Ratings based on 508 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, Pennsylvania

Beautiful hotel and amazing experience

Posted Oct 10, 2017
We felt immediately welcomed when we arrived at Tortuga Lodge, and it was very hard to leave when the time came to head to our next location. The staff are very friendly and go above and beyond to make sure that your stay is a positive experience. It is important to realize that the rooms have a cabin feel (screen windows and no air conditioning), but we spent most of our time by the pool, exploring, and taking advantage of the incredible tours offered by the hotel, such as watching baby turtles hatching. I would l LOVE to return to this hotel again someday!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CR

Nice hotel, close to San José

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Our suite was clean and accomodations are very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Sep 20, 2017
The hotel overall was descent. We stayed for only one night so we didn't get to explore a lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Nice place

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Outside of big city
Location: Easy access to main roads Far enough of San Jose(take a tour, not easy to drive by yourself) Close to pacific, close to volcano and national park
Fantastic personnel,good steak house, good internet with wifi I would return Mostly costaricans are very nice peoples, calm and smiling. Do not hesitate to speak Spanish they are happy you try and they will help you People like tourists and are nice with you. There is always someone who can help in English
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Everybody very nice and kind and helpful I will come back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice Hotel close to the airport

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Very friendly staff, they was very flexible with our schedule and helpful, the environment is nice, great breaksfast, I will use for shure in my future trips.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from t

Over all experience

Posted Aug 18, 2017
I was only there one day, was not close to airport as stated, nothing around the area such as other food places or stores. Need a taxi which can be expensive. There is a restaurant on property which leaves no other choice unless you take a taxi for other food. Food was great but can be expenses. The room was clean and nice but the lining in bed was old and smelled like meldew. I would rate as okay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Really a nice place to stay

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Always is room to improve but so far everything there has been great
Location: Location is the best if you have to travel next day or if you arrive late from the airport, nice clean and very quiet hotel.
Very close to the airport, we like to stay first and last night in this hotel they ALWAYS great and friendly and last day was the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from califorina

Great hotel and dinner

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: the staff was great and close to the airport
Cons: ac unit was older
The hotel was old but great, clean and close to the airport. the staff and dinner was really also as good. thanks for a great stay at your hotel. Paul
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anahim,CA

Older hotel near the airport

Posted Aug 6, 2017
We only stayed one night. The room was a nice size. The Steakhouse had good food. But not only did our toilet run, a family we were traveling with had their toilet running all night as well