Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AKL, NZ

Beautiful view

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Good experience. Lovely and cooperative staff. Beautiful view. Neat, tidy and comfortable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AKL

Cheap and close to town

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The hotel is abit dated, needs some work. But if you want basic then basic it is.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealanc

Comfortable hotel to stay at, good breakfast.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Rooms a quite big, breakfast has improved, good size swimming pool. Staff at the receptionist are very friendly.
Cons: The cleanliness of the rooms.
Location: Closer to town and the hospital, restaurants, Robert Louis Stevenson, supermarkets nearby and the bars
Always had a pleasant stay and we recommend this hotel to anyone and for a 3 star hotel is very good value for money. The quality has improved a lot since.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Has potential, but disappointing

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The breakfasts were fairly good. They made an attempt to offer fruit and a variety of foods on their buffet. Many of the Staff were very pleasant.
Cons: Better communication between Staff and Management. A more friendly, kind, Samoan-style of Management.
Location: An easy and affordable taxi ride to downtown. Wonderful Pizza place almost next door!
Even though the hotel was mostly empty, the Management would not budge when we requested several times ANY room on the two higher floors that had an unbroken refrigerator or a newer tv or a microwave (because they said we had received a good deal on Expedia, so we had no ability to request anything better than 'the worst" they had). Because we had prepaid for eight days, we were stuck there. Thus, we had a very old tv with poor reception, no microwave, and a broken refrigerator. As well, even though we had let the hotel know a week in advance that we needed a taxi from the Airport, their transport never arrived. We phoned the Hotel from the Airport and they okayed us finding our own transportation. However, the Management then tried to over-charge us at check-out time for their taxi that had never arrived.
5 out of 5
by latu

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel handy location close to town.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
I had a great stay@ Insel, friendly staff and they always make their visitors feel @ home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016
The room service people stole money in my wallet while staying there. So unprofessional.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Gone downhill - management clearly cutting corners

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Wotif
We have stayed at insel before and loved it. Sadly it's not what it used to be. Food was terrible - stale bread, days passed without choices in speads, worst pizza. housekeeping was bare minimum and our room wasn't cleaned until we made multiple requests late in the day on at least three occasions. Pool was the only positive and then we were told friends couldn't come for a swim - this was even after they were spending money at the bar and restaurant. Really disappointed. Won't be coming back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the Apia city

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Location was good. Friendly staff, spacious room size. Nice view from the balcony.
Cons: See above
Room size is adequate. Toilet and shower was too small. Inconsistency with room cleaning i.e. fresh towels weren't always replenished. Buffet breakfast always ran out of food and wasn't replenished. Hotel also needs an elevator especially for the 2 & 3 level.