Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Rooms

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Pool good, No children at least when I stayed
Cons: Sunbeds around pool tight together. Food could be improved, lacked variety
Location: Good location on beach
Some very dark rooms to right of reception very shaded by Palm trees and also ground floor rooms in same wing . 95% of guests elderly
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by TV, Hotel Management
Dear Walter, Thank you very much for taking the time to publish your valuable comments, which motivates us to keep on improving day after day. We are grateful for your kind words for our hotel. We would be very thankful if you would like to share your experience with your friends and other users in a web portal, which convinces you the most, such as TripAdvisor and Booking.com. We would be very delighted to welcome you again to our property in the future. Kind regards, Thibault Vonthron Customer care
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Would definitely recommend - a fab hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The view from every room is fab overlooking the ocean, with palm trees and sunset visible from our room. The swimming pool and two sun terraces provi
Cons: In my view very little. There's an ugly shopping centre nearby, which you see when you first arrive - but this can't be seen from any of the rooms.
Location: 3 days only. Swam in pool + ocean by hotel. Walked along path to Masopolemas sanddunes. Took public bus to Las Palmas city, historic part - all fab
I was very impressed with Dunas Don Gregory. The view from every room is fab overlooking the ocean, with palm trees and sunset visible from our room. The swimming pool and two sun terraces provide for all guests, we prefered the top terrace. But most of all the staff really made the stay very special indeed, they were always friendly and helpful. The waiters were brilliant on New Year's Eve, working tirelessly to ensure everyone was being looked after. The hotel created a very special occasion for New Year, with entertainment, live band as well as complimentary wine throughout the meal. Reception staff were also very helpful. They all seemed to be from the region itself and seemed genuinely to work as a team, as though they'd all been there for a while - creating a very happy ambience in spite of the hotel being quite big. Don't be put off by the horrid shopping centre nearby, which you see when you first arrive: once you're in your room that's not visible at all - and in fact proved useful at times to buy odds and ends. Once in your room, you have the wonderful terrace and ocean view to enjoy! I would love to come back - and just hope that after the refurbishment, the prices don't go up. We thought the rooms were comfortable and clean - in the eyes of some a little dated maybe but didn't bother us - hence the refurb I guess. In summary - wholly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Thibault, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, We truly thank you for publishing your kind review about your stay at our property. Your comments and your valuable opinion motivate us to go on improving. It is always heartwarming to read that you entirely enjoyed your vacation and appreciated more particularly our customer care. Indeed, our resort will be totally refurbished from April 2017. We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Thibault Vonthron Customer service
5 out of 5
by Karen from Pompano Beach Florida

Great All Inclusive ocean front hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
All rooms are ocean front. This is one of the few hotels on the island situated directly on a sandy beach. The rooms are spacious. The 8th floor has some rooms that are town house rooms with beautiful views to the ocean from the living room, balcony and bedroom. The pool is heated. You can opt for all inclusive for a reasonable price. We choose breakfast and dinner included to have the afternoon free to tour the island. The dinner offerings varied from day to day. The beach board walk is a well manicured long stretch with shopping and restaurants. A supermarket with reasonable priced snacks is located across the street. The staff is multilingual. The area is safe to walk around day and night time. My only regret is that I could not stay longer. It’s an ideal place for a long holiday.
5 out of 5
by Stefan

under evaluated, should be above 4

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent hotel on the beach. Great value if taken with half board.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Co Clare. Ireland

Hotel Dunas Don Gregory. Gran Canaria.

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: As mentioned above review re my experience. The location, staff, services and air conditioned rooms were all top class.
Cons: Perfect as it was.
Location: As covered above in the other reviews, location, staff and services were all wonderful.
This hotel was just perfect in every way. The staff were fanastic and so nice. The location was perfect and close the beach, walk ways, bars and restaurants also busses and the taxi rank were close to the hotel. Their own restaurent was wonderful and the food was super. The heated swiimming pool and terrace views while having a coffee was just beautiful. Nice piano bar and comfortable rooms with great balconies and again lovely views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for a relaxing seniors holiday.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: As above
Cons: Rooms could do with a bit of refurbishing
Location: As above
This was our first visit to the canaries? My wife and I are retired and just wanted a quiet week in the sun. The hotel was ideal. Most guests were older, mainly German. The staff couldn't have been nicer, particularly with disabled guests and the food was fabulous. The rooms are a little dated but all have a sea view and have everything we needed. The grounds open on to a promenade with walks in either direction and access to a nice beach. At the back is a large shopping complex with many supermarkets and restaurants. The pool is large, spotless and warm and the pool side bar and restaurant is a delight. We shall return!
4 out of 5
by Katherine from Dublin

overlooking glorious atlantic

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels
Great hotel. Lovely beach. Shops and restaurants opposite hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a four star hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Good location
Cons: Bathroom drains smell and tiles need regrouting ,Televisions are ancient and reception is not good.Evening entertainment was at times repetitive.
Location: Shops and a variety of restaurants nearby
This hotel needs refurbished ,it may have been four star about 20 years ago but not now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by anonymous from UK

An entirely enjoyable stay!

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: quality of the breakfasts and the buffet dinners
Cons: evening entertainment
Location: excellent for beach and swimming, shopping and excursions
Friendly hotel staff, a beautiful shady garden together with the proximity of the beach, very comfortable beds and the superb variety of the food all made our stay a very enjoyable one. I would certainly return to Dunas Don Gregory for another holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by SH from Warwickshire

Great hotel for family holiday right on the beach

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: Beach location, spacious room, buffet choice, restaurant staff
Cons: Loud music late into the night, dated internal communal areas
Location: Great location right on the beach
The location of the Dunas Don Gregory is what attracted us to book this hotel, it is literally on a lovely soft, dark sandy beach which was perfect for a family holiday with a 2 young children. The hotel itself, although dated in some areas, was a pleasant surprise. From various reviews we expected to be the only family but there were plenty of younger couples and families with children of various ages along with the older clientele. Our room was spacious and clean, made up with 2 generous twin beds and 2 put-up beds for the children. We had a small balcony with amazing views of the beach, sea and Maspalomas sand dunes in the distance. The pool was lovely and there were plenty of free sun-loungers throughout the day. We stayed half board which worked out well with the children especially with the first dinner sitting starting at 6:30pm. The breakfast and dinner buffet was great. Dinner included lots of fresh salads, vegetables and selection of fish and meat dishes and plenty of choice for the kids who loved going to get their next course. The waiters in the restaurant were especially lovely to the children even though they were working extremely hard to keep the restaurant running smoothly with the large numbers of people moving through. We enjoyed our mealtimes and certainly didn't feel rushed to leave. The children did enjoy the acrobatic show one evening but be warned the music nights don't finish until 11pm so you may well be hearing the birdy song on a loop!