Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, nice staff

Posted Jul 20, 2017
It was a wonderful experience. The hotel staff wer just great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Real nice location and grounds/beach. Friendly staff. Very laid back, kind of quiet environment. Playa Samara is a nice, small town with some good restaurants. But hey, it's Costa Rica and we also dealt with the lax service...like forgetting the room cleaning some days and the room keys constantly not working..and having go to the desk 3-4 times per day. Liked it but didn't justify the $$. But me and my family had a lot of fun...just wouldn't go there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what they claim to be

Posted May 15, 2017 on Orbitz
No water in room No coffee in room No warm water Pool was disgusting filled with frogs. Gym has 4 machines of which 2 were broken Poor hotel staff customer service They claim to be a 3 1/2 star hotel they're not even 2 stars The list goes on.....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted May 15, 2017 on Orbitz
No water in room No coffee in room No warm water Pool was disgusting filled with frogs. Poor hotel staff customer service They claim to be a 3 1/2 star hotel they're not even 2 stars The list goes on.....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa, canada

Value for money, close to beach, not too big

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Construction was happening late in March but overall, for what we paid, it was a good experience. In the Hotel room, there was no storage. Nowhere to unpack your clothes for a week not one drawer, I found that unusual. There was a rack to put your clothes on with 3 or 4 hangers. Bathroom excellent beds very comfortable. Food good and always available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gaithersburg, MD

Ordinary hotel in Costa Rica

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location
Cons: No phone in the room. You have to walk to the reception area in case of any issue. It is a big "fun" at 93F degrees outside.
Location: Gyrocopter flight from Ultralight Tours was amazing! I found it at tripadvisor.
This is a beachfront hotel with ordinary food and amenities. The staff is friendly, pool and restaurant bars' guys are very nice. However, the guy selling tours in the reception area is completely irresponsible. If you want to book something for fun just call Info Center in Samara and save your time and money.
3 out of 5
by Roy

Has much potential.

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel resort under construction. Staff needs training in customer service and basic food service issues. Rooms are great, but after that, you are on your own.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Sep 4, 2016
There is no room service you can't get any food or drinks after 10pm everything is closed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Highly Recommended

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The people, the location, the tranquility!
Cons: Diversity of the food
I was looking for a hotel where I could go and relax and rest. That's exactly what I got. Nothing out of this world fancy but exactly what I needed. Excellent staff with the most amazing people you can meet. I loved it. I stay for 9 days and I would go back. My only suggestion would be on the food. Great testing but very repetitive, perhaps not gear for someone staying for a week. Best virgin pina coladas in the world!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Overpriced, poor service and contempt.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Hello, When we got there they said that breakfast would be $30 per person, per day extra ! Times that by 3 adults for 5 nights that equals US$ 450.00! I said 'thats a lot', so they said US$25 each. They wouldnt move from this so we went into the town each day instead, and got a nicer breakfast for about $8 each. We stayed in 5 hotels during our visit to Costa Rica and this was in fact the most expensive, but it was no where near as good as the others. All the others were not only cheaper, friendlier and much nicer but they also included a nice breakfast of fresh fruit and a choice of hot food. The breakfast at Villas Playa Samara Beach Front Resort didnt look very nice anyway, and nor did the dinner, as it was just 'mass catered' help yourself buffet. Our room was plain, dark and ordinary, almost cell like, with no outlook. The bin didnt have a lid on it - in a country where this is where you have to put ALL the used toilet tissue! We asked if we could move but, throughout the whole stay, the staff were unsmiling and unhelpful and wernt bothered. The hotel complex, itself, wasnt that special. Just because its behind a big gate, has a swim up bar and is by the beach dosnt make it good or justify their price and there is much nicer elsewhere for less. Several people around the town say that the owners dont care if you complain, so that is the contempt they have for their customers -once they have taken your money. Treat them as they deserve, dont give them your money and