Ratings based on 1,520 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thompson Ridge, NY

Weeklong stay in San Antonio

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Non-city atmosphere and location. Proximity to grocery store. Fitness room, laundry facilities helped for a long stay.
Cons: Availability of coffee when grill was closed.
Location: Walked everywhere: Market Square, King William, La Villita, Riverwalk. Wanted to rent bikes to go to Missions but ran out of time.
First, San Antonio is the friendliest city I have ever visited. It is more like a town. The hotel room was very comfortable, especially the bed. The staff, especially our maid, Jennifer, was great! Loved the balcony, patio and even tried to swim in the pool, which was barely 60 degrees in February. We were able to walk to Market Square, King William and the quiet part of the Riverwalk. Since we live in the country, I think the hotel's location was a good alternative to the more active section of the Riverwalk.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, MA

Avoid if possible

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: The only bright spot was Perita and Michael in the Bistro. They were very, very nice and provided excellent service. They should run the hotel.
Cons: Remove damp/mildew smell in rooms; retrain front desk employees; provide complimentary coffee and newspapers.
Location: There is plenty to do in San Antonio, and it is mostly walkable from the hotel, though it is not strictly downtown.
We were on a long road trip and happened to arrive in San Antonio early on the day of our check-in. When inquiring about the possibility of early check-in, we were taken aback with the attitude of the woman at the front desk. Waving her hands, shaking her head, and saying "4:00 is check-in time", we walked outside thinking that San Antonio isn't a very friendly place. It was not a warm welcome. When we then asked if we could buy coffees (nothing is complimentary, there's not even a newspaper!), we were told the cafe was closed. When we did finally get to our room, the bathroom and sink area smelled of damp. If we had read the reviews of this hotel before booking, we would have run the other way. It is singularly the most disappointing Marriott property we have ever stayed in. Definitely not up to the brand reputation. Also, a note to the management: I have read all of your responses to previous posts; you need not reply to this one unless you are willing to refund us our two nights' charge. It is apparent that none of the promised words have resulted in any actual changes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location!

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Less than 15 minutes from downtown couple blocks away from the market. Rooms were definitely clean and comfortable. This will be our go to hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: clean
Cons: nothing
very comfortable, clean good people at desk, nce pool conveinent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Great hotel staff, only thing was elevators were out of order and hot tub was closed early. However enjoyed my stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not what i expected

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: cleanliness
I honestly was looking forward to the weekend; the room was dirty and infested with ants. The elevator was not working so I had to carry my luggage up two floors. My tub was really dirty. When I informed the lady checking us out as we left she didn't care, she was too busy
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by Michelle, Hotel Management
We apologize that your stay was not what you expected and that you had several issues. We will make sure to pass on all the comments to the adequate departments in order to assure that the issues are fixed. We hope that the next time you are in town, you allow us show that we do uphold Marriott standards high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Okay

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Room had a musky smell. Bathroom floor appeared as if he hadn't been mopped correctly. The faucet in the tub leaked if you didn't turn really hard past off. Minor things to bring the room into excellent condition. Outside of that everything else was fine. I've stayed at this location a few times. I like we're it's located and overall is a good property.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: Install security camera and hire a security guard.
Enjoyed the stay except car in parking lot next to motel was broken into the second night there. The hotel has no security cameras on the outside and no effective security. I think security cameras would be somewhat of a deterrent. The motel was very convenient to the old San Antonio downtown areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati, ohio

Within walking distance to many attractions

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: We recommended the hotel to our friends and all stayed in rooms nearby
This is our second stay at courtyard at the Marriott in San Antonio. So near the river walk and market square. Staff was very helpful with everything. The cafe in the hotel was very good. We had breakfast there several mornings. We look forward to staying here again on the next trip to San Antonia.