Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2018
I loved the Hair salon. I had a head massage during a conditioning treatment that surpassed all expectations. The staff were so kind and accommodating and squeezed me in for an appointment although they were really busy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

OUR HOLIDAY STAY AT SAN JOSE MARRIOTT

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: THE SPA! My husband and I had TWO spa days and thoroughly enjoyed BOTH of them! EVERYONE there were VERY pleasant & accommodating!
Cons: THE BAR SERVICE & SERVICE AROUND THE POOL AREA!
Location: We were picked up for our tours and didn't rent a car to do anything nearby.
We enjoyed our 11 day holiday stay at this very beautiful Marriott and everyone was friendly. We LOVED the SPA and spent 2 days there! We also LOVED your coffee and Gift Shop and spent a lot of time in there. The only complaint my husband and I had was that we could hear our neighbors AND THEIR KIDS next door ALL HOURS OF THE NIGHT! Since we had a long stay, our neighbors came and went and they all had kids with them. I don't know if it is because the walls are thin or because of the gap under the doors that divide the rooms. We had to knock on the door that divides the rooms a couple of times because of the "ruckus" and loudness at 3:30 a.m. It was a little disturbing to us when we had to meet with our tour guide at 5:30 am! We ended up stuffing towels under the door that divides the two rooms to "buffer" the noise. Other than one guy (Gustavo) in the Bar, the service needs some improvement...but Gustavo was "on it!" The bar service around the pool was very poor also. I ended up getting our own drinks...I think since it was the holidays, this should have been taken into consideration of the amount of people to expect since the hotel was BOOKED!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cayman Islands

Nice hotel close to the airport

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Ideally located for an overnight stay either arriving from a late night flight or leaving for an early morning departure. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Disappointed that after getting up super early for breakfast, the “24 hour cafeteria” did not actually open until 6am!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Tour and Travel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear MM, Thank you for your review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great place to stay

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: Staff View
Location: San Jose is central to just everything. The long bus rides was a bit much. Generally, averaged about 20 mph on very windy roads.
Beautiful surroundings. Our room was on the back side, sixth floor (top) with a view through palms to the mountains. The only thing that marred it a bit was the construction cranes. We did not spend any time in the pool but it looked very nice and my wife said the water was very warm when she dipped a toe. We were greeted with warm smiles each morning at breakfast. The omelet chef even came by a couple of times to make sure the eggs I ordered were good and that I was satisfied. We were called by name often, even though I'm sure it came up on when we signed in for breakfast. There was a time or two though that I heard the name as we were walking up. After a few days we were recognized when walking up. Recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Tour and Travel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear James, Thank you for your review! We are glad you and your wife enjoyed the stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frisco, TX

Pretty, clean hotel in San Jose

Posted Jan 4, 2018
We were very impressed with this hotel. Very nice and clean with a friendly staff. We were close to the airport but did not hear any airplane noise. The room was comfortable. Staff was very helpful when we had questions. We would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Tour and Travel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Wendy, Thank you for your review! We will be waiting for you and your family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palatine, IL

Excellent staff.

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Was not able to honor my booking on first night, gave free room and transportation to and from nearby Courtyard Marriott, plus 6,000 points, plus included breakfast. New Year's Eve party had great music and food. The music ended 30 mins. before the buffet, and that was a bit disappointing. Overall, an excellent experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Tour and Travel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Raj, Thank you for your review! Your comments were shared with our Banquets Manager. Hope you can visit us again very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia

Lovely Building

Posted Dec 31, 2017
The hotel is a gorgeous old haciendo. Pool area is a beautiful setting. Spa is a terrific facility, and so gracious. Rooms are good. The wait staff is very nice and accommodating (but slow and pricey for breakfast). Everyone tries to be helpful, but understaffed or too distracted at check in and concierge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Tour and Travel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, Thank you for your review! We are very glad you enjoyed our Colonial Hacienda.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Perfect, gorgeous castle in San Jose like a heaven

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: Facility, the design, the beauty, the staff, and comfort
Cons: Everything was amazing, maybe the buffet can get a bit better
Location: Location is a bit bad in industrial side of the town
Excellent stay in a perfect spot, it is like a old castle with a beautiful building . True meaning of luxury and beauty
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Tour and Travel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Maryam, Thank you for your review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Hotel is nice as Marriott properties are. We stayed for Christmas Even and had the dinner buffet. The variety was not great but food was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful hotel with helpful staff.

Posted Dec 24, 2017
The staff here was amazing. Everyone in Costa Rica was friendly and polite but this hotel staff went out of their way to make my mom’s dream vacation an amazing experience. The hotel itself is beautiful and has all you need for a great vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Thank you for your review and the beautiful pictur, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and the beautiful pictures! We are very glad to know you and your mom enjoyed your vacations with us.