Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from new zealand

A friendly and welcoming hotel.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
We stayed 9 days at the Insel Fehrmann and enjoyed our stay. Without exception the staff were always pleasant and helpful. The smiles were genuine. We did not have a rental vehicle but the hotel shuttle and the ease of taking a taxi made up for the distance from the town centre. Our 3rd floor room was large and well furnished. A kitchen with all necessary cooking facilities was provided.The room was serviced daily and kept spotllessly clean. A family friendly hotel. It was the right choice for us on this occasion.
2 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good location

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Maybe 1 elevators
Location: close to town and hair studio close by
Only there 1 night, room was cool and bright great view from 3rd floor, no elevators, mildew in bathroom. Couldn't get a snack after 10am until dinner, store was on the first floor, not opened like the times said on the door, 11 to 5pm
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ Dunedin

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Staff were wonderful, hotel located walking distance from apia, was great base for our Trip. Room was perfect for us and the pool was a godsend. Food wasn't bad but could have been little better
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine, USA


Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Hot showers
Cons: please see my review
Location: there are 2 great restaurants within walking distance - Pizza Giodannos and Scalinis. Great eating! highly recommended.
Service was below average. Spent one night and was not happy. The bathroom was not cleaned throughly. The mattresses have the springs coming through so it was not a good night sleep plus we had mosquitos in the room! Breakfast was posted as 6:30am start yet took them until 7:05am to have breakfast set up. Staff were not helpful, seemed too casual about breakfast setup to notice us waiting. They could not make coffee as the Barista was on vacation. Really, can't be that difficult to train other staff to operate the machine? The checkin clerk was rude on our arrival. I sincerely hope the Hotel owners read this as I want them to turn this around. I'm not a negative person but this is as bad as I have experienced.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Insel Fehmarn

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Close to town & access to driving to the other side of the island.
Cons: Room refurbishments & information flyers of what is on at the hotel day to day..
Location: Easy access to town, going out for a meal, Kokobananas for the best steak or lobster in Samoa is 5 mins up the road or Paddles Italian 5 mins down rd
Samoa is a great place to holiday, you can choose many different types of places to stay, eat & drink at. People are friendly but generally it is done at island time. The hotel Insel is a nice place to stay, I'd rate about 3 star as decore is dated & staff though friendly are often hard to communicate with, but the plus side is the individual cost of most items, meals, drinks etc are all reasonable. Communication of theme nights could be better, though each room has a compendium it is dated thus flyers may help improve this. Most rooms seem to have old TVs & generally signal problems but then you don't go on holiday to watch TV do you...
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nice & comfortable rooms

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Restaurant food was great and complimentary breakfast beats many of the other hotels in Apia. Rooms also good size with reliable aircon!
Cons: Beds may need to be replaced as won't be too comfortable for long-term stays.
Location: Near to Apia and local businesses.
Good car parking facilities, helpful staff and very accommodating to the needs of my grandmother. Very much appreciated!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

comfortable, clean and very helpful satff

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Friendliness, clean, breakfast, a good look all the time...
Cons: Nothing I can think of...it met our needs absolutely
Location: we mainly just went to the family occasions we came to attend
My hubby and I stayed for 9 nights. We are Samoans but live in NZ. We wanted to be close to relatives because we had serious family businesses to attend to, but we also wanted some comfort and a place to escape to when we needed to. Insel was also close to town and hospital and other popular convenient shops. We found the arrangement met out needs and was one of the best choices we ever made. Thank you Insel for a good experience.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Close to everything.

Posted Mar 22, 2015
We enjoyed our 7 day stay. View from our room was lovely. Hotel was close to some amazing restaurant's, town and shop. Our favorite was Giordanos. Pizza's to die for. Hotel restaurant was okay, breakfast very basic. But overall for the price it was great.
4 out of 5
for Families


Posted Feb 7, 2015 on Hotels
thanks insell for accomodating us, we had a pleasant time in samoa staff were so excellent with all the services, thanks so much to each and everyone counted in our stay.we stopped over to show my husband around Apia as it was his first time in Samoa, we were on our way to PagoPago to visit my dear brother Atinae Sheck he is ill with cancer, your staff and accomodation makes things better for us and our stay, came back from Pago and we stayed for 3more nights as we enjoyed the place and its in central of everything. keep up the good work God bless from lebron
3 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels