Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by sarah from Auckland

Relax in paradise

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Super relaxing hotel, beautiful gardens, spacious pool area, charming villas in the local style and the best staff ever. This is the perfect hotel for those who want to unwind....definitely not for those who need to be close to the action.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Matakana nz

Fabulous gardens and fantastic food. great staff.

Posted May 28, 2016
This place has really fantastic gardens. the rooms are pretty good too. Its a reasonable price. the chef has to be applauded as the meals are really fantastic. The fish dishes especially. Close to town and very quiet. Lots of mozzies though so be prepared. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful grounds.

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: The grounds and staff.
Cons: Some of the furniture, lighting in the rooms, sign about keeping personal items and shoes in room.
When you enter the Orator the staff is very welcoming and the grounds beautiful. However, some of the furniture in the room was a bit tired and the lighting poor. The pool area was clean, but many of the lounge chairs were falling apart and for some reason, graffiti on pool tiles. Stray dogs are an issue in Samoa and there were two friendly ones hanging around when we were there. Since the custom of the country is to kick your shoes off before entering a residence we did so at the hotel to our free standing falle. In the morning a pair of brand new sandals were missing. The staff found them, but they were chewed up by the dogs. The hotel didn't offer to compensate us for the ruined shoes. We didn't mind the dogs, but felt that the staff should have warned us about keeping shoes inside. The restaurant was just ok.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Beautiful place to stay!

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Gorgeous resort with comfortable villas and delicious food! Had a problem with the air conditioner in our room and the staff relocated our things while we were away so it was no trouble for us at all. Will definitely go again!
5 out of 5
by Joshua

Tropical Gardens

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Wonder stay at the Orator. Friendly staff. Kids enjoyed the entertainment at reception area during the morning. Great garden and swimming pools.
3 out of 5
by Rosa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Excellent place to stay, staff very friendly and helpful..would come here again
4 out of 5
by Jacquie from Bozeman

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
We loved the Orator and would have liked to stay longer. The bed was the best I have slept in since leaving home 2 weeks ago! Just great staff and people.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Powell, WY

Pleasent environment with well kept and help staff

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Enjoyable relaxing place with very good local and western food. The staff were very helpful all over the hotel not just at the front desk. It was nice having your own separate villa to relax in at the end of the day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice facility but................

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Lastminute
Pros: There was a nice friendly repore among the guests due to the layout of the villas and gardens & meeting in the restaurant at breakfast each morning.
Cons: Back up for air-conditioning compressors
Location: It was nice to be out of Apia but within a 15 minute car ride.
We had to change rooms halfway through our stay as there was a problem with the air-conditioner. All good, they didn't have control over that, but the room we were given was much smaller and the deck had no furniture so we feel a bit cheated. We did get a meal voucher (to be used at the Orator) as an apology for the inconvenience but it was given on our last evening & we had trouble using it. They had a private function on our last night so all the guests were relegated to an alternate dining area & the service was almost non-existent. If we had been notified about this we could have made other arrangements. The music could be heard from our room, which was a little inconvenient. The food was nice, the rooms service great, we enjoyed the pool & the staff were friendly although we did have a couple of occasions where our requests were misunderstood.