Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff and very supportive.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
My car was broken into in San Francisco. The staff helped us secure our vehicle with a missing window overnight and went beyond the call of duty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa

Convenient location, but disappointing

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: better noise control
Location: It is a wonderland of hiking options, food options, live theater, and only about 20 minutes from SF if you're feeling ambitious (went to see La cages)
Bottom floor room had extensive noise from restaurant, people talking in hall, room above, and footsteps on the gravel outside my window. Grew up in Marin and spending weekend hiking outside San Anselmo and Fairfax and spot seemed ideal. However would not recommend. Shower was teensy. Has fantastic bakery/espresso/café next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

CENTER OF SAN ANSELMO

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Wonderful, quaint b&b. Very centrally located close to wedding location. San Francisco Theological seminary.
4 out of 5
by dajen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

San Anselm Inn

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: The hotel has real character. Love the fact it's been an integral part of downtown Anselmo for many decades.
Cons: The rooms could use a little table to put a laptop, etc, on.
San Anselmo is an excellent launchpad for some of the most beautiful and challenging bike rides (road and mountain) in the country. Can't wait to return to the Inn when I have more time to spend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Lovely establishment

Posted Mar 3, 2017
I stayed here overnight whilst traveling to see a talk given in Woodacre. I arrived late and found an envelope with my keys and detailed instructions about parking, entrance, and room (very nice thank you!). The foom was clean, outfitted with a comfortable bed and television. The floors are a bit thin as i could hear everythign the people above me were doing and saying; but i have ear plugs and with them in I was able to fall asleep. Breakfast was divine; french croissant toast! DELICIOUS! I highly recommend and would stay here again. Very close to a number of shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location in downtown San Anselmo

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Easy walking distance to everything in San Anselmo. The building is definitely old, with slightly sloping hallways, but the rooms are nice, and the staff friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

great location

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: location, old fashion style
staff very friendly, breakfast excellent, quiet, good restaurants nearby convenient to freeway
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small, inconvient rooms

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
It was clean and the staff was friendly. It's an old building with small rooms. Bathrooms were squeezed (and I do mean squeezed) in later. Very cramped and inconvenient. Breakfast had a good selection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Great location in the heart of town.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: The location allows walking to get around town.
Location: Cute stores and very good Italian and French restaurant close by.
Quaint, comfortable and clean. Very safe,includes parking and breakfast.