Very good stay with very accommodating staff and owner
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Woking

friendly ,homely hotel

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: could not improve
Location: accessible for all locations along the Lake
such a pretty Hotel right in the heart of beautiful St Gilgen and such very nice owners,you could not find a better place to stay along the Wolfgansee Lake,very clean and tidy and wonderful Austrian breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol

A very convenient location

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: The proprietors were always helpful and interested in helping you in any way that they could.
Location: Great location for the Christmas market yet still quiet. It's within walking distance to excellent restaurants, to the cable car, shops and the lake.
A lovely hotel with abundant hospitality. The owners were attentive and very helpful. We were very pleased with the rate and the location. We did not have a car and it was not a problem. We took the Salzburg shuttle bus service from the Munich airport right to the front door of our hotel for the same price as going to Salzburg. At the end of our stay we took bus 150 back to Salzburg after enjoying the Advent Markets. To visit the other markets Wolfgangsee, we took the boat from St. Gilgen. We left St. Gilgen on a snowy day and the scenery on the way back to Salzburg couldn't have been more beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dreamhime

Nice Hotel!

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: Handmade articles overflowed and were like a pretty hotel of Tirol.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The access to Schafbergbahn mountain-climbing railway was good, too and should have had been able to buy a boat and the ticket of the train together.
The breakfast was delicious in a very comfortable pretty hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Antony from Manchester, u.k.

Warm and welcoming

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: The owners hospitality
Location: Lovely village on a lake
Very well run , kind and understanding owners who make an effort to make you feel at home . If you like traditional Austrian hospitality and ambience then it's for you . If you are after minimalist style and modern appeal it is the wrong choice . There is a lift and parking is free and relatively easy .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Thirsk, North Yorkshire YO7, UK

Pretty hotel in picturesque town

Posted Jun 6, 2013
Pros: Room with balcony and great view!
Cons: Hard bed and hotel booklet did not include English option so difficult to translate despite 2 German phrase books!
Location: Great, just short walk downhill to the lake and everything spotlessly clean. Beautiful buildings.
This hotel is a real traditional Austrian place located in the pretty town of St Gilgen right on the lake. Just a short walk to the cable car, and in the other direction, to the lake. Good breakfast, great view from our balcony and very friendly manager who gave us some good suggestions for restaurants.