Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

nice clean hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The rooms are very clean and spacious, The dinning area had a wonderful view of the beach, The pool area was always nice and clean. very impressed.
Cons: not very much I can moan about just the morning reception area gentleman Juan.
Location: Stay local, where there is lots of people. I don't recommend you go down the beach in the Portillo resort area without a tour guide or trusted local.
Under the circumstance we went through where we had our back pack stolen with all our belongings inside from the beach next to Portillo resort area say about 4-5 miles away from the hotel, the hotel staff was very helpful. everyone was very friendly, except for one person in the morning shift Juan Sanchez he was not very friendly, however the bartender lady Carmen was very friendly and was very helpful in our situation. I found the rooms to be very spacious and clean, the pool area is delightful, breakfast was very nice, overall you will be very pleased with this hotel. Just a word of advice to all vacationers be sure to make copies of your identification documents do not carry with your passports or drivers licenses and take the very minimal with you if you are going out to explore the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Nice very welcoming hotel by the beach.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Very welcoming hotel by the beach with very friendly and pleasant staff. They were very welcoming people and very attentive to my every need and my family also loved their stay at this resort. Will defenetly come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frederick, Maryland

Gorgeous hotel, beachfront, five star staff.

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Location: Beachfront, and lots of restaurants within 5 minutes. Great tours to National Park, secluded beaches, and El Limon Waterfall.
The hotel is just lovely. The grounds, the pool, the rooms. I had a one bedroom apartment with a kitchen and it was impeccable. Comfortable king size bed, large patio. But the crowning jewel of this hotel (besides everything else I mentioned, and the great location) is the amazing staff. From the first correspondence via email, Ronald the manager was super professional, thorough, and friendly. This continued throughout my stay, as well as Juan at the afternoon reception desk who greeted me upon my arrival. They took care of all of my needs, even arranging a car rental that brought the car to the hotel for me, and at a lower price than any of the larger international car rental companies. Also, Milka, the bartender is wonderful, friendly, and will do anything to make you comfortable, even ordering food from a restaurant to be delivered right to the pool. Thank you Ronald, Juan, Milka, the wonderful cleaning staff, the fantastic chef in their great onsite restaurant, and everyone else! I highly recommend Hotel Albachiara!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston,ma

the hotel is nice close to the beach and the city

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: the room was very nice and quiet
Location: good close to the beach and the city
My experience was nice; however the water in the shower will go on and off switching between hot and cold and very low pressure. I also slipped and fell by the pool area. At the bar, I asked for a specific drink and they gave me something different because they did not have the one I asked for, without asking or telling me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Good location Excellent service at the Bar Needs to improve their fumigation service, too much mosquitoes
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice facility across the street from the beach.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
This is a great resort. We stayed in a 3 bedroom 3 bath unit. Very comfortable and close walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The only complaint we have is the noise at night and the heavy exhaust smell from the traffic on the road. Every night there was extremely loud music playing from the nearby park area until midnight or so. Also lots of barking dogs and traffic noise made it difficult to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like a fine wine, gets better as it ages!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: location, staff, cleanliness
Cons: not to worry, this hotel knows best how to make themselves better
Location: relax, beach, eat/drink, whale watching
Now staying at this hotel for the 5th time. What more can I say.......
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santo Domingo, DR & USA

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Spacious apartments.
Cons: We slept well but bed mattresses could use an upgrade
Location: Hotel is close to center of town. All in walking distance.
Enjoyed our stay here and would recommend. Breakfast was with excellent. Close walking distance to center of town. Very hospitable staff.
4 out of 5
by Lisbeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels