Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bleak Desolation in San Andres

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
If your desire is to visit San Andres Island and be far away from everything remotely interesting the island has to offer, this is the perfect place to stay. But then the WiFi, which might have relieved the tedium a little, did not work. The taps and showers spout non-potable salt water. You can of course purchase grotesquely over-priced bottled water from the mini bar in your room. I hated this place and could not escape from it fast enough. The owner did seem like a nice enough guy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment and for visiting our island. The location of the hotel is because we want people to enjoy and have experience with the nature of the island; so problems are also presented with the internet. Thank you very much and greetings!
4 out of 5
by Steven

A refuge from the rumba.

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
This is the place you go if you want to get to San Andres but stay out of the crowds. The site is tucked in the woods away from the hubbub and is very pleasant. The pool is nice, people good, and the rooms clean and comfortable. The is no good beach nearby (really not much nearby at all), but that's part of the charm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2016 by Juan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice comment. We hope you have been a special holiday. We hope you return.
2 out of 5
by eliseu from Lisboa, Portugal

Good, I f you don't find accommodation elsewhere

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
Very isolated place. Taxi is the only means to get there - 40000 COP. The first day I arrived there at 7 pm, straight from the airport, and there was nothing to eat until next morning! Breakfast is rather poor and the both days I spent in the property they do not even have black coffee for breakfast, only with milk... Wi-if is very bad, despite the 2 or 3 lines they announced. Everybody there is very very amateur. Be aware of the mosquitoes. Carry plenty of the best repellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2016 by Juan, Hotel Management
Sorry for all the problems, we work with our team to not happen more and to provide better service. We study the problems to know what were the disadvantages
1 out of 5
by Sean

Bad service

Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly people working there, but no WiFi in room as promised, and I asked for taxi to my next hotel, they decided to charge me the same amount as taxi and drive me there, in the middle of the road he ra out of gas, so I was in the car in the heat for 45 min waiting for the driver to go buy gas and bring back, and then he was lost and looking for the new hotel for another 30 min, a trip hat was suppose to be 20 min took 1.5 hour. Not good
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2016 by Juan, Hotel Management
Sorry for the problems presented, we always work to provide the best service for tourists to enjoy their holiday in our hotel. We hope that these problems do not happen again. Right now we're working on that. Thanks for you opinion and advice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester UK

Emerged in the culture

Posted Oct 28, 2015
The staff and location couldn't be better. The food is AMAZING The owner speaks great English and happy to help with trips etc Tips: taxis will say they don't have change even when fair is agreed. Check trips have English speaking guides
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2015 by Hostería Mar y Sol, Hotel Management
Thank you for your excellent comment. We will always be to give the best service and hope to retur.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Te hotel was good.....food was not as goodas I hay read !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2016 by Juan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment and work by always providing the best service. Thanks for choosing us and visit us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucaramanga

Get away from the busyness of it all!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
My husband and I were looking for some peace and quiet. We got that and a lot more. This hotel is on the other side of all the island buzz, so make sure that is what you want. It is like staying with relatives and old time friends in a comfy house. Not luxurious at all, but clean and relaxing. The pros: you will feel like you're the only one in the hotel as you won't hear a thing in the simple yet spacious rooms. Food is homemade and simply fantastic. People will be helpful and super friendly. Cesar, will always give you honest advice and never try to sell you tourist packages just because. He will also get out of his way to make sure you feel spoiled and taken care of. Even their dogs will make you feel at home: Refeita a stray dog they rescued will steal your heart (and some food ;)) To improve: The breakfast selection. Fruit, juice, eggs and bread are a daily staple. A cereal bar and some cold beverages could help those with special diets. The pillows could use a renewal. To keep in mind: The place is far away from everything, that's the idea! So be prepared with things you might need through the day as the shuttle leaves at 9 am and returns at 7 pm. You can always take the local bus which is cheap, safe and the routes are easy to understand. If you need to disconnect and are not fussy about having to have luxury go for this!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Catalina Rojas, Hotel Management
Hello denise, Thank you very much for letting this comprehensive review, we were happy to porder provide you and your husband, quiet, friendly service and excellent accommodation. We note when you say "This hotel is on the other side of all the island buzz, so make sure That is what you want" and "To keep in mind: The place is far away from everything, that's the idea!" because we are a hotel that is focused on a relaxing vacation and personal attention. We hope to see you soon, happy week
4 out of 5
by Paul from Bogota

Nice escape from crziness of S. Andres megaresorts

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels
Good value for S. Andres, but would be about a $65/night hotel anywhere that had some real competition. If you want an alternative to the big resorts, this is a good option to get away from them. Quiet with very good service, friendly helpful staff, and nice b-fasts to get you started. Easy enough to get around on the island from their location but land-locked, so you won't have immediate beach access. We used it as a stayover while waiting for our flight to Providencia, which is a much better location for a long stay as it's not over-crowded and trashed out like S. Andres.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2015 by Juan, Hotel Management
Paul, thank you very much for the comment. Hosteria Mar y Sol is a quiet place to enjoy the good service and the wonderful island of San Andres place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet place with friendly staff.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Had a great stay. Delicious meals and friendly and helpful staff. They helped us plan activities and we rented their car and bikes. A litle inconvenient to get around since the shuttle only ran once a day. Overall it was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015
A greeting! Thanks for visiting our lodge, we are here to serve in what they need on the beautiful island of San Andrés
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Choice

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at Mar y Sol for three nights. For us it was a great location, away from all resort hotels to the north of the Island. The rooms were comfortable and and the dinner every night was delicious. They can help you organise anything you would like to do around the island. I would recommend staying here
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2014 by Juan, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for writing to us. We are happy that they have lived a happy days in our hotel and hope to return soon. Greetings.