Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from coral springs, florida

Horrible hotel and horrible staff

Posted Aug 27, 2017
The rooms are old in bad condition and falling apart...toilets and air conditioner do not work. Customer service is horrible. This place is the worst only thing that is good is the view and the food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Very pleasant stay

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Cool property with relaxed feel. Loved sitting out on the jetty with the breeze in the evenings. Other guests were friendly and pleasant. Food was good. There is a nice public beach 200 meters away.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Terrible hotel close to the public beach

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Very Disappointed - No worth it for the money I paid. Safe is extra, Wifi is extra, air conditioning did not work, Fridge bar inside room was empty all the time, the room was not available at 3:00 pm. This trip was a big rip off.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami Fl

Hotel needs maintenance and renovation

Posted May 30, 2017
Nice staff. The food was very good, Sven at buffet restaurant. The hotel needs maintenance and renovation, specially in all social areas. Nice ocean view, quiet beach. Recreation activities and stafff were some few and boring. Need to learn from international Caribbean resorts about entertainment.
2 out of 5
by Colin

Not Western Standard

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
If you are looking for a resort of western standard this barely cuts it. The check in counter is far removed from the main office and zero english was spoken. In fact they asked me to produce a paper voucher? What place in this day in age requires paper anything. No wifi is provided at the Hotel. Water can not be drank and the shower water is somewhat salinated. It might be all inclusive but do not expect quality anywhere. Low quality beverages and the food at all restaurants was subpar. There might not be many choices on the island which is why this establishment is rated so high, but I highly recommend either not coming to San Andres or staying somewhere else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Staff are very rude and unfriendly. They are missing a smile and attitude to work with clients
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Amazing Vacation!

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on CheapTickets
What a beautiful property. The staff was all so nice and welcoming. Everyone went out of their way to help us or recommend things to do. I was nervous after reading some of the reviews on here, but my experience was completely different. Yes, it is an older property, but they doing an amazing job keeping up with it. I cant say enough about their staff. EVERYONE, from management, servers/bartenders, housekeeping & bell hops, were all so helpful and truly made our stay an amazing experience, I didn't want to leave. We checked out the other Decamerons as well and they were all very nice. But this one was by far the best. Its like being in an secluded oasis while inside the property, but your right in the middle of town, so you can walk to the local beach or along the boardwalk and check out some of the awesome restaurants, shops and casinos there. We just absorbed the experience and felt like locals. I will definitely be back and will be bringing all my friends with me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia, pa

Disappointing

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Disappointing. This place will nickel and dime you for everything! Although they advertise all inclusive you will pay for wifi (that you can only use in the lobby), security box, taxi rides to other Decameron sites. This would be acceptable if it weren't for the shabby condition of the rooms and interior walls of the hotel. The staff is not friendly or attentive. The restaurants, which you reserve a day in advance aren't worth the time you take to make that reservation. The menus are deceptive. Instead of lobster they will serve you a piece of shrimp instead of filet mignon a slice of beef. The water in the room had broken seals. It took days to figure out how to open the door with the key they gave us! It made the trip back to our shabby room a nightmare. It'll sober you up quick! (Which now that I mention it, don't drink the beer. The bartenders drink straight out of the bottle where they serve the guests.) Thank god i didn't break down that shabby door down because who knows what they would've made me pay! Also, the sink almost came out of the bathroom wall. No amount of caulking is going to help just replace it! With that said.. let me give you the pros.. the views are amazing. The hotel rooms sit above the ocean where you can take in the several shades of blue and the fishes that inhabit the beautiful water. The plants and trees are exotic. The property is clean and safe. The activities are fun, they offer paddle boarding, kayaking, snorkeling and boating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Views, location, food

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Overall, I had an amazing time staying at this hotel. 4 points rating is for some discomfort that not me but my friends have experienced during our stay. Specifically, we were a group of friends who came to San Andres Island to celebrate our friends wedding anniversary. The ceremony and other wedding services ordered by "newlyweds" had to be rearranged due to the laziness of staff and not delivering what was negotiated in the contract. One of our rooms (not mine) had mold, and my friends had to move to another hotel tower. Their dinner reservation system was very strict, you need to wake up super early in the morning in order to make one. Internet service was expensive and even after purchasing one was bad. However, nothing could beat the views from my room (stayed in Tower 7). it was simply mind blowing! Snorkeling right off of the hotel porch - amazing! Music, entertainment, fruits and soups were great! I must say though that it felt like the hotel was overpriced for what it was. It is a solid 3, and maybe a 4, but definitely not a 5 for what you get.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from laudehill, United States of America

Worst experience

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything was a mess
Location: Really not much I thing you should pick something else
Worst treat than ever, if you like to get ice cream you need to wait until till 12.30, that's ridiculous,, if like chocolate and they have 2. Flavor you need to wait till that one finishes.. if you go to the bar a get a drink you can't use straw, I came back sick because putting my mouth every where.. the hotel pictures when they do promote is just photoshop it really need to be repair, I don't know who give the stars to this hotel because is the worst place that I been.. food is not well elaborate, no to many options, desserts ufff, just choose somewhere else to go